We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house that leaves you 'hungry' for more...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This was our first experience with a B & B and we had pretty high expecations. The room was clean and comfortable, had air conditioning ana DVD player. The wi-fi is sporadic on the 3rd floor - pretty much useless. The only real disappointment was not getting breakfast - on weekdays a continental breakfast is availble at 8:00 AM, and on weekends a full breakfast is available at 9:00 AM. Since we had to depart by 7:30 AM, we were offered nothing to eat all. It seems to me that the owners should make some effort to accomodate their guests, being that the cost of the room includes breakfast. The lady of the house was up and about by 5:30 AM, drinking coffee and walking in her yard. Could a plate of muffins or some fruit been too hard to provide? If you are staying on a weekend and are in no rush to leave early, then the Iron Corble Inn might be worthwhile. On weekdays, I recommend passing for something better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robbfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

While our only connection to the previous owner of this property is the address (we bought the place in 2012, and opened for business in 2014), we'd like to re-assure you that breakfast is now at the very heart of the guest experience here. All rooms include a full breakfast, made with mostly organic ingredients, served on the half-hour between 7:30am and 9:30am (except Sunday, when the chef starts at 8am). Even guests leaving before the official breakfast times will find fresh fruit, cereal, toast, yoghurt, coffee, tea and juices waiting for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2009

Iron Corbel Inn
703 Allegheny Street
Hollisdaysburg, PA 16648 (nr. Altoona)

Website: http://www.ironcorbelinn.com/
eMail: info@ironcorbelinn.com

Dates of stay: 23 to 25 May 2009

This circa 1820 to 1880 house is now a charming B&B, situated perfectly for those wishing to explore the many railroading history sites near Altoona, including the Horseshoe Curve (a National Historic landmark). We spent two nights in the second floor/front corner, en suite “Oriental Room.” It is decorated in pale greens, and furnished with ample sitting options, numerous accent lights, and a comfortable bed. The owner/proprietor has installed a modern bath, including a roomy shower (with a bright overhead light—something many major hotel chains still fail to include!). Linens are fresh and towels absorbent. As a bonus (again—PAY ATTENTION major hotel chains—) there is FREE WiFi throughout the Inn. During our stay, as other guests departed, we were able to tour each of the other rooms and the third floor (very “cool”) “black and white” suite. Each accommodation is well displayed in the photos posted at the Inn’s website.

The owner has professional culinary experience, evident in breakfast menus. Morning meals (9 AM) are served in the main dining room or in a portion of the (huge) Great Room, lush with textiles and lit by a number of windows, including a center bay bordered with stained glass panels. Coffee and tea (and a small ‘fridge) are available, more or less around the clock, in a small first floor facility open to all guests. We were told that, by advance arrangement and at additional charge, dinners are offered, also.

Only two minor caveats: All accommodations are on the second (four rooms) or third (the suite) floor, with access via stairs only. Persons with serious mobility issues might wish to consider more accessible lodgings. Television addicts will find no “tubes” in the Inn. The only (minor) suggestion we would offer is for enhanced stairwell lighting.

In the mid-19th century, Hollidaysburg was a major hub for travelers using the Pennsylvania Canal and the Allegheny Portage Railroad. Today, it is a quiet place with a sense of history, set among the scenic slopes of the Allegheny Mountains. While dining options are limited in town, we found the US Hotel Restaurant and Tavern (building circa 1905; site history dating to 1835) for a memorable Saturday dinner. The food was good, service most attentive, and they offer a respectable wine list. Prices are more than reasonable—at least for those of us accustomed to Washington, DC pricing! [http://www.theushotel.com/]

Despite a link on the Inn’s website to what appears to be a central booking site, we found it best to contact the Inn directly by phone (voicemail), with a follow-up eMail. We hope to use that information soon for a return trip and would—without hesitation—recommend the Iron Corbel Inn to friends.

4  Thank jruthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank P7692TManne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wreist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank diti87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ParisTravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollidaysburg
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 15 in Altoona
463 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
430 reviews
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
Comfort Inn Huntingdon
#2 of 4 in Huntingdon
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona
4.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast

Address: 703 Allegheny St, Hollidaysburg, PA 16648-2003 (Formerly Iron Corbel Inn)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hollidaysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hollidaysburg
Price Range: £71 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Second Empire residence is full of nooks & crannies to explore. There are six bedrooms to choose from, each with a private full bathroom. There is a large dining room, a parlour and an even larger "great room", with 12-foot pier mirrors and a baby grand piano. The common areas, appointed with period furniture, are ideal for receptions and recitals. There is free high-speed WiFi, but there are no televisions anywhere on the property. There are also books, newspapers and periodicals. We offer the finest breakfast in the area, made with mostly organic ingredients. Breakfast includes organic eggs, turkey bacon, hot and cold cereals, yoghurt, fruit, juices, teas and very good quality, European strength coffee. This historic residence is home to an extensive collection of vintage folk instruments, most of which are available for guests to play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Allegheny Street Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing