We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a FIVE STAR Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
James Manning House
Ranked #1 of 4 Honesdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I'm still not sure how I got so lucky to 'find' this wonderful B&B hidden away in the PA countryside. The James Manning House is a class act - impeccably clean, wonderfully comfortable and managed by two very gracious and friendly inn keepers. The Wayne room was top of the line in comfort - the bed - well hard to describe - soft and cozy while still offering good support. The large room was nicely appointed and the bathroom a fabulous surprise. Expecting perhaps a claw foot tub with hand held shower - I found a fully modern bathroom with a large spotless shower- the bonus - shampoo, conditioner and bath gel dispenser on the shower wall! The grounds of the Manning house beg to be explored - lovely flower gardens, cute pathways leading to an old barn and fabulous old shade trees. As if all of that is not enough...the breakfast offered in the morning was indeed also a 5 star affair. Baked oatmeal, yogurt/fruit parfait, peach coffee cake and endless cups of very good coffee.

Inn Keepers, Janet and Warren were warm, friendly, gracious hosts sharing information about the inn and the surrounding area. Warren provided several suggestions for dinner places and I chose Hotel Wayne - definitely a good choice for a casual 'burger and beer' with attentive service and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The Wayne room was excellent - see comment section for details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife, sister and I stayed here on a memory lane trip to see Honesdale once more. We read all the reviews for lodging in the area, and thought the James Manning sounded great, all posititve. We were not disappointed and found this B&B to be one of the best ones we have ever stayed at, and we do 12+ each year.. Everything was first-rate, from the decor to the mattresses, to the wonderful breakfast, and antiques, everything was wonderful. The investment that the hosts have made in time, money, love and creativity shows on every floor. We had a great chat with Warren and Janet about life in Honesdale and their antique hunting experiences and their careers as teachers. .Don't miss this B&B is you are in the area and it is worth driving out of your way if you are passing thru. Take a few minutes to see the gardens, they are terrific.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great, ours had the most beautiful Amish quilt on the sleigh bed. all are air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My boyfriend and I try to find a B&B wherever we are traveling. Our stay at the James Manning House was the best experience we have ever had at a B&B. Everything was fabulous and perfect. The cleanest room. The comfiest bed. The most wonderful homemade "everything" for breakfast including homegrown ingredients from the garden. Janet and Warren were so friendly, hospitable and helpful. The morning after our stay at James Manning, I realized that I had left my pillow in our room (The Wayne Room ) and I called before 8:00AM. Janet answered and immediately confirmed that , indeed, they had my pillow! Since we were not that far away and the pillow I had left behind was an expensive down feather pillow, we decided to drive back to Bethany. When we arrived back at James Manning, we asked Janet and Warren if the local town bakery sold coffee since I had not yet had my coffee. They immediately offered us coffee and then proceeded to serve us an entire breakfast. We couldn't believe their kindness and when we offered to pay, they refused. Beside the fact that we were lucky enough to sample two homemade breakfasts, the place has every element that you would imagine for a "real" B&B. There was vintage and interesting decor in every room, modern facilities like air conditioning, a historic building and beautiful well-kept grounds and gardens. There was even a goldfish pond with a waterfall complete with fish and frogs! We may be traveling in the Honesdale area again next summer and we will definitely be making a reservation to return. If you get an opportunity to stay at The James Manning House, you are in for a real treat.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent one night here before visiting our kids at camp nearby. Janet and Warren are excellent, down to earth hosts and we immediately felt at home. There are lots of knick-knacks decorating the rooms and it is amazing how clean it all was. Breakfast was very good and it was fun to sit at the same dining room table with the other guests and chat over blueberry pancakes. We will be staying here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MythreesonsMedia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Needed lodging in the area for a family function and chose this B&B after much research on the web, including TA (essential with B&B's since they vary so widely). It is actually in Bethany, PA, 5 minutes north of Honesdale. It was a scorching July weekend and I was delighted to find a nearly 200 year old home that had charm AND central air conditioning, not window a/c units. It was pleasantly decorated in the Pennsylvania Dutch motif. Perhaps a bit cluttered for some tastes but I was impressed by the fact that the "clutter" had been kept dust free, clearly a lot of labor that had not been neglected. I had the Lancaster Room, facing the (45 mph) street but there was very little traffic after dark, so that was not an issue. Tall 4-poster bed and linens were quite comfy and the large private bath, though immediately adjacent, was not directly connected, requiring a brief step into the hallway. They had a strategically placed screen in the hallway, as well as plush terry-cotton robes in the closet to eliminate any potential embarassment/exposure.
Breakfast was very good and included many freshly baked treats (off imits to me) as well as the usual eggs & breakfast meats. They remembered my specifications as a type-2 diabetic and had several items that conformed to my restrictions, which was much appreciated.
The grounds were well landscaped & flowered also showing an abundance of care for details. There is a small front porch with table & chairs where I enjoyed a fine cigar, adult beverage, and hardcover book in peace and privacy.
The hosts were pleasant and welcoming without being overly intrusive. They were making an 8 hour drive to a family event of their own the morning after my overnight which had me wondering how I would fare at breakfast but their son, who lived nearby, handled the transition seemlessly and efficiently. If you need luch or dinner nearby, the restaurant in the Hotel Wayne in Honesdale (aka Bistro 1202) is your best bet.
In summary it was a very pleasant stay and I would return, should I be back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Lovely stay. Staff was lovely, and thoughtful, e.g. Toiletries in the bathoom if you'd forgotten anything. Our room was large and clean, with lots of homey touches. Breakfast was generously portioned and delicious. Other folks who had stayed there had been in other places on and around Honesdale and it much better than the other places they had stayed. Garden in the back is pretty for a stroll or lounging in the adirondack chairs. Better than staying in the local hotels.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Zedd97511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Been to lots of B and Bs and I have to say this is one of the better ones. Greeted and shown around the house. We were the only ones staying there for our one night stay. Lots of drinks and food around the house to nibble on throughout the day/evening. Books, board games and TV available for use. Nice garden in backyard. Breakfast was plentiful and savory. Went out to dinner at Wayne Hotel. Food was decent and within 5 mile drive. In residential area so not much to do around immediate area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sojourn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honesdale
2.9 mi away
Hotel Wayne
Hotel Wayne
#1 of 3 in Honesdale
133 reviews
2.9 mi away
Schrute Farms
13.1 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Settlers Inn
Settlers Inn
#1 of 4 in Hawley
384 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ledges Hotel
Ledges Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hawley
357 reviews
23.1 mi away
The French Manor Inn and Spa
The French Manor Inn and Spa
#1 of 2 in South Sterling
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Manning House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Manning House

Address: 421 Wayne St, Honesdale, PA 18431-5903
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Honesdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honesdale
Price Range: £93 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The James Manning House Bed & Breakfast, located in the Lake Region of the Pocono Mountains, welcomes visitors to Historic Wayne County, Bethany and Honesdale, PA. Guests will find our 197 year old federal-style house to offer all modern amenities along with charming, eclectic antique and country furnishings. We offer common rooms for reading or conversation, gardens for strolling, and of course comfortable sleeping quarters with private baths. Our hot, hearty breakfasts are prepared fresh from local farm produce and our own garden harvests when available.Our historical bed and breakfast offers you tranquility and comfort. When you arrive for your stay, you will find a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, the perfect alternative to traditional hotel lodging. At the James Manning House your hosts look forward to welcoming you with the warm, friendly hospitality unmistakable to their PA Dutch heritage. The property is also ideal for small, intimate group events or business meetings. Perfect for the business traveler to enjoy the homelike atmosphere and to start their business day with a warm home-cooked meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your James Manning House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing