We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOTS OF CONTENT”

Wayne County Historical Society Museum
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Honesdale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“LOTS OF CONTENT”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you like history, this is the place. Check out the Gravity Rail Road.
This is like going to College. Thank you Byron White for your contributions. This is a good place to donate your Antique Artifacts.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
honesdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great small museum”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Do stop and visit this gem that features the history of Wayne County. Permanent exhibits ficus on the Delaware & Hudson Canal and the beginning of the railroad industry. Cut glass from the world famous Dorflinger Studio as well as several other smaller businesses that used Dorflinger blanks are on exhibit.

Want help in searching your genealogy or other history of the area? Knowledgeable help is available in the Research room.

The museum will be open from Wed. through Sat. from 10 to 4 beginning the last Saturday in April.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“History you can almost smell”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I liked the 3D film about the history of beets in the region. I didn't realize you could do so many things with this modest root crop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
314 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent local museum!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I am disabled and during the visit I used a wheelchair, I found I was able to navigate the museum and was welcomed in through an accessible door from the street level. The cut-glass and the artwork really were highlights for me. But the local locomotive history and the other revolving exhibits have always been of interest, from firefighting, to Jennie Brownscombe's paintings, and so forth. I loved the gift shop and would think a gift from there to anyone who has grown-up, visited, or lives in the area would be a most thoughtful and cherished gift. I would advise local groups welcoming speakers or out of town dignitaries to avail themselves of this gift shop. Coupled with a visit to the Trackside cafe, the museum makes a great outing for those interested in the railroad.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RevRandyPOrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wayne County Historical Society Museum also viewed

Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
Honesdale, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Wayne County Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing