We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nature Inn at Bald Eagle
Ranked #1 of 1 Howard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place and Staff”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Per their FAQs and answers, there is some incorrect information given. They do not provide a "gourmet breakfast each morning" - it is strictly more like a Continental type of breakfast where you help yourself. The food is fairly good and is all you can eat. This is the ONLY meal provided by the Inn. You can purchase box lunches though. We've had to go into the small town of Howard nearby to the local pizza shop for some additional meals - the food here is good. If you don't bring food to heat in the microwave or cook on one of their outside grills on the patio overlooking the lake, you will either need to purchase a box lunch or go elsewhere.

We did bring quite a bit of things this time to grill and eat for dinner. The manager was extremely helpful and offered to provide us with anything we needed.

We had to switch rooms for our 2nd night's stay. Showers have a dispenser for shower gel and shampoo so I didn't bring any of my own bath wash this time. Ran out of shower gel 1/2 way through my shower. Let them know at check-out and all that was said was they'd let the girls know. Also, the temp on the refrig had been set to very cold (no control inside of refrig) - which ended up almost freezing 2 lbs. of strawberries - $5.00 in the wastebasket; didn't even get an apology regarding that one. These should be standard things the staff does/checks each time.

So we had a mixed experience this time.

The Inn is beautifully appointed and in a beautiful setting and the staff is friendly. Price is a bit high for advertising as a B&B when only a continental-style breakfast is served and they don't have a restaurant open for other meals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMechMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
120
172
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
574 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is a really great retreat or get-away. The Inn is not necessarily a B/B but a small 16 room 2-story hotel. Rooms vary in size and bedding. Prices vary due to porch/balcony view (wooded or lake) and the number of beds and sitting area. We chose the queen wooded view and this is the lowest price. Rooms are modern but have a nature/inn theme. Spacious bathrooms that include gel/shampoo dispenser. There is a fridge and microwave in the sink area along with the coffee maker. A/C was quiet and very good. Beds are not firm and plenty of pillows. Sony flat screen tv with satellite tv. Fresh breakfast in a great dining room with super views. A lot of outside seating/umbrellas and benches to relax and eat. Firepit ring also. Bring your own grill meat and you have use of 2 Weber Grills to make your meals. NO dinner is served. You can order a boxed lunch to go up to 10:00am during breakfast. Great staff who are very helpful and professional. The property is beautiful and well maintained.

Nice walking and hiking paths around the inn. In the state park, you can rent bikes to ride around Bald Eagle State Park and you can also rent all types of watercraft for lake activities from kayaks to pontoon boats. There are ranger programs on the weekend. Having only 16 rooms, it is very quiet, too

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey Shore, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our 10th anniversary. We only live 1/2 hour away, but the Inn was a great spot to feel further away. Great breakfast and lunch, clean, Eco friendly and great rooms. Lots of hiking and fishing made for a great time away!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erica2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had a family reunion there this past week. The whole park is wonderful. Nestle in a valley sw of State College, this park is very beautiful, well kept & does the "green thing" not only in the B & B, but throughout it's campground. The Inn is very well managed. The rooms are very spacious & very clean. Breakfast was awesome & plentiful. The staff is very courteous & helpful. The Inn is located on a hill overlooking the lake. Watching the moon rise down at the fire pit was an awesome sight. If you want to see nature & still have the luxury of a B & B this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

my husband and I traveled to the Nature Inn for 3 nights, 4 days. we were just looking for a short getaway. The rooms at the Inn were amazing, roomy, and just perfect. The natural wood decor and the birds were a complement to the surroundings. The rooms have a mircowave and small refrigerator. There is also a firepit for marshmallow roasting in the evening. We were pleased that one morning after breakfast we spotted a bald eagle across the lake. We enjoyed the breakfast, as it was hot and filling, and quite tasty. One afternoon we ordered the box lunch, and it was very good. The staff was extremely helpful when we were looking for suggestions for dinner restaurants. We were able to find a few very good choices that were not very far. We rented a boat on the lake for a little fishing too. I can't wait for a return trip to the Inn. It was exactly what I was looking for. it was clean, beautiful and the scenery was perfect. Charlie, the Innkeeper is great. This is a gem that shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maye19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

For the price and purpose, I give this small Inn 5 stars. It is more than advertised--always a nice surprise. Here ""single" means a queen-sized bed for two people. Natural wood of different kinds is used throughout and beautifully constructed. There is a microwave, small frig, and coffee in every room, along with a large-screen HDTV and DVD player. An ample buffet breakfast is included. Lunch can be ordered ahead of time from a menu of sandwiches and salads. We ordered two different salads, and they were delicious. Porches and terraces with wooden furniture overlook the lake. Outside are two gas barbecues for use of guests. A very good pair of binoculars are in the rooms for use of the guests. The meadows in the park were filled with wild-flowers (July) and riipening blackberries. We got caught in pouring rain during a hike on one of the trails. Returning to the hotel to change our clothes, we enjoyed our lunch outside on the covered balcony. There are several sitting areas inside with comfortable couches and chairs, and many nature books to enjoy if it rains. We saw some beautiful birds, and enjoyed listening to them as we sat on the terrace in this very peaceful place. Great for couples, families, and small groups.

Room Tip: A lake-facing room is only $10 more than the ones facing the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorettam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The inn has wooden floors and staircases and uses many "green" eco-friendly practices. The setting on the lake with the mountain view is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. I gave it a 4 instead of 5 because the breakfast was just average and not as spectacular as advertised. Would definitely stay here again for the location and setting.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with lake view - well worth the small extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dort1gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howard
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
20.8 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Milesburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Lock Haven
Best Western Lock Haven
#1 of 2 in Lock Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
18.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nature Inn at Bald Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nature Inn at Bald Eagle

Property: Nature Inn at Bald Eagle
Address: 201 Warbler Way, Bald Eagle State Park, Howard, PA 16841-2901
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Howard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Howard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nature Inn at Bald Eagle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the natural beauty of Bald Eagle State Park at the newest addition to the Pennsylvania State Park system. The Nature Inn at Bald Eagle is a 16-room inn providing full-service accommodations in a bucolic setting overlooking the park's 1,730 acre lake. This modern inn, unique to the Pennsylvania's park system, focuses on outdoor recreation and stewardship, makes maximum use of green building technologies, serves as a premier interpretive facility for bird watching and is a gateway property serving the Pennsylvania Wilds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nature Inn at Bald Eagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nature Inn At Bald Eagle Hotel Howard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing