We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
hartford
1 review
“very good”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

good place to stay-clean and quiet---would recommend it to a friend ------stayed august 6 and 7
what else should i say----hello--good bye-ha,hahahahahahahaha,,-------- hah-this is fun-more o,oooooooooo well this is a pain in the butt

Room Tip: good place would recomend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyday1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    81
    62
    20
    18
See reviews for
136
38
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and I stayed over night on 8/17-8/18/13. We have stayed at several Hoilday inns and this was very nice but I have several complaints

#1 the refrigerator in the room woke everyone up around 2 am making a loud noise. I had to get up and double lock the door thinking someone was trying to get in! Then I heard it was the refrigerator I shook it and it stopped for a while and started again.

#2 My wife and daughters took showers and then tried to do their hair. Which they kept complaining about all the humidity left in the bathroom due to no fan. If you do your hair in a bathroom with no fan your hair does not cooperate well.( ruined their whole day!)

#3 My wife called the front desk several times asking them to have the family in the next room stop pounding on the walls. My kids were still sleeping due to the long ride and night we had. The lady at the front desk she said she was sorry and there was nothing she could do she walked the halls and heard nothing! She could of asked to come in my room and listen.

#4 I explained all this to the lady this at check out and all she could say was she was sorry. I have NEVER complained about a place we have stayed before even when the rooms were not as nice as The Holiday Inn's. But this was a very stressful stay and with no sleep made our long drive home it made it the worst. Plus the fact I had to listen to my wife and kids complain about their frizzy hair due to no bathroom fan. ( What bathroom does not have a exhaust fan? )

Room Tip: Don't bother complaining they say they are sorry but nothing gets done. Book with a better custo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManyFirstsTogether97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Rainamark97,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the noise during your stay, the bathroom and customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hummelstown hotels

Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I booked hotel for two days Jul 04 and 05 in advance as wanted to take family trip on long weekend. due to circumstances I cancelled my reservation. Later I show there is one day charged on my credit card saying "No show" How did that happen.

Many times I received call from hotel confirming that your reservation is confirmed and no any Call!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HI_Express_Owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Public Acknowledgement:

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We would greatly appreciate further information in order that we can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I agree with the last post about this hotel. This is pricey for a holiday inn express. The room is basic. We had to wait in the middle of the day for towels. Not big deal but our room was already cleaned and they just didn't put new towels in the bathroom. They need more seating for the free breakfast they offer in the lobby. Pool is nice. Hot tub didn't work. The biggest issue for me was the mattress. For over $200 a night I expect a better mattress. The ones they have now are done and should be replaced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I bought tickets to the VH1 Mixtape Festival for Friday, July 26th and Saturday July 27th. It was me, my daughter, my cousin and her daughter. I picked this hotel because my cousin had stayed there before and recommended it. It is exactly 2 miles from Hershey Park, has plenty of parking spaces and is across the street from Sheetz. There is also a Panera and Applebees within a quarter mile. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was great. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 instead of a 5 is because of the price. The rate is about $225 a night and since I'd already paid a pretty penny for the concert tickets, it was just too expensive for my tastes. I only rented at this hotel because honestly, my cousin is used to staying at expensive hotels. I realize we were super close to Hershey, but I will most likely stay a little further away next time to save money. Again, great hotel and if the price isn't a problem, then you should definitely plan on staying here when you visit Hershey Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I don't even know where to start...this is one of the pricest Holiday inns that I have stayed at and it was the worst one that I have ever stayed at as well. The lobby and stairs were dirty and looked like it hadn't been vacummed in a LOONG time. The breakfast area was SO small and cramped that it made breakfast a complete and total madhouse! I would have had a more enjoyable breakfast at McDonalds. They kept running out of food. There was this omelet that had a very weird mixture inside. Our room was right outside of the elevator and was very noisy. The room itself was clean and the beds were ok (which is the ONLY reason I am giving it 2 stars)but the carpet was torn and frayed in many places. You could smell the pool throughout the whole building. They got my bill wrong and charged us for a cot that we never received. I was soo frustrated after one night and I couldn't wait to get out of there. Never again will I stay here and you shouldn't either. There is a wonderful Holiday Inn off of I81 just a bit further up the road. They were booked the night we wanted to stay so we stayed here instead. Not gonna make that mistake twice. My message to Holiday Inn...if you are trying to revamp your image and become a classier chain, start with this one!!

Room Tip: My tip is stay at a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear Palisca,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and services we offer. We hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stay here for a few nights every spring when attending an annual convention in Hershey. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed, and of course the breakfasts at Holiday Inn Expresses can't be beat. I especially appreciate the daily USA Today at each door and the 24-hour coffee service in the lobby. Caution: if you don't like trains (strangely I do), don't get a room at the rear of the hotel - it is 200 feet from a busy rail line. Regardless, this is a great hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Unless you like trains, don't get a room at the rear of the hotel - it is 200 feet from a busy r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awblenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 24 in Hershey
497 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 24 in Hershey
501 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Address: 610 Walton Avenue, Hummelstown, PA 17036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hershey. We have affordable, convenient and comfortable surroundings located right in the heart of the Sweetest Place on Earth, Hershey, PA. Not only do we have a great location, right in the middle of Central Pennsylvania, but we offer our guest's the extra attention and comfort that is the hallmark of Hersha Hospitality Mgmt. Discover all that Hershey has to offer such as Hershey Park, The Hershey Story, and Chocolate World all just one mile away from us. Other great attractions which are minutes from Hershey include: Indian Echo Caverns, State Capitol in Harrisburg, PA Dutch Country, Hollywood Casino, Historical Gettysburg Battlefields and great outlet shopping. For business travelers, the hotel is just a few minutes from many area companies including The Hershey Company, Verizon Communications, Norfolk Southern Railway, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Milton Hershey School and many others. Enjoy hours of relaxation in our heated indoor Jacuzzi or swim a few laps in our heated indoor pool. Then in the morning join us for our hot Smart Start Breakfast. You can choose from two hot menu items such as eggs, bacon and cheese omelets, delicious morning starters; decaf and regular coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, hot/cold cereals, muffins, bagels, pastries and waffles. For real value, convenience and outstanding accommodations, the Holiday Inn Express of Hershey is the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) Hotel Hummelstown
Holiday Inn Hummelstown
Hummelstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing