We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and nice accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I am surprised at the number of reviews for this place that mention disinterested hotel staff. We found just the opposite. Our family get together ( in Hershey) consisted of 7 people who stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, and 2 local area residents who came by every day to meet us. The people at the desk and the nice young lady who kept things spotless in the breakfast area couldn't have been nicer. The gal who kept things going in the breakfast area even extended the time for us ... as we are slow. Our rooms were quite nice, everything worked properly, beds were great. My wife forgot some prescriptions at our room...we called the hotel and they mailed them right back to us. Would stay again , if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drocton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

Small hotel in great proximity to Hershey Park. We stayed one night. Easy check in and polite service. Kids loved the unlimited bowl of Hershey kisses at the desk. Beds were comfy and clean. Bathroom clean and water pressure great. Room over all clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Something for everyone. The kids swam in the pool before we checked out. It was clean but the pool towels a bit small. Plenty of restaurants in the area.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed at this Holiday INN express which was minutes from Hershey Park. Also close to several restaurants and Fast food spots. Room were nice except for mold found in bathrooms. Would stay again as long as mold problem is handled. Free Breakfast was also great. Food and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieCavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Arrived with no reservation, after a long day at Hershey World. We were tired, location was close, a bit pricey, but included free breakfast, so we went for it.

Big mistake...room was so noisy, we would have packed up and moved, but it was already Late and only for one night. We were on the first floor, end of the hall, room 102. Hallway and exit door was slammed numerous times, making our door shutter. Refrigerator was circulating on/off every 10 minutes, which we didn't notice til we turned off the tv for bed...then it kept us awake all night. Would have unplugged it, but couldn't move it out. Very frustrating! Today we are really exhausted...

Advised the manager on check out, he said he would have service done. Don't know if it will happen or not...but this hotel did not meet the usual HI standards for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear hillslife,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel and for providing feedback. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We take all of the reviews that we receive very seriously and will be using this to help us with any improvements to ensure complete satisfaction for all of our guests.

Thank you again for leaving your review. We hope to have the honor of serving you again.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel served it's purpose. A place to stay and a very big room. The hotel is a bit run down but it was a good night's sleep. The Internet worked very well but the tv was not great-- not a deal breaker. Light in the bathroom flickered which was a problem but again not a deal breaker. Would stay again if I need to be in the area again but only because there is not another holiday inn near in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Erika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Erika R,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Unfortunately, this hotel isn't something to rave about. When we arrived around 8:30 p.m., we entered the lobby to find a piece of fruit laying on the floor in the lobby (looks like it fell out of a once-was fruit bowl on the library-like table). There was another orange in the bowl. (sometime/somewhere, someone picked up that orange and put it back in the bowl)..from the floor to the bowl -- YUCK! I checked in to somewhat unfriendly service (and the clerk was sloppy in appearance). Kids were screaming in the pool area adjacent to the lobby ...it was chaotic. We quickly unloaded to our room on the 1st floor (which oddly had freakishly high ceilings). Sadly, the beds were like sleeping in a taco shell. You kind of "rolled" to the middle. The room was very warm when we entered so we cranked up the a/c which did cool the room down. It was impossible to stand directly in front of the bathroom sink because the toilet was immediately at the sink (you literally had to sit on the commode to brush your teeth or lean over from the far corner of the sink.) We did decide to take advantage of the pool (our son was anxious to swim) and when we entered, the pool room was so hot, you immediately began sweating. The pool was very very tiny and the hot tub and pool both that dirty-looking floors. The hot tub was a square in the corner of the room and could seat about 5 people (and that's "friendly" people) b/c you'd be sitting very close. I must say, the morning breakfast was very good ...so, if you can overlook a crappy bed, a less than desirable swimming pool/whirpool visit, oh...and the rooms are not well insulated so we heard everything the neighbors said...well, just enjoy the free breakfast! :( We moved to the Comfort Inn the next day -- Great breakfast, great beds, HUGE pool and very professional, courteous staff. The H.I.E staff could learn a few things from them. :( Very disappointing. Normally Holiday Inn's are awesome...not sure what happened here. :(

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shellybeaninwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear Shellybeaninwv,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We used this hotel only for one night, in order to start our day in the Hershey Park early... It is a great location for this purpose. The night before we visited the Chocolate World, we used the pool in the hotel for some more fun, it opens at 8am so it was great also as with our toddlers we had nothing to do till 10am when the park opens... Breakfast included, correct, wifi included, pool, the room was clean, big enough, free parking... I think it was a great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
796 reviews
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)

Address: 610 Walton Ave, Hummelstown, PA 17036-1852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Price Range: £83 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hershey. We have affordable, convenient and comfortable surroundings located right in the heart of the Sweetest Place on Earth, Hershey, PA. Not only do we have a great location, right in the middle of Central Pennsylvania, but we offer our guest's the extra attention and comfort that is the hallmark of Hersha Hospitality Mgmt. Discover all that Hershey has to offer such as Hershey Park, The Hershey Story, and Chocolate World all just one mile away from us. Other great attractions which are minutes from Hershey include: Indian Echo Caverns, State Capitol in Harrisburg, PA Dutch Country, Hollywood Casino, Historical Gettysburg Battlefields and great outlet shopping. For business travelers, the hotel is just a few minutes from many area companies including The Hershey Company, Verizon Communications, Norfolk Southern Railway, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Milton Hershey School and many others. Enjoy hours of relaxation in our heated indoor Jacuzzi or swim a few laps in our heated indoor pool. Then in the morning join us for our hot Smart Start Breakfast. You can choose from two hot menu items such as eggs, bacon and cheese omelets, delicious morning starters; decaf and regular coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, hot/cold cereals, muffins, bagels, pastries and waffles. For real value, convenience and outstanding accommodations, the Holiday Inn Express of Hershey is the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) Hotel Hummelstown
Holiday Inn Hummelstown
Hummelstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing