We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overpriced/hot meeting room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Way overpriced/hot meeting room”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Paid double for half the quality at this location. Service was average and the room was average but you are definitely paying for location only at this hotel. Garbage left in hallway near lobby elevator all day. Rented meeting room for baby shower only to swelter in heat as the A/C was not working. Mgt offered a fan so I put the 7 month pregnant lady in front of it and the rest of us sweated thru it!!! Never staying at this place again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Packandgo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Packandgo12,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and air conditioning which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    92
    69
    21
    21
See reviews for
155
40
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dedham
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because of the close proximity to Hersheypark. Reasonably priced considering how close it is to all the Hershey attractions. Pool area was a little shabby and needed some attention. Breakfast was average. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was efficient if somewhat disinterested and distracted.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vulcan1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Dear Vulcan1600,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am glad that our location was convenient for your needs and you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. I am sorry however if the pool area's condition prevented you from fully enjoying your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously and your comments will help us improve what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Best Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location to Hershey Park for a weekend family trip. Needless to say by the title of the review, it wasn't worth the money spent.

Multiple issues:
1. Night staff rude and incompetent -- the front desk person was very rude to everyone. Instead of helping and answering the customers questions regarding internet password, she was sarcastic and down right rude to the individual on the phone. This happened while I was checking in.

2. The lock on our room broke and created multiple issues. It appears there is not pass down book because when we returned from the park, the same night desk person got all huffy and said she was not told that we would need a new key and if the lock was repaired, she wasn't told anything.

3. All bathrooms could use an exhaust fan. Mold was evident in the shower and the room.

On the plus - the hotel was clean and close to the park. Breakfast was OK, if you can find a table and chair. Also the maintenance man did a great job opening the door after the lock broke and secured the room.

For the money to stay near the park, choose something else. There are multiple hotel close by that charge less and appear in better condition.

Room Tip: Free wifi, limited service. Recommend getting a room off the first floor due to traffic to and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crockpot96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Crockpot96,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is regretful to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay due to the condition of the room that you were given and level of service received from our staff being sub par. These points you have raised are valuable for us to ensure that similar instances are avoided in the future.

Again, we thank you for the candid review and our apologies for your disappointment.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The front desk folks was very helpful and for the most part, the hotel was very clean. It definitely needs updating, my room was near the elevators but you really couldn't hear it. Did hear the train but it wasn't that loud, but the shower head was not attached to the wall, so wasn't thrilled with that. The place is near the Hershey Campground and you can definitely smell the campfire so if the smell bothers you, I won't recommend this place. But for the price, it wasn't bad, just get a room on the third floor.

Room Tip: Was in room 322, good room but the showerhead was coming out. I recommend staying on the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbonn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear gibbonn3,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding the front desk. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of products and services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel was ideal if you want to go to Hershey. Door to door 4 minutes. Perfect for leaving mid day to go back to hotel and return later. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, indoor pool was good for the kids. Bathroom could use updating. Overall for the money it was great. Hardly spent time in the hotel because of the park. Definitely a better value than a Hershey resort. The free breakfast in the morning was great to get something to eat before heading to the park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I reserved 10 rooms for a group that I was leading to the Hershey area. I chose this hotel because of their location and you can just about always trust the Holiday Inn Express brand. This hotel ended up being great in location but average in every other way. The facility appearance was average, the rooms were average (toilet seat broken, air condition did not work for at least 2 of our rooms), though the front desk was helpful.
My ongoing issue with the hotel is they have not rewarded my IHG points for the stay. In fact, they won't return calls or emails for the last month. If this is important to you I would definitely beware of this place.
My conclusion is that I would only recommend this hotel if you are most interested in location and they provide you the absolute best rate. Otherwise, find another place.

Room Tip: It may be helpful to ask for a hotel that doesn't back up right against the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterL23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area), responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear PeterL23,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate you bringing your concern to our attention. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a great trip there over July 4th with my wife and 2 children. The room was big enough, the bathroom clean and the breakfast buffet was a great start to every day. The location was outstanding, many restaurants, gas stations, and grocery stores nearby and only 1-2 miles from Hershey Park!

I really want to point out the great service provided by Dameon, the manager. Through some mistake we had a 2 night reservation instead of 3. Although I was informed the hotel was booked, Dameon provided us with the extra night. Even more amazing, he agreed to lower our quoted price to match our traveling baseball team despite the fact we booked late.

My only complaints are that the elevator was quite slow and our hair dryer didn't work. However, Dameon replaced the hair dryer right away!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#10 of 25 in Hershey
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Hershey Chocolate Avenue
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey Near The Park
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area)
Address: 610 Walton Ave, Hummelstown, PA 17036-1852
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hummelstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hershey. We have affordable, convenient and comfortable surroundings located right in the heart of the Sweetest Place on Earth, Hershey, PA. Not only do we have a great location, right in the middle of Central Pennsylvania, but we offer our guest's the extra attention and comfort that is the hallmark of Hersha Hospitality Mgmt. Discover all that Hershey has to offer such as Hershey Park, The Hershey Story, and Chocolate World all just one mile away from us. Other great attractions which are minutes from Hershey include: Indian Echo Caverns, State Capitol in Harrisburg, PA Dutch Country, Hollywood Casino, Historical Gettysburg Battlefields and great outlet shopping. For business travelers, the hotel is just a few minutes from many area companies including The Hershey Company, Verizon Communications, Norfolk Southern Railway, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, Milton Hershey School and many others. Enjoy hours of relaxation in our heated indoor Jacuzzi or swim a few laps in our heated indoor pool. Then in the morning join us for our hot Smart Start Breakfast. You can choose from two hot menu items such as eggs, bacon and cheese omelets, delicious morning starters; decaf and regular coffee, tea, juices, fresh fruit, hot/cold cereals, muffins, bagels, pastries and waffles. For real value, convenience and outstanding accommodations, the Holiday Inn Express of Hershey is the right choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hershey (Harrisburg Area) Hotel Hummelstown
Holiday Inn Hummelstown
Hummelstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing