We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hersheypark Camping Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hummelstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hersheypark Camping Resort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We just returned home from a 5 day stay at this campground. We've stayed before out front in carousel circle, and this time "up the hill" and it was much more roomy up there. Shuttle service was great. Reading some of these reviews I'm surprised by peoples complaints about the train, it is CLEARLY stated in all the brochures I read, and the girl even pointed it out when I called to make a reservation. This should come as no surprise to anyone who takes a minute to read the campground info. My only complaint is the pool hours. I understand summer is "winding down". BUT, we stayed the last week of august. Before Labor Day, and the pool closed at 6 daily. We normally returned from the park about 5:30 or so and walking by the pool, it was quite crowded. So this can't be for lack of attendance at those hours. Yes, I read the hours beforehand, and yes I understand the staff is probably beginning to head back to college and so on. But it Would have been soo much nicer if we could have enjoyed the day at the park and followed it by a nice relaxing evening swim. This was our only let-down of the trip. Boo for closing the pool so early.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    114
    43
    34
    27
See reviews for
219
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ogdensburg, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Don't camp here unless you want to be woken up by multiple LOUD freight trains throughout the night. Especially if you are camping in a tent. You will not get any sleep. The track is literally right next to the campground and runs ALL NIGHT LONG.

Also, if you plan on camping in the pavilion sites, be careful because these bozos don't include a fire ring. Nor will they give you one if you ask for it. What wrong with this? Well, you try making a camp fire on the ground with no protection on an extremely small site next to your tent. Have fun if the wind blows, and say goodbye to your tent. It only takes one little ember to make it go up in flames.

Its a shame that they actually charge people money to stay at some of the ridiculously terrible sites they have to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse,NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our first time at the campsite and we loved many of the amenities: cabin with A/C and bathroom, swimming pools, location, fabulous shuttle service to Hershey Park. We usually stay in hotels. The cabin was very near the train, but because we had the A/C humming, it was not a problem. We stayed 3 nights in August and one of the pools was closed the whole time. It was hot and sunny and when asked, the lifeguard said there were not enough guards to open the pool! We used the shuttle service a lot and it was great. The drivers were wonderful, and it came frequently. It is far preferable than driving to Hershey Park. Tickets to the park are discounted when staying at the campsite and include free entry (6:30 - closing) the night before. Also, you get to enter the park one hour before the general public in the morning. SPOILER ALERT, only about half (maybe less) of the park was open for that hour: no boardwalk (water park and roller coasters in that area), no kissing tower and rides nearby, no monorail etc. It was very disappointing how few rides were available. Three roller coasters (comet, sky rush and sooper dooper Looper) were open plus many kiddie rides. We stayed at this campsite to get the benefits of staying at a Hershey property: shuttle, discount tickets, early entry. We would stay at this campsite again, in a cabin.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank SammySyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had a lovely experience! We stayed 3 nights with our travel trailer. The camp site was spotless, quiet, and nice and shady. We used the shuttle to get back and forth to Hershey which we found so convenient. The driver even took our stroller and put it on the bus for us. I would recommend staying here to anyone with a trailer or RV!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssolomos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here in July- 32 of us. Sites are tight- we knew that, train goes through quite often and is loud-we knew that too. I have read previous reviews and I wonder why people are so surprised by the loud train going through the campground. DO YOUR HOMEWORK!! I am an avid traveler and camp quite often and this campground was awesome. We stayed along the cornfield- 6 campers in a row. We also had a friend in our group who stayed in 2 different cabins and another family that stayed in a larger cabin. Everyone was extremely satisfied with their visit. We had a snafu on Day 1, but we all spoke with Pam in the office and she was soooo accommodating. I told her I would mention her in the review. I hope she remembers this because she deserves kudos. It had to do with our season pass. The pool was great and a very good size for the amount of people in the campground. The camp store was a very good size and had everything we needed (no alcohol in the store, FYI). We ALL went in and out of Hershey Park 2 to 3 times a day. I cannot say enough about the convenience of the bus. MUCH easier than parking at the park. The longest we waited for a bus was 12 minutes but that was because the park was really busy. I want to throw it out there that if it weren't for the convenience of the bus, it would create difficulty with our stay. How can people complain about the bus-it's FREE, drivers are very friendly, the buses are clean and comfortable, always air conditioned, and did I mention that it was FREE?? The bus ride is about 10 minutes long too. This campground made our stay very, very memorable!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuvStormyHudson_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 days in hershey campground. Had a wonderful family time!! I don't have anything negative to say about this place, from the staff to the pools and playgrounds and game rooms and bathrooms this was a very clean place with very helpful friendly staff! Loved it and will def come back!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDYPEACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Export, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have been staying there for 15+ years we absolutely love it. You do get discounted price on tickets and the early pass is awesome yeah not all the rides are open but you do get on the roller coasters that have long lines so you don't have to wait later and don't forget the transportation they offer is great and the activities for the kids quiet time is 10pm and never had any problem with noise

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tippybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hummelstown
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Hershey Chocolate Avenue
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
Hilton Garden Inn Hershey
#2 of 4 in Hummelstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Hershey
Super 8 Hershey
#3 of 24 in Hershey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hershey
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at the Park
Comfort Inn at the Park
#9 of 24 in Hershey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hershey RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersheypark Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersheypark Camping Resort

Property: Hersheypark Camping Resort
Address: Sweet Street (formerly 1200 Matlack Road), Hummelstown, PA 17036 (Formerly Hershey Highmeadow Campground)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Hummelstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hummelstown
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official resort of Hersheypark. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hershey Highmeadow Campground Hotel Hummelstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing