We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun in Middletown”

Challenge Family Fun Center
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Hummelstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by a landscape architect, our 22-hole MINIATURE GOLF COURSE offers challenging holes, water features, and lots of beautiful flowers. We know you'll enjoy your game. Inside, we offer BATTING CAGES with various speeds and slow-pitch softball. Try DUCK-PIN BOWLING, a miniaturized version that plays just like regular bowling. Kids and adults both love it! Have a great time in our Fun ARCADE with lots of redemption games and old-fashioned Skeeball. Trade in your tickets for great prizes at our large redemption center. Hungry? Enjoy our homemade pizza...just a slice or the whole pie. Also, burgers & Dogs, and in the summer sandwiches and salads. Hershey's premium ICE CREAM is at the top of everyone's list!
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Family fun in Middletown”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

From the commercialism of Hershey the Challenge Family Fun Center is a step back in time. The miniature golf is a family favorite of ours and there are never long lines. A little for everyone to do.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna V, Owner at Challenge Family Fun Center, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Well, you couldn't give us a better compliment than to tell us our golf course is a family favorite! Thank you! We do what we can to keep long lines from forming during busy times such as starting people on holes other than #1 if there are empty holes further along in the course. We also appreciate your comment about not feeling so commercial. We are family owned and operated and our employees have always been like family. I think they and their positive attitudes about their jobs and customers certainly contribute to that. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Great Place for a fun date and friends”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed the miniture golf adn the ice cream afterward. The staff was very friendly and hospitable. The arcade had a lot of choices with indoor batting cages to boot!

Visited August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna V, Owner at Challenge Family Fun Center, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We're glad you, your date, and your friends had a good time! And, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We do have a pretty awesome staff and we all hope to see you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotswood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice diversion after the caves”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is located by Indian Echo Cave. It is a small arcade and mini golf course. It was too hot to golf and there was thunder when we pulled up so we decided to stay inside. The duck pin bowling was a lot of fun and my kids enjoyed the ticket redemption games. It is small but was not overly crowded. We enjoyed it.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna V, Owner at Challenge Family Fun Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We're always glad to hear when people have had a good time with us. The bowling is a lot of fun for all ages. It was too bad the weather chose not to cooperate that day as we're sure you would have enjoyed the golf course. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us and hope your whole vacation in the Hershey area was all you hoped it would be!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mini Golf Time!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a well maintained mini-golf course. A bonus is it has 22 holes. The staff there was good but I did not like the fact that when we went to pay for a round of golf we were sent inside to pay. That turned me off to this place. It's not a long walk but unpleasant on a stone driveway/parking lot. They should stagger people starting times and we had people behind us that for most of the time were in our way. Not uncommon though.

Visited July 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna V, Owner at Challenge Family Fun Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We're happy you liked our golf course. We think the landscape maintenance guys do a great job. We're sorry about your other issues, though. You must have paid with a credit card and we aren't able to run them through up at the course. And unfortunately, whether you stagger or not, just because there are not always the same number of people in each party, some are slower than others, etc. there can be pile ups now and then. If that should happen again, you might consider letting the people behind you play through. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and hope you will come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“an escape.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is wonderful. It's family owned so it's not pouring money into some corporate entity like a Chuckie's and they felt seperated from that agenda. The golf course was amazing and peaceful/fragrant in full bloom. The staff and the owner (who I had the pleasure of meeting) were all wonderful and helpful. The staff seemed very committed to the business which speaks volumes of the ownership. The arcade had alot of fun to it and the mini bowling made you feeel like a giant. Thanks for the wondrous time.

Visited June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna V, Owner at Challenge Family Fun Center, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to let us know you had such a positive experience on your visit to Challenge. We take a lot of pride in the golf course. Our daughter does a fantastic job planting the flowers every year and our landscaper maintains it beautifully. We're fortunate to have most of the staff return every year and we truly do consider them family! We love our locals and hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Challenge Family Fun Center also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing