We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great salad bar”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #17 of 44 Restaurants in Hummelstown
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees. All cooked to order! Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great salad bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We always try to make a stop at Hoss's when back in PA. The salad bar is the best thing about the whole place. Lots of great soups and great variety on the salad options. Oh, and the dessert bar.... YUM. Worth the stop.

Helpful?
Thank kenimler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Hoss's. Our Soup & Salad Bar is the centerpiece of our operations and we strive to provide the freshest options possible. Your positive feedback is appreciated and we hope to serve you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine American restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Visited Hoss's on a recommendation. You order your food as you enter, then are seated and drinks are delivered followed by your meal. The meals were very tasty, and the service excellent. JAred the waiter interacted with kids and us the ensure our meal was enjoyable.
Salad bar was impressive with a range of soups, salads and desserts. Best yet, they recommended we take some of the dessert with us for later as we weren't able to finish all of our meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Your positive review for our Hummelstown location is greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable dining experience and our crew treated you the with hoss'pitality for which we are known. We hope you will choose Hoss's again if you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I haven't been to a Hoss's in probably 10 years and now I remember why. The hostess was pleasant and seated us promptly. I ordered the sirloin tips and my spouse ordered beef with mashed potatos. Portions were small and both meals were overcooked, we both ordered the meat rare, both came out medium well. I begrudgingly ate mine, my spouse sent hers back. The kitchen got my spouces beef cooked correctly on the second attempt. My meat was over seasoned. The Potato soup was so salty I couldn't eat it. Mac and cheese was bland. Macaroni salad bland, pasta salad bland, garlic bread under seasoned. That was the theme of this meal: completely overseasoned or completely flavorless.It took forever for our dishes to be cleared. Salad and desserts were good. The fresh remodeling is nice but unfortunately, I can't eat the decor. There are too many good restaurants in the area for me to waste my hard earned dough at this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueCollarGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hummelstown location. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We will share your comments with the managers of that location so these issues may be addressed. Again we apologize and hope you will give Hoss's another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, OH
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good eating and well priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

You place your order before being seated. Not a huge selection but there is variety. Large salad bar with 4-5 soups. Food was hot and served quickly. Well priced for portions received.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wongs1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Hoss's. Your positive comments with be shared with the management team and we hope to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great (and reasonable) place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I frequently go to Hoss's with the kids I work with because it is a great price for great food! There is really something for everyone. This Hoss's is our favorite because the food is always fresh and the service is always great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missy H, Social Media Director at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review our Hummelstown location. We are pleased that you have always had enjoyable dining experiences with us. We hope your future visits are just as enjoyable and we continue to to be your favorite restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing