We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can overlook the 1970's interior, you'll enjoy your meal”

Hoss's Steak & Sea House
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Hummelstown
Price range: US$6 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Description: Hoss’s Steak and Sea House is a family restaurant featuring fresh-cut steaks, seafood, and tender chicken entrees. All cooked to order! Enjoy our fresh and wholesome Soup & Salad Bar with homemade soups, just-baked breads, fresh fruits, delicious desserts, and soft-serve ice cream. We feature a fun menu for kids and offer family-style banquets in our comfortable banquet rooms.
long Island
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you can overlook the 1970's interior, you'll enjoy your meal”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you can overlook the decor (which is old and dark), you'll enjoy your meal here. The food is good with lots to choose from from the included salad and soup bar. Prices are very good, especially since the soup, salad and dessert bars are included. I paid $10 for a tilapia and rice dish plus the soup, salad and dessert. Can't beat that. Not sure why a previous poster wrote they are high priced. Staff was tentative. I would definitely go back when I'm in the area again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvcamping1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent Meal but High Price”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This place is good for lunch or dinner but the price can be a little high depending on what you order. The food quality is ok, kind of what you expect at a salad bar. The staff could be more attentive to the salad bar as most people mix salad items by not being very careful when selecting items. The place could be a little better on the cleaning side. Drink prices are very high, average for this area but the waitstaff is not very attentive to refills. OK family dining.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoofGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Poor management”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

I go to this restaurant weekly with my family of 7. We are a family that if we are paying for food, we want our food the way we ordered it. Well, apparently because we send our food back if it's not cooked right, the management decided to talk about my family behind our back and when we sent our French fries back because they weren't even fully cooked, and my meatloaf back because it had hair cooked into it, the manager made it clear that they would prefer my family not return. Apparently Hoss's doesn't care about customer satisfaction as long as they make money. I am almost certain that Mr. Campbell, the founder and CEO of Hoss's, didn't come to own so many restaurants by not caring about his customers satisfaction.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Social Media Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hummelstown location. We strive to deliver 100% guest satisfaction and apologize that you are not happy with our quality. Our friendly staff does the best they can to make sure that every guest leaves happy and wants to return. We apologize for not meeting your goal of satisfaction.
Thank you again for reviewing our Hummlestown location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
167 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Soup and salad”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice lunch soup and salad bar for a fixed lunch price. .............................................................................

Helpful?
Thank bgdiver1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a good casual family place. You order your dinner when you walk in and there is a salad and desert bar. The ribeye steak is good but its the same price as if you were eating at Outback Steak House. Since it was just my husband and I, we probably wouldn't revisit because we prefer a nicer atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C, Social Media Manager at Hoss's Steak & Sea House, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hummelstown location. Though some prices may be close to competitors, we still deliver a better value. Unlike other restaurants of similar menus, we offer all our Famous Salad Bar, Dessert, Fruit, Dairy, Home made Soups, and Fresh Baked Bread all absolutely FREE for the price you would pay at another steakhouse. This value is unmatched by any competitor.
We're glad to hear you like the Ribeye. We have many different cuts of steak and would sincerely like you to return and try any of our wonderful Premium steaks, Chicken, or Seafood entrees.
Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoss's Steak & Sea House also viewed

 

Been to Hoss's Steak & Sea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing