We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner feel and good food.”

The Soda Jerk Diner & Dairy Bar
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Hummelstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Diner feel and good food.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Soda Jerk has great food. I eat there at least one a week for lunch. The food will not disappoint. The paninis are great and so are the salads. I've not had a bad dish here. Its our local go to restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    163
    54
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good diner food and lots of it!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The pricing is a bit misleading - maybe it is $5-10 for lunch, but Dinner is in the 10-20 range... Good Greek and Italian specialities - Gyro is worth it.

Each entree also comes with ice cream for dessert - Ice Cream is good - not spectacular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Made a return visit”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We made it a point to eat here again. We all thought our meals were great and portions were generous. Liked the fact that our meals came with a cup of ice cream.

The waitress let us try an item that we had questions about -- turned out we did not like it so we were glad we asked.

The diner is becoming one of our favorite dining spots in the Hershey area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sybernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for families or a home style meal”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great restaurant for families and excellent food. We went with our 3 children 10 & Under and they asked to go back the second night. The kids ordered roast beef & mashed potatoes both nights and cleared their plates! The manager was kind enough to make the meals half orders since this wasn't a kids menu item. The crab cakes were delicious, with large lumps of crab over a bed of fresh veg. Ice cream was great too, another favorite of the kids. Staff was really friendly. Decor is of 50's diner, clean, large selection menu. You can also order breakfast at all hours. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Team3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
199 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great service and good food. Go at least once in a while. Their desserts are delicious as well and definitely worth a stop just for their sundaes!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g33kandchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Soda Jerk Diner & Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Soda Jerk Diner & Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing