We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandwich and beer heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BOXERS

BOXERS
Ranked #1 of 35 Restaurants in Huntingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sandwich and beer heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are in the area, it's worth stopping here. The sandwiches are tasty and the portions generous. Recommend their Rubens (Regular or Turkey) or the Salami & Pepperoni. The fries are the rel deal, not bagged. And the beer selection is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Sandwich Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Their soup of the day is always good, and can tell home made. Great sandwich selection. Food always looks fresh, and service has always been great I'm a local and this is imo the best in Huntingdon. They have vegetarian selections and great beers on tap.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
614 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stopped here for lunch when in town for business. I loved the small town bar atmosphere. The place is small with items under the glass on every table to entertain you. There are bottles of all type of beer on display around the parameter of the room. There is a daily soup of the day and a menu that is almost overwhelming with the selection of sandwiches. The cheeseburger, meatball sub, and chicken club were the selection for our group all were very good as well as the chili and the fresh cut fries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were looking for a place to have lunch while visiting the town of Huntingdon. As we walked into Boxers around 1pm. it was dark as most bars are. We took our seats, read the menu & placed our orders. The waitress was friendly, explaining the history of the bar & had shown us pictures of the place be for it was Boxers. They don't serve liquor of any sort, just beer. They have the best rootbeer around. For an appetizer we selected onion rings. They were homemade & fantastic. Our sandwiches were equally good. The prices for food & drink were average. We had a great time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
679 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“It's a bar ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This place is good. But not what we excepted by a #1 ranking. They serve burgers and sandwiches. No entrees or platters. It's, loud, tight, and dirty. Look around, dust clinging to all the decorations it's open into the kitchen area and you can see that is is worn, outdated and not clean. After we left we went to Mimi's, down the street for dessert. We liked that place better.

Helpful?
2 Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BOXERS also viewed

 

Been to BOXERS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing