We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff with good, reliable food.”
Review of White Elephant

White Elephant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly staff with good, reliable food.”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

White Elephant Restaurant is our standby for Thai food in our area. We've been patronizing the restaurant since its opening a number of years ago. The co-owner, John, is friendly and knowledgeable, while servers are efficient and helpful. The menu is varied with both classics such as Pad Thai and the classic Thai soup, Thom Yum. Seasoning is to order, so you can have your dishes prepared without any pepper at all, or at the other extreme, quite intensely spicy. The presentation is always a pleasure, as the plates themselves are attractively shaped and the food garnished colorfully. Other favorites include appetizers of crab cakes, stuffed cornish hen with a sweet fruit glaze and salmon stuffed with crab meat. Daily specials are also available. The desserts are beautifully presented with decorations artfully adorning the plate made with raspberry, mango and cocoanut cream. Since the restaurant is BYOB, the prices are a good value. When the dining room is full and people are partying, it is hard to hear conversations at your own table, but usually the noise level is more moderate. Over the years, White Elephant has been consistent in the quality of its food, careful preparation and fair pricing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dh0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Have been there many times
Family from fla. Visits and from the airport we all go here.wonderful food highly recommend.never had a bad meal and tried mostly evetything on the menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phila., Pa.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best neighborhood restaurant.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have been eating here for many years. Shrimp appetizers great. Best mushroom soup I have ever eaten. Everything is excellent. Even the coffee is great. Getting hungry just thinking about the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaychipin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best thai in the area...in my opinion”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I've been to this restaurant three times. I love the byob, and pricing of food. I have to admit that I only get few things but what I get are great (definitely recommend the drunken noodles). The portions are a healthy size. the desserts here are also very good

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mox19380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Divide, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

love going here with our best friends for dinner and often go here for lunch with my girlfriends. There lunch specials are amazingly priced and delicious! Staff is friendly.
The restaurant is rarely empty…lots of people love this place for obvious reasons, great food, nice ambiance and super good staff and customer service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Elephant also viewed

 
Southampton, Bucks County
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to White Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing