We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not living up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

In April I visited a number of similarly priced lodges in Namibia so when I got the opportunity to visit Kagga Kamma I jumped at the chance.

The lodge is about 250km from Cape Town and I travelled via the N1 and turned off via Touws River, definitely a better option than driving through Ceres with the snow crazed demons blocking the roads. The turn off to Kagga Kamma is well marked and the 15km private road is in good condition and the route can be driven in a standard car.

Reception was fairly painless and we decided to have lunch before going to our "cave". They have various types of accommodation and we stayed in a man made cave (see pics).

The lunch, dinner and the breakfast were excellent and compare well with any of the other lodges I have stayed at, and the food presentation at dinner was probably the second best I have experienced at lodges.

Our room (cave) had all the basics including aircon, interesting extras were the selection of teas and coffees for early morning refreshment before going to the restaurant. Usually one is provided with tea and instant coffee, in this case there was a small coffee plunger with sachets of ground coffee as well as some unusual teas.

Inconveniences in the room were the lack of a cupboard to hang clothing and although soap and shampoo are provided there is no soap holder in the shower.

We were given a list of activities and when we wanted to book the late night game drive we were told it was too cold but after a bit of pressure the drive was arranged. Nicolas our guide was very enthusiastic and was able to provide information on the animals, habitat, etc.

I was told that there are new staff at the lodge, however the house keeping and reception are way behind what you expect from a lodge charging these prices. The restaurant staff were excellent and the guide Nicolas was excellent.

The lapa area is great, as is the walk to the top of the rock outcrop behind the lodge. On the hike and at the swimming pool there are Bushmen paintings which are approximately 600 - 800 years old. There are lots of activities including game drives, hikes, quad bike rides, star gazing and a beauty salon.

After doing a three hour hike (there are three hiking trails) I arrived at reception at 13h39 to settle my account. The people manning reception quoted me an amount that was incorrect (too low), definitely some items had not been added to the bill, I questioned this and was told to "come back later when the receptionist is back from lunch", I lost my sense of humour and after a few minutes the receptionist arrived and finally got the account sorted out.

Would I go back? On Saturday I would have said never..... but after a pleasant day today most probably!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OffroadAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We appreciate and take to heart all your comments, and will use this opportunity to consider how we can ensure that our valued guests have the best possible experience.

We at Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve strive to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Reserve soon.

Warm regards,
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

If your looking for silence and spectacular nature then this is the place. We saw very few animals but the silence was good for the soul. It is a place to relax.
We stayed in the caves, although it has all the necessities it can feel a bit claustrophobic. next time I will definitely opt for the huts rather.
The food was good .
Saturday we decided to run one of the hiking trails and something that was supposed to be a 7 km run turned into a 17 km. The signs for the hiking trails was not that clear and we got lost. I have to say that the management assured me that they are busy correcting them. before setting off on foot- which is a wonderful way to explore the reserve, just make sure at reception of the route. On our 3 hour trek we saw very few animals so it is quite save.
We had a midnight visitor in our cave that was harmless but really liked the cremora and hot chocolate. It gave a real bush experience. Taking a quad bike drive with the guide should really be considered.

Room Tip: Choose the huts if you are a bit claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KittyLamprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We strive to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Reserve soon.

Warm regards,
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our long weekend stay at Kagga-Kamma was the best way to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary . From the beautiful surrounds, the breathtaking uninterrupted views, the delicious food, the absolute silence to the terrific staff ...it was all just simply amazing. Having no reception was something to get used to....but completely appreciated once we settled back and realised we had no interruptions, deadlines or places to be - other than in the beautiful moment with eachother and nature. The hikes, game drives, quad biking, star-gazing and just hanging around the "caves" is a must for anyone spoilt enough to visit. Thank you Kagga-Kamma - you made our time memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Sonia,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay at our Reserve.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to our Reserve in future.

Warm Regards,
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The silence of this amazing mountain retreat is almost defeaning. The sunsets were out of this world, the stars were an incredibly live rendition of the song 'in the stars his handiwork I see".
We thoroughly enjoyed the hikes - one all along the the top of the world and the other in amongst the rocks in the valley.

Room Tip: Be prepared to cut off from the outside world during your stay as you loose cell contact soon after...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Reserve.

Warm Regards
Kagga Kamma Game Reserve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

When we booked for Kagga Kamma and saw the photo's on the internet we were expecting that it was photo shopped. It is not. In reality it is even more beautiful. It is quiet. There are no cell reception and no tv. But it is luxurious. Fully equipped challets with something unexpected. Fireplaces. Heaters. Beauty salon. Restaurant. Bushman sketches cruises. Sunset cruises. Fully trained well informed staff. You can believe the internet. It is what it say it is and more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 171janetteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Janette,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved your breakaway.

We at Kagga Kamma strive to ensure that our guests have the best possible stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Reserve.

Warm Regards,

Kagga Kamma Management & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A great place to see in this wonderful country of ours. An oasis between somewhere and nowhere. Please do your homework as where the Kagga Kamma is situated. No tar roads, no telephones, no TV, no cellphones...what a wonderful experience. Staff are friendly and helpful. The food was of a very good quality and eating outside by the fire was special, cosy and romantic.
Stay more than one night, so much of nature to see.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iona1232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you loved your breakaway and we have to agree that our little retreat is the perfect escape from the city!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our establishment soon.

Warm Regards
Kagga Kamma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

You really need to make an effort to get to Kagga Kamma, but it's worth it.
The route from Cape Town is mostly one good roads, but the last few kms will take it out of your car as well as your spine! Don't make the mistake of taking your Lamborghini (yes really!) as did a hapless millionnaire from Cape Town!

The lady at reception was very welcoming and friendly, as were almost all of the staff we met. We had taken a breakfast-only package, which excluded extras such game drives, Bushmen tours and quad biking.

We had one of the "cave" rooms, artificially made to blend in with the surrounding rocks, and often using real rocks as part of the structure. The rooms are not huge, but are more than spacious enough for a couple, as we were. Everything was clean and well appointed, apart from a few small hitches, such as an aircon unit that didn't heat (it was cold at night), and an over-enthusiatic shower that wet more than the cubicle. The bed was comfortable and sleep came quickly, but was as quickly dispelled by a sudden scratching and scrabbling inside the room. Throwing light on the subject revealed nothing, until we realised in the morning that our coutesy chocolates has disappeared. We mentioned this to the staff, who informed us that this was common, and that the beaties (something like a large mouse with a sharp snout) were partial to sweet things! The next night I was ready, and armed with my camera on flash I caught the thief in the act.

The breakfasts were good, with a nice selection of both hot and cold dishes, fruit, yogurts, cheeses and some very good croissants, considering that everything has to be brought in from Ceres, the nearest town, almost 100 km away.

The a la carte restaurant was poor to good. The first night I has an overcooked curry, while my wife was served some bland boiled veggies instead of roasted. The second night was better, my sirloin steak tasty and my wife's salmon fresh and well presented. We were somewhat surprised, as they made us of their outside venue complete with roaring bonfire, that they served the identical menu as the previous night, rather than have a "braai" with a potjiekos or something along those lines.

Lastly, the beauty, serenity and SILENCE of the Swartruggens region in which the reserve lies is worth accepting any mild discomfort or annoyance that one might experience. We took one of the marked hiking routed which meandered in and out, over and under the miriad rock formations and vegetation that characterises this part of the world.

We will be back!

Room Tip: If you're taking a cave, no. 7 is the best!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millnerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Marketing Agency at Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate and take to heart all your comments, and will use this opportunity to consider how we can ensure that our valued guests have the best possible experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to our establishment soon.

Warm regards
Kagga Kamma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve

Address: Off R303 | Southern Cederberg Mountains, Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve 6836, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £178 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kagga Kamma is an absolute treat for travellers seeking a unique and inspiring experience. On your visit you will see a part of Africa that is unlike any other. The Cederberg Mountain’s otherworldly rock formations, a crisp sky stretching endlessly overhead and beautiful rock art from an ancient culture, is the backdrop to a wonderful adventure. Kagga Kamma’s accommodation options are as unique as the landscape it is set in. The Bushman Lodge offers spacious en-suite thatched rondavels/huts. The famous 'cave suites' built against the sandstone rock formations will take you back to a prehistoric time without taking away any modern-day luxuries. Kagga Kamma also offers a one of a kind Outcrop open-air “room” where guests can sleep under the stars in sheer luxury - definitely a not-to-be-missed experience.Speaking of the stars...Take a tour into the milky way when you visit our mini-observatory. It promises to be an inspirational experience when you view the Karoo night skies through our 10-inch telescope. While the sun is out you can opt for a journey back in time with our popular rock art tours. Our expert ranger will interpret the 6000 year old Bushmen paintings and living sites scattered all across the nature reserve.Other activities to be enjoyed at Kagga Kamma include relaxing nature drives with our knowledgeable guides, hiking trails, quad bike safaris, mountain bike trails, a 4x4 route and our Kagga Kamma Relax Spa. Even eating out at Kagga Kamma will be a matchless experience when you visit the restaurant for breakfast and lunch, and an outdoor lapa surrounded by beautiful rock formations for dinner under the starlit night skies in summer time. There is also a pub and lounge area with Wi-Fi internet, as well as satellite television for watching sports events. GPS co-ordinates:Latitude: S 32 44 45Longitude: E 19 33 46 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve Hotel Kagga Kamma Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing