We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude, racist people”

Xinguang Yayuan International Youth Hostel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jinghong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Xinguang Yayuan International Youth Hostel
Ranked #69 of 305 Hotels in Jinghong
Jinghong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude, racist people”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have a very bad experience with the Many Trees Hostel in Jinghong. We made a booking there a few days ago. When we arrived, they said they didn't receive the booking. And they said it the fault of the YHA China website. If you put your hostel on a site for booking, people expect you to look at that site, but that was below these people. They said all the rooms were taken now, but five minutes later a Chinese couple came in, and they gave them a room. Apparently, there is a double standard. When we asked the reception to help us find something else, they wanted to send us to a hostel with only dorms, which only had space for one night, and they were very rude. When we asked for hotels in the neighbourhood they said there were none and were very rude again.
This is a very unfriendly, bad hostel. And they call themselves many trees, but there are no trees, it's a shared courtyard in an ugly building.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andries M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The rooms are pretty basic. Bathroom was dirty. Bed sheets were old. But the location is good.

Taxi drivers don't know of this hostel, so make sure you have the address and phone number written down to show/call.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGlobalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I have been in china for two months and every hostel had great people working there. Willing to help and wanting to help you figure out how to get to where you want to go. NOT HERE! Maybe because I'm not chinese but whenever I asked help on food spots, buses, or traveling on bikes outside the city they acted they don't want to help or even care.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azcancer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jinghong hotels

Shanghai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were stunned after traveling around Yunnan with so many great hostel recs from lonely planet that this was one that they gave great reviews. The hostel is run down, moldy, and not a pleasant place to stay. I would recommend heading to the Mekong Cafe for some good hotel recs right near their cafe. There is one called the JinLang that is not bad but around 100rmb but a great bed and shower which is a nice option after trekking around the jungle for a few days.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWrede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing,china
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

more expensive than other hotels in jinghong,me and my friend had stay there 3 days, but these 3 days we took no shower,because everyday the hostel only have cold water(even though there weather is good,but why u promised 24hours hot water? ).before we'v been there,we have checked the information of this hostel on net,they said their hostel is a dai nationality style building,but after we'v been there we found that the building is a common building.every room has bath room because it was a hotel before,they almost didnt change the room.every step's wc doors dont have lock.the service was ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanyan1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

This is really a hostel. For 80 Rmb, you get a basic room with TV and bathroom. We also had a kettle. There was no table, but there were a couple of chairs. The bathroom was the open shower type, so the whole floor gets wet after use. But water was hot, and soap and towels are provided. There is a shower curtain.

Reception are friendly, and some of the staff speak good English. As with many hostels in China, you can have a meal with the staff for around 10 RMB if you book in advance. The place also sells beers and soft drinks. There is a pool table, free wifi and a couple of computers for guests to use.

For budget accommodation, it is probably the best place in Jinghong. The place also has dorms, so it can be cheaper if you want. It's up near the Jade market and the main bus station, and around 20 minutes walk to MeiMei and that streets of cafes.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jinghong hotels
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Xishuangbanna Resort
61.6 mi away
Doubletree Resort by Hilton Xishuangbanna
1.2 mi away
Xishuangbanna Caffy and Ken Backpackers' Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hello Family Inn
Hello Family Inn
#7 of 148 in Jinghong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#49 of 305 in Jinghong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wuyue Scenic Area Hotel Xishuang Bana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xinguang Yayuan International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xinguang Yayuan International Youth Hostel

Property: Xinguang Yayuan International Youth Hostel
Address: No.5 Manyun Lane, Galan Road, Jinghong, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Jinghong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 305 Hotels in Jinghong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing