We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mix culture of China and Myanmar”
Review of Xishuangbanna

Cianjur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The mix culture of China and Myanmar”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Xishuangbanna is another part of China which shows interesting culture between Myanmar and China, The place is cozy, many restoran serve of chinesse food and local culture.The city is not big enough but make all the visitor feels comfort. We cand found the night life here, very interesting..awesome!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dian ridwan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    24
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dai Tai Thai”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Dai people in Xishuangbanna are same root of Thai or Tai in the north of Thailand. I'm from Chiang Mai, always happy to visit Xishuangbanna to visit our relative Dai/Tai people

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank khamli s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dai's Minority New Year, 13th April”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Dai's Minority In Ginghong Every New Year from13th April to 15th April.
They have:

1) Food and Funfair:
Enjoy local delicacies and Endless Games and Fun

2) Dragon-boat Competition: Watch Dragon-boat Competition among inter Minorities Groups

3) Water Splashing Festival:
Join the Local and Tourists in the most fun event of the whole celebration.

4) Kongming Lantern Flying:
Look at Thousand of Stars in the sky and you can also fly off one of you own star.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenBaey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Another mood of China”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Another feeling to be touched from other part of China.
New town area is beautiful. So crowded especially in water festival period. The parade are awesome!

Can say that it kind a tourist city. Tribal and cultural experience are the main issue for travelling here.

And it's too hot in summer btw! Lol

Helpful?
Thank TiddyWallapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An amazing and very different part of China”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

A long awaited break from busy Shanghai life, we had a great time in Xishuangbanna region. In March / April, the weather is perfect and dry, if slightly on the warm side; around 30-35 degrees C.

Our aim was to get out into nature and minority villages on the Burmese border. A couple of days in Jinghong, the region's capital, was enough for us. Yummy street food and a long night market along the river. Great as a base from which to explore the region and definitely holding a south-east feel, it is still a busy, developing Chinese city. We did a bike day but the first 5-10kms was just getting out of the city on dusty, trafficked roads.

We hiked in the west, around Xiding - Zhanglang - Manwa - Bada - Manwai for 3 days without guide but with a bit of Chinese, a hand drawn map and a sense of adventure. We were mostly walking on dirt roads through tea and sugarcane plantations, a bit of jungle, over mountains and down valleys. Some very beautiful scenery and little villages. The people are mostly Bulang and Hani, speaking local dialects, Thai and Mandarin. To get more "off piste" you would need a guide as there are thousands of little paths going everywhere but we found the road fine and hardly any traffic save for the odd motorbike or sugarcane loaded truck.

From what we heard and saw, the rainforest is disappearing, being replaced with cash crops so you can't really expect a straight jungle experience with wild animals. But it was a very fascinating experience that I would highly recommend to anyone interested in this unique part of China's south-east Asia.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank walle1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Xishuangbanna also viewed

 

Been to Xishuangbanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing