We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the sounds of nature”
Review of Las Mananitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Mananitas
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights early August and we love the place. The cabins are very cozy and private with your own balcony reaching into the forest, a lovely swimming pool, excellent food and hosts that make the best out of your stay.

The road from San Juan del Sur up to Las Mananitas was muddy though transitable with a 4 wheel drive. The last stretch, turning of the Chocolate, and the roads to the beaches are very good. The beaches are in walking distance if you like a warming up before diving into the Pacific. You have a choice of at least three beaches in the proximity.

The infrastructure of the hotel is excellent and you can see and feel that a lot of attention has been paid to the details. The cabin is very complete including mosquiteros, a very well equipped kitchen if you would like to do your own cooking, hammocks, deck chairs, books in french and english, etc. No distraction from the world wide web or mobile phones. Really a place to relax, forget the 'que haceres' of the big city and enjoy the beautiful setting, nature, and sounds of nature.

The food is excellent, dinner and breakfast is made according to your persponal wishes. Food is freshly made with enthousiasm.

We are going back for another couple of day to enjoy the sounds of nature!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnLindhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2010

We stayed for four nights over Christmas and were so happy that we chose Las Mananitas. The casita was fabulous with all the comforts of home and filled with wonderful details and decorations. We had planned on only having a couple meals cooked by Elisabeth but after our first amazing dinner of Mahi Mahi served on our private jungle balcony we decided to eat all our dinners there. The food is gourmet and should not be missed! There are only two casitas and each is very private with a lovely refreshing pool between them. Our casita had a great balcony complete with comfy chairs and hammocks where we could enjoy the sunsets which sometimes last for hours. You really feel like you're in your own private paradise.It's only a 30 minute walk to gorgeous beaches which were uncrowded in spite of it being the high season. Elisabeth and Alain are wonderful hosts who make you feel at home and part of the family. If you visit San Juan Del Sur, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnValleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

If you're craving off the beaten path, quietness of nature, wildlife, eco-minded hosts and good proximity to beautiful beaches then Las Mananitas is the small-scale B&B style hotel for you. Alain and Elizabeth are wonderful hosts, excellent cooks and run an off-the-grid open air paradise that has all one needs to relax and enjoy the Nicaraguan environment. One can hear the howler monkeys, tropical birds and crowing roosters at all times amidst beautiful flora graced by lots of butterflies with a pool that's just big enough to provide cooling relief during the dry (and warm) season. San Juan Del Sur has several pristine beaches, great surfing waves and plenty of local culture nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

If you are looking for a natural setting that is off the beaten path this is the place for you! Great place to relax and become one with nature! Alain and Elisabeth were wonderful hosts and excellent cooks.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gidget151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

The incredible view, the peacefulness of the place, and the outstanding hospitality of Alain and Elisabeth make this hidden gem "a must" for anyone traveling in the area. The homemade food was some of the best we had.
We're so glad that we stopped there for a few nights and we look forward to visiting Alain and Elisabeth again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faboh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Las Mananitas is a lovely little eco-lodge a few miles away from San Juan Del Sur, near the beautiful beaches up the coast.

The very first reason to stay here is because of the lovely warm hospitality of Alain and Elizabeth, the two French Canadian proprietors of the lodge. They have put their love of the country into building from the ground up this remote two-bungalow lodge. You will truly feel at home with them and their 3 dogs. They are both terrific cooks, and breakfast (if you chose to have them prepare it) is served up on the deck of their house. Each of the two stand-alone bungalows has a complete kitchen as well, so you can do all of your own meal preparation if you choose, but you will be missing out on Alain's excellent crepes and french toast. They also provide excellent recommendations on where to eat in town, and what beaches to go to. For instance, ff you go to Playa Maderas (the closest beach), they will recommend the best Nica food shack right on the beach, a place where the food is excellent and service is friendly, though we would likely not have tried it without the excellent recommendation.

Las Mananitas is about 6-7 KM or so down a very difficult road from San Juan Del Sur, about a 20 minute drive away. You can NOT do this trip without a good 4 wheel drive vehicle, as the road is not paved, is extremely rocky, and takes some getting accustomed to. It is totally fine and easy once you get the hang of it, but you will feel lost the first time you drive there. The reality is that most all roads in Nicaragua are like this, but if you have traveled only on the Pan American Highway to San Juan Del Sur, this may be the first time you will have experienced an unpaved road.

The benefit of this is the peace and quiet you will get on a hilltop in the forest of Las Mananitas. There is a small pool, perfect for cooling off. Each of the large bungalows has hammocks and rocking chairs. There is no TV or radio, no phone, and you have to go down the road to get cell phone reception, so you can truly escape from it all. Grocery stores and restaurants are nearby in San Juan Del Sur and in Las Rivas.

In keeping with the environment, electricity is generated in the daytime and runs off of batteries at night, so it is extremely peaceful up in the mountain. Water is pumped directly from the well to the tap. Don't be surprised if you are woken up in the morning by the howler monkeys, who live in trees on the property. Las Maderas Beach is just a 5 minute ride away, where you will find a perfect deserted beach with a few surfers enjoying the warm pacific water.

If you are seeking a few days of solitude and getting in touch with nature in a lovely hilltop setting with wonderful hosts, this is a terrific place to be. We look forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonnyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We´re so happy that we came to stay at the cabinas. The cabina is so pretty, it´s got everything. All the details make sense and we love to go in the pool each morning and evening after the nice walk to the beach. The privacy is great and you will have dinner out and watch te great views. Alain took us to the Mombach volcano, and we had a really nice day. We also love his bread. And not to forget about the lobsters, what a luxury...

We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaNona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.1 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
754 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
10.7 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
1.5 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
4.2 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Mananitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Mananitas

Address: Camino a Majagual, San Juan del Sur J4H 3X9, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £38 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop a country hill, near the village of San Juan del Sur, Las Mananitas must surely be the tiniest resort in all of Nicaragua! Two cozy cottages, a nicely designed and relaxing pool, and the owners’ house. Set alongside a dead-end country road that opens up on two magnificent beaches, Las Mananitas offers unequalled tranquility. Nestled among trees, each cabin is equipped with a deck that provides a magnificent view of the Pacific Ocean and the valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing