We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Colonial
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Comfortable place not far from beach and restaurants. On a group tour and stayed just one night but it was nice experience and my room was upstairs and quiet in a garden. Staff helpful.
Breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

After a terrible experience at Hotel Liri, we moved to Hotel Colonial. We stayed upstairs, where the rooms are smaller; however, we feel that it's generally a good move to avoid bugs when you're in Central America.

Pros:
- Central Location
- Wifi
- Comfortable Beds
- A/C actually works
- Great service (they actually fold your clothes for you, which is a little weird, but at least you don't have to pack?)
- Decent breakfast

Cons
- None, really. It was a pleasant stay for us.

Random Tip: Spray some mosquito repellent on before sitting in the dining area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndinh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

El Colonial is our favourite hotel in San Juan del Sur. It's reasonably priced, has totally trustworthy and friendly staff, comfy rooms and a nice garden. They now do free cooked breakfasts too. It's close to the beach and has good secure parking. Can be a little noisy if full so we generally try and stay in the week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holmsie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel is centrally located, and this is the only good bit of the hotel. The room was too small, and the bathroom was just ok. The internal garden was nothing that you can really enjoy. Breakfast was basic: egg and gallo pinto (=rice+bean).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Zano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the surrounding area.
Room adequate - only negative was curtains too thin so too much light let in at dawn.
Breakfast adequate.
Lovely courtyard area with rocking chairs to relax in. Very close to beach & numerous restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights while we explored the surrounding area. The hotel was nearly empty the first night, but we preferred to have the place to ourselves. The courtyard was my favorite. It's a great place to sit outside and winddown for the evening. The included breakfast was adequate but nothing special, however it was comparable to the other hotels we stayed in during our trip to Nicaragua.

There was cable TV, AC, and a fan.

Staff was friendly, attentive and some spoke english when we needed it. It's only a block or two from the water, but SJDS is pretty small, so most of the hotels would be close to the water.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobokenvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

good accomodations-good service-2 blocks from the beach-good breakfast-has parking for my car and accepted my small jack russell terrier dog-nina-in fact the staff fell in love with her and she loved them also-has large garden and patio-highly reccomend it

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazytranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.6 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
753 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £39 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Colonial 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial is an Oasis in the heart of San Juan, one block from the seashore with its lively restaurants and bars, and close to ideal beaches for surfing.Hotel Colonial combines the nostalgia of past centuries with the new millenium, a traditional latino interior garden converts the hotel into an oasis of tranquility in a lively fishing village.Nostalgia combines with modern commodities - air ccnditionning, television, wireless internet, private baths, complete breakfasts, secure parking.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing