We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, not worth the money”
Review of Hotel Victoriano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Victoriano
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine, not worth the money”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Several of us stayed here at what is a very high price fir the area brooms nice, hotel itself very nice with a good location. Staff had limited English at most and we're hit and miss.
Breakfast was good. Might be a good place to stay if you can get a good rate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank elgriff2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    52
    19
    6
    12
See reviews for
40
69
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Recently stayed here with some friends and greatly enjoyed the experience. The staff were very friendly and the hotel is in a great location. Close to many restaurants and it also has a great restaurant at the hotel. The pool is small but very nice and well kept. Overall I would recommend this hotel to people visiting San Juan. The only downside was sleeping was interrupted at times as we were near the kitchen and were often kept up late or woken up early by the sounds of a kitchen.

Room Tip: A room away from the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This boutique hotel with it's colonial feel is on the main strip in San Juan del Sur, and close to everything. The rooms are perfect with great bedding, good AC, Internet, and quiet. It's only a 5 minute walk to shopping and restaurants, and the beach is right across the street.

Room Tip: Any rooms are great here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew4CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We only ate at the Vintage Restaurant, which is probably the closest thing to fine dining in San Juan del Sur (though dress Bermuda length shorts are still acceptable dining wear). This is a beautiful boutique hotel, formally an old house that has been renovated into a seaside hotel. Location is great being right across from the beach, has lots of old world charm, with a lovely interior courtyard as well as great al fresco dining. We actually ate inside the restaurant, where the men in our group indulged in steaks flambéed in 18 year old Flor de Cana, the local rum. Our waiter was very attentive and eager to please.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

It's a great little Hotel right on the beach.Its a perfect location to just chill out for a night or 2. It's Caribbean style & well designed,clean rooms,good beds & linen, fully secure with wifi so u can catch up on e mails.
This is the 2 nd time here.I recomend it to relax & enjoy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Surferchefcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a charming victorian hotel (formerly a private vacation home for one of the Samoza widows) right across the street from the beach in San Juan del Sur. While the rooms are small and the bathrooms tiny, there are abundant places to sit outside and to watch the slow-paced life in this Pacific Beach location. For us, breakfast was a special highlight as it was always delicious and well-served on a breezy balcony overlooking the bay. The hotel is within walking distance of the many open air restaurants ringing the bay. It is well kept, very clean, quiet, and comfortable. Compared to other places we stayed in Nicaragua, it was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank READYTOGO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is a grand old mansion that has been converted into a lovely hotel. Mark Twain stayed here! It is located at the quiet end of town. Rooms are nice and large and very comfortable indeed. Nice comfortable beds. We had room 101 on the ground floor which has it's own seperate entrance. Inside it felt like a little country cottage with french doors opening out to a small balcony overlooking the ocean. We loved it!

Breakfast is served on the upper balconies and is first class. the waiters were great too. Carlos at the reception is really helpful and friendly, but the girl who works on reception with him is a really cold fish. Not very friendly at all. All business!! Never did get a smile out of her!

Overall we were really satisfied with the hotel. Our only criticism is that all the doors to the rooms need a really good clean. They are all quite dirty and need a good wipe down.

Room Tip: 101 has it's own private entrance and lovely views of the bay. We saw the room above, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.5 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoriano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoriano

Property: Hotel Victoriano
Address: Paseo de la Mar, Costado Norte Edificio Claro, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Victoriano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Victoriano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing