We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the most brilliant place to stay in San Juan del Sur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Chateau Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stayed there from Friday 20th April to Monday 23rd April and I can only say that this hotel is the best place to stay in San Juan del Sur. The hotel is situated at the end of the main street leading to the beach in a secure compound free from the noise of the town yet in easy reach by foot of all the town's amenities and the beach. The hotel has a very pleasant restaurant area where you can enjoy a beer and a cool breeze into the night. The owners and the staff are warm and friendly and our room was cleaned daily to an immaculate standard. We felt totally safe staying there and enjoyed the ambience. I would rather stay there for $57 a night including breakfast for the two of us than any of the more expensive venues that I visited during my stay, including those on the beach. I thoroughly recommend this hotel in terms of a brilliant place to stay and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed for three nights. Our room looked good on arrival but we noticed it had an ant problem which meant we had to constantly spray the walls and bathroom with bug spray.

Cable TV was good and we enjoyed the breakfasts. It's also close to town.

Every night, dogs on the adjoining street barked at each other all night. This is not the hotels fault but it's worth considering when picking your SJDS place. We'd recommend El Jardin which is a couple of miles out of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfergus1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Recently while traveling with a group to Nicaragua we stayed in the Royal Chateau and I will never go back. While taking a shower I accidentally broke the shower door, feeling terrible about this I left them money to pay for my mistake. A few days later our group leader recieved a bill for the broken door. The hotel claimed they never recieved the money I gave them and I now have to pay for this simple mistake twice. If it is one thing I cannot tolerate it is dishonesty and the Royal Chateau is staffed with dishonest people. Do not stay here!!! Even if it the last place in San Juan Del Sur with vacancy.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank class6rafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelroyalchateau_12, Propietario at Royal Chateau Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

This review is totally wrong and here is why.


The young man, class6rafter, appeared to have a wild party in the room where he left two broken sliding glass shower doors, and a room full of empty wine and liquor bottles. He clams to have given a maid $40 which none of our staff admits to receiving.


class6rafter was a member of a school excursion group (University Studies Abroad Consortiun (USAC) ) which had taken all rooms in the hotel for one night. We had no issues with any other members of this large group of American students studying spanish, who stay twice a year with us and this is the first time we have had a problem.


SInce the group checked out of the hotel at 6am we did not notice the broken door until later that day when a second group from USAC arrived to fill the rooms. USAC saw the damage and paid $80 that day of the $160 cost to replace the glass.


At no time did the class6rafter advise his tour leader or our hotel staff of the damaged door.


I can provide a number of emails that confirm this information and the fact that USAC has already reserved the same rooms for next year.


It would be a disservice to your readers to leave a review from this customer on our site.


Thank you

Juan Jose Sevilla
Proprietor
Hotel Royal Chateau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The room was great. We spent the night before in a $10 a night place so our room at Royal Chateau Hotel was a welcome sight! The rooms were super clean and we had a king sized bed on the top floor. The front desk woman spoke some english so the transaction was made pretty easily. However, a small warning. We were in need of transportation the next day to get to another place we were staying a small distance out of SJDS. The front desk woman was trying to hook us up with someone she knew who would take us for $20-25 (US). We got a ride on the beach shuttle for $3 each. She was definitely trying to take advantage of us for herself or her friend.
Other than that, the hotel has beautiful scenery and is a great location from the noise and bustle of downtown. Breakfast was simple but filling.
We didn't use AC but the fans provided were enough to make sleeping great. Its a bit spendy for Nicaragua but everything is a bit more expensive in SJDS.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Ive been to SJDS several times and though a bit pricey, this place delivers on most counts. There are more expensive and cheaper places but this seem like a good mid ground but maybe a bit high. The location is great ...back from the non stop roaming surfers, taxis, and street scene but right there if you want it. If you're staying for a few days maybe you can strike a small discount?

The front desk was helpful and the rooms were clean.. nice bathroom and good size queen+ bed... nothing much in furnishing but all was very OK.

Try for an upper level room instead of ground floor, and and end unit will give you some added view and ventilation. The AC worked but really isnt needed with a the nice floor fan. The grounds are lovely and the bright clean facades are cheery.

Front desk worked well, and while not exactly warm and friendly, efficient and more or less helpfull, when not watching the blaring TV novelas. A small waiting reception area is a good stop to drop and inquire as well, at their corner location. They'll show you rooms of course, and the cleaning staff was always busy looking.

(The breakfast was quite ordinary here- bland eggs, toast etc....I suggest a great hole in the wall near by- Comedor de Angelita! set back from the street-ask around...the real deal and its got it all! outdoor dining under a patio roof, atmosphere, and nice people)

Room Tip: Get a second or maybe third level (if you like stairs) for a much better view and light. End units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed 2nts on a Kamka tour Dec 2011. Happy with the location 100m from the main street and beach.Rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and the breakfast included which consisted of scrambled eggs on toast with unlimited coffee was just what i need to get the day started. Thumbs up on this property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbit094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

For me the problem with lodging in San Juan Del Sur is that there is nothing really good in the middle ($40-50) range. You can get a room in a hostel for $6, or a room at Pelican Eyes for some ungodly sum, but there is not much value in the middle. I've stayed here twice, both for fairly long periods, the rooms are simple and clean and have AC (no hot water, but then who needs it in the heat!). The owners are bilingual but not always there, but the staff is attentive, friendly and run a tight ship. They have a back up generator for the all too common power outages, and a security guard at night. Wifi is good. Breakfast is good, but fairly basic. The courtyard is beautiful. Basically it's just simple and comfortable in all the important ways, and worth the price.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor (noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
329 reviews
0 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
178 reviews
0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chateau Hotel

Address: El Calvario Street From the Market 1 Block East Central Zone | San Juan Del Sur - Rivas. Nicaragua, San Juan del Sur Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £42 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Chateau Hotel is located in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, a tourist beach town on the pacific ocean in southern Nicaragua, a few miles from the Costa Rican border and two hours from Managua, the Nicaraguan capital. A colonial style hotel with 20 spacious rooms with splendid views and modern comforts including air conditioner, cable TV, wireless internet, secure parking, private bathrooms, full sized beds and continental, Criollo & American breakfast, all included in one affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing