We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Chateau Hotel
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old fashioned hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I spent 11 days in this hotel and have very positive feedback. It is well located,close to the beach,but far enough to be quite. My room was big enough,hot water,wifi all worked well.They have a good generator for the fequent power outages enjoyed in Nicaragua.Breakfast is ample. The staff is friendly,once they get to know you.Best part of this hotel are the owners,they are the friendliest, most helpful hotel owners anywhere. They speak excellent english,being US citizens as well as Nicaraguans.I am planning to go back and enjoy this fine hotel,a fine value in a generally overpriced beachtown.
I can recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    44
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
35
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This place worked out perfectly for us. Booked the day of and the price was right for a one night stay. Our room was simple but the outdoor area is decorated nicely. The free breakfast is adequate. They allowed us a late check out so we could enjoy the day at the beach and then shower before catching the ferry to ometepe. They also have a generator which is great because the power did go out while we were there.
If you have a car this is a great place to stay since they have a free parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmejkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
834 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I am here for the second time and I think this hotel is a great catch for the price.

Positive aspects:
The hotel was close to the beach, stores and restaurants.This time we had a room on the top floor, which gave a great view. Although we didn't have a clear ocean view from the balcony, we saw a bit of it and the sunset. It was rather rainy, but it could have been a greater sunset! In the morning the bright sun filled the room. There was a little table and a set of chairs in a corner of the balcony on the topmost floor. It was a great place to work or have a night cap while enjoying the breeze. You could buy bottled water, cool drinks or beer at the front desk. Breakfast was included in the price and you had a choice of Nicaraguan or Western breakfast.The breakfast area looked very pretty and the hotel in general had a very pleasant atmosphere. The staff members were very friendly and helpful.

The room was spacious, clean and they had tried to give beds a nice appearance by folding the towel to make it look like a swan. The beds were firm & comfortable. The room had free WI-FI, and the room had hot water, and cable TV (though not the greatest reception). I also liked the fact that the room had so many plug points to plug in any electronic device you had. The room had air condition and also two fans. There were no mosquitoes, which was great!

Some very minor annoyances:
During day time it was a bit noisy from traffic and from the usual loudness in some Nicaraguan social transactions, but it was not unbearable. You had to let the water run for a while to get it hot. It was not marked as hot & cold, but it was the left hand tap.

I will most certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the two rooms at the very top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mol, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Since 2007 we come here every year, in different seasons, and this is definitely our favourite hotel in San Juan. The location is authentic, tranquil and very safe indeed. The staff is very nice, trustful and helpful, and the owners are fantastic people. Rooms are spacious and clean and with a terrace, in a green, tropical setting. Very good price/quality, incuding excellent breakfast and safe parking. This is simply the best hotel in San Juan at midprice range, but also a hotel with a heart. What more could one want? Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harving L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

this is the 10th time for me in san juan del sur and have stayed at the royal chateau every time - the rooms are spacious and more important are very clean -the staff are polite and ready to help with anything should the need arise- the owners speak both spanish and english so communication is not a problem - the hotel is away from the crowds so is quite and relaxing for a good night sleep but only a 5 min walk to any of the restuarants or the beach -there is nothing i can say bad about this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwight M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Rivas, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

we spent several weeks at the RC and recommend it really! Good value for money, much more relaxing than all the hostales but not really expensive. Advantages: close to every interesting place in SJdS and the beach this place is still quietly situated more to the green parts. ++++ the staff, very nice and helpfull people, flexible with breakfast and room service. All very clean and safe. If you have a car: save privat parking. Owners speak very good english.

A good choice to winter for northerners! In that case ask for long term conditions.

Room Tip: 2. floor has good view and terrasse, 1. floor is more qiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
834 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 892 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Compared to the other more expensive hotels in San Juan del Sur this hotel is a very good alternative. The room costs $57 for two people, and it is clean, and spacious. Rooms on the second floor have a great view of the bay and San Juan del Sur.

The night life and the restaurants are only a short walk away, and it takes only 5 minutes to the beach. The breakfast is included in the price and it is tasty too. Another great feature is being able to park the car in the hotel inner courtyard, which is very safe.

All in all, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#22 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Chateau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chateau Hotel

Property: Royal Chateau Hotel
Address: "El Calvario" Street From the Market 1 Block East Central Zone | San Juan Del Sur - Rivas. Nicaragua, San Juan del Sur Rivas, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Chateau Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Chateau Hotel is located in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, a tourist beach town on the pacific ocean in southern Nicaragua, a few miles from the Costa Rican border and two hours from Managua, the Nicaraguan capital. A colonial style hotel with 20 spacious rooms with splendid views and modern comforts including air conditioner, cable TV, wireless internet, secure parking, private bathrooms, full sized beds and continental, Criollo & American breakfast, all included in one affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Chateau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing