We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation and enjoyment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Jakes Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
“Total relaxation and enjoyment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I could hang out here for months, in fact I was in the area for months and Lazy Jakes was one of the most modern and most comfortable as well as one of the most well designed places I stayed at in the 3 months I was in the San Juan del Sur and Playa Maderas are. And Jake and Lisa are pretty awesome too and make some awesome eats! They look after you like you were family. Tha ks you too and sorry for taking so long to post my review.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
25
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Although I wasn't able to meet Jake and Lisa in person all the reviews were pretty much on par. Modern standards and walking distance to beaches. I'd recommend the place to a friend without hesitation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Lazy Jake's is in a great location and is run and owned by amazing hosts, I was treated like royalty by Jake and Lisa, they have a gorgeous property beside a stunning beach, they cook fabulous food and have a cool rooftop where you can relax and get great advice from the couple about central america in general! Couldn't recommend Lazy Jake's highly enough!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenfromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Had a fantastic stay. Spent a week there and loved the accommodations. The hosts were great. They were excellent company and very helpful with suggestions for things to do and places to go. Loved having 2 beaches within walking distance as well as some very good restaurents. San Juan is a short drive away if you want to experience the night life in town, do some shopping, or try some of the restaurents there. The food was great whereever we went. For a break you can enjoy the rooftop patio, sit back, relax, read a book or just enjoy the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I am not normally organised enough to get around to writing reviews. But I had such a good time at Lazy Jakes I feel compelled to make an effort. You can probably guess at this stage that the name grabbed my attention.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thudtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at lazy jakes the first week of June. They accomodated us with a late night pick up at the airport. When we arrived we went immeditaly to the rooftop patio and helped ourselves to a midnight cocktail which was all provided. Over the next 5 days we walked to the 2 beaches but mostly enjoyed maderas where we could rent surfboards for $10/ day. We ate lunch at the beach each day as there is a choice of 3 restaurants and then went into town each night for dinner. The accomodations are great, super clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kvicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a great time staying here. Lazy Jakes is within walking distance of Playa Marsella (beautiful crescent of sand) and the surf beach Playa Maderas (although the walk to Maderas is up and down a very big hill). There are several good restaurants also within walking distance. There are plenty of places to stretch out with a book or magazine at Lazy Jakes. As a matter of fact I hammock hopped over the three days we stayed. Ben and Rachel were great hosts. Rachel made us delicious and healthy breakfasts. My husband took a surfing lesson with Ben. Some things to be aware of - the guest house is basically in the country so the dogs, cows and chickens can be heard at all times of day. I thought it added to the experience but others may not agree. It's essential to bring a flashlight as it gets very dark at night. Getting out to the hotel or back to San Juan Del Sur requires a car or taxi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magum8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#27 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#19 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
#1 of 7 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#23 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Jakes Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Jakes Guesthouse

Property: Lazy Jakes Guesthouse
Address: Fork at Playa Marsella and Playa Madera's, San Juan del Sur 128, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Jakes Guesthouse is located within walking distance to Playa Marsella and Playa Madera's surf beach, only 6.5km from San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the 360 degree view of surrounding jungle sights and sounds from the second floor canopy lounge. We provide a more personalized experience based on your needs and wants during your vacation in Nicaragua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy Jakes Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing