We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Level Contributor
167 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hostel!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I had a perfect time there! It's very quiet at night. Very clean and free breakfast are amazing. Perfectly located in the middle of town, next to the shops, and one block from the beach. Very organized excursions and shuttles to the beach. Most eco friendly turtle tour in town. I Absolutely recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    82
    38
    24
    33
See reviews for
6
55
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Casa Oro is a great hostel choice for travelers in San Juan del Sur. It's clean, affordable, centrally located, has a roof top bar, breakfast included, dormitory and private rooms and an overall great atmosphere. What sets Casa Oro apart from other SJDS hostels is the inexpensive ($3 at the time) and reliable, daily shuttle to Playa Maderas.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Clean sheets, breakfast included, easy/cheap shuttle ride to Playa Maderas, surf rentals on site, good location, cheap and safe. Cash only. Note it is a younger crowd that is here and also lots of surfers at this hostels so there was some noise going on at night. They have lockers for your stuff if you bring your own lock. Happy with accommodations, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestboundBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Great location, right off the park and close to the municipal market and bus stop. Complimentary breakfast every morning and served early. Staff: helpful and polite. Room: Good beds, fan, good running shower. Tours and info: very good info, yet didn't take any tours except the shuttle to playa Maderas.
Stayed there in 2010, stayed again in 2012. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundandAround1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here in 2005 and at the time it was probably the most popular backpackers around. We did some tours with them and was happy with the basic but perfectly fine accommodation and tours. We were going to stay with them again but when we arrived, we got turned around and couldn't find it, even though SJDS is a small place. We found it the next day and was going to move but woke up late and didn't have time. We were planning on moving the next day to there. We wanted to do some business with them so we booked a shuttle to the other beaches with them. We were going to do a turtle tour like we did in 2005 but the turtles weren't releasing or laying eggs yet. We did take a look around and it looks like they have upgraded. Tile floors in places were it was wood before. Busier and more of a "business" than before. I am glad that we didn't stay there for one tiny but important to me reason. After I paid the $10 US for the shuttle, I asked for the Wi-Fi code. Anywhere else in town, I could go buy a coke or a coffee for a dollar and get to use he Wi-Fi. Of course, I normally buy a meal but I could get it with just a coke purchase. They refused to let me use the Wi-FI. It was for guest only. I didn't see any signs saying it was for guest only. I was embarrassed and felt a little uneasy sitting there for 10 minutes waiting for the shuttle. I was sorry to have already paid for the shuttles. To be fair, the shuttle was fine and my husband and I were happy with the shuttle service. Needless to say, we didn't move over to them and we do not recommend them to any other backpackers we meet along the way or on our blog. The hostel is for sale so hopefully the next owners will know a little bit more about guest service and appreciate when people choose to spend their money with them. There are so many other places to stay there that are just a good and so many other shuttles to the other beaches for the same price. Saying that, I did see the most backpackers staying there and they are well known and normally get good reviews. The next day, I took the shuttle with another place and they let me use their Wi-Fi. I also stayed three more days in SJDS spending my money else where. Such a little thing as Wi-Fi is everywhere but for me, it totally changed my mind about this once well thought of hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Spent New Year's in San Juan del Sur and wanted to stay somewhere fun. Casa Oro is in a good location and is where to go to get shuttles to the best beaches. They also ran the turtle hatching tour we went on, which was amazing. We had booked a private room, but were not aware that they only had one with separate beds. We were supposed to get that room, but they had accidentally given it away. They gave us a discount on our tour to make up for it. I liked the place in general although there are so many beds that it felt crowded and not everyone staying there was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OurGalVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Yorj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a private room over New years. The room and hostel were clean. You do have to request maid service-it is included- and must be present. The daily breakfast is good, but somewhat small portions. You can not get seconds. We asked for a private room with 2 beds, they forgot the 2 bed requests, which was unfortunate, but then gave us a $6 discount per person on a turtle viewing trip to make up for it. I also had major issues connecting to their wifi, as did many people, so go in expecting that. Also, excellent location, right in town center.
Overall, I recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dansh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#27 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
291 reviews
47.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing