We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in SJDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in SJDS”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed at Casa Oro for a few days last May, and I liked it a lot. I stayed in a dorm downstairs, and that was fine. Good beds, and the dorm had its own bathroom, in addittion to the common ones in the hall. SJDS is quite a party town, and Casa Oro has it share of party-people, but there's not too much sound.

The common room in the hotel has a lot of hammocks and comfortable chairs, and its a good place to hang out.

Service at the hostel is good, and the breakfasts are good. They have two computers and some ipads upstairs, which is very handy. Wifi is not too good, though.

Other good things include shuttle service to the beach (approx 3usd for a round trip), and they can help with surf-instructors.

All in all, a good place.

Room Tip: The breakfast is right outside the dorms downstairs, which means a bit of noise in the mornings. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    79
    36
    23
    33
See reviews for
6
54
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Corner, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ideal location in San Juan Del Sur. Great en-suite rooms. Clean. Provides excellent facilities. WiFi and computer access available. Great breakfast and coffee included. Turtle tour operates from this location-Pick-up and Drop-Off. Shuttles also operate to various beaches. Hostel also central and close to cafes/beach and restaurant.

Room Tip: All rooms in good location. Idea to carry padlock for lockers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANomadicSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was a little unsure about staying here since some friends of friends on TripAdvisor were rather negative. I stayed there regardless because it was just for one night, and convenient. The turtle tour departs from and returns there, and there's a regular surf shuttle to Playa Maderas.

It exceeded my (guarded) expectations. The dorm room (second floor US / first floor UK) was at all times pretty pleasant as regards temperature and noise levels. Bathroom was clean. The common area was nothing special but altogether quite pleasant. Staff were friendly and helpful. No complaints whatsoever!

The hostel at the end of the beach (forget the name; you have to walk across a suspension bridge to get to it) is a nicer spot to relax, but for convenience and an action-packed trip this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it! I thought I was slightly expensive, we seemed to be paying an extra dollar for being in a dorm with a private bathroom, but the sink was leaking all over the floor while we were there, so I don't think it was worth it.
Otherwise, the dorm was spacious and the beds really comfortable. AC doesn't work in the dorms but the fans were enough for me. There are small lockers for your valuables. Internet was on and off but they have PCs and IPads for use by guests which was a nice touch. Breakfast was really good, we had pancakes one day and a tasty breakfast burrito another, that in itself was probably worth the extra couple of dollars I felt we paid here. The bar was quiet some nights and busy others, but I wouldn't call this a party hostel (we were there towards the beginning of low season though).
I really liked the staff on reception, the lady was super friendly and actually quite banterous. Would definitely recommend this hostel, also has a great location in San Juan.

Room Tip: Book in advance for the weekend, it gets full quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDRJvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Myself and my friend stayed in a private room at this hostel recently and both had money stolen presumably by staff. Our room was locked and secure so it had to be stolen by someone with a key. We both has approximately US $150 each in the room but only $60 was stolen from each of our bags, probably so it wasn't do obvious straight away. We confronted the staff about this at the front desk and they didn't seem to care and tried to tell us that our key was the only one to our room when there is obviously a master key. This happened when we caught the hostel shuttle to the beach ( so they marked off our name at the desk and knew we were out). We talked to another traveller in a private who said his luggage had been rummaged through when he was also at the beach but he had fortunately taken all his money with him. We were very angry about this and the staffs lack of care when we made the complaint.
The shower also had big clumps of hair in the shower and the toilet didn't work properly, we had to flush it manually.
Overall I would not stay here again or recommend it. I have travelled for 6 weeks and this is the only hostel I would never go back too

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenax91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed at Casa Oro for about 3 weeks with a friend of mine. It is an awesome place! The staff are all amazing; Get to know them, they ended up being some of the best friends I've made on my entire 3 month trip. Casa Oro is located in the perfect location. It is one street up from the beach and all the bars which makes a very short walk without having to deal with the noise late at night. It is also only a 30 second walk to laundry facilities and the markets where you can buy all of your necessities. There are beach shuttles every single day that leave directly from the doorstep and also it's own surf shop right inside where you can rent surf boards for the day and even sign up for lessons. The hostel is equipped with a kitchen, a rooftop bar, lounge areas, dorm rooms and private bedrooms for very reasonable prices (with AC!!). The dorm rooms are all nice; Most have private bathrooms equipped with a shower, toilet and sink. The rooms also have well-working fans to keep you cool at night. The beds are comfortable and are very clean. If you are heading to San Juan, you MUST stay at Casa Oro.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The location is great, not to far from the beach, and close to the market and the shops.
They have a lot of oppertunities to do fun stuff and shuttles to go to diffrent beaches.

The staff is friendly and really open we had a fun time with them.

Breakfast is awesome!
Atmosphere is great!
I loved staying at this hostel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#18 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#15 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#20 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing