We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't like this place...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't like this place...”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Really noisy dorms. Staff is not nice, not helpful and badly informed. No towels included. Turtle tour was far too expensive. And you can not store your luggage (they want to charge you 2 dollars for that)... I would definitely not recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mtnaarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenient stay. Did you hare your grievances with management or another staff member? Please let an organization representative know in person whenever you are dissatisfied with any service, as we can then hope to improve your stay immediately. We could have tried moving you to a quieter room and perhaps clarified any cultural differences with the staff that may have contributed to your perception of their attitude. Unfortunately it's not usual hostel practice to include towels at dorm prices and as mentioned below, the feedback from ( the Turtle Tours normally include its good value for money ($28 for a 4 to 6 hour tour including a 30min presentation on the sea turtles and why they are at risk of extinction, transport, entrance fee to the park which is itself $10, an English speaking guide, a policeman on board for protection, and a free souvenir post card - all this leaves the tour cost at $18 ($28 - $10 entrance fee). Competitors offer the tour for $30-$40pp and do not offer any presentation nor security. Best of luck on your journey - Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    79
    36
    23
    33
See reviews for
6
54
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

While we did not stay at Casa Oro, we found them in the latest Lonely Planet guide for good turtle tours for those on a budget.

$28 got us on the night-time trip to La Flor beach which is one of the seven beaches in the world for a certain type of turtle. Six have to be signed up or the tour does not go, and the tour was told to meet at the hostel at 7:30.

We were given a 20-minute presentation by one of the local biologists. Then packed into the back of a pick-up truck for a 30 minute ride on paved and dirt roads to the beach reserve. The truck road was open air and extremely rough....reminded me of being a kid many moons ago in Arkansas. (Not sure how Nica's seatbelt laws came into play here.... but we did not have that option.)

Given red mini-flashlights once we arrived, our group was given strict instructions on how to proceed, where to walk, what to look for, how to use our lights and how not to (for the protection of the turtles). We were very fortunate to locate a mother turtle just arriving and watch her through the entire egg laying process. The whole thing takes a bit more than an hour.

All in all, a fantastic experience. And for 28 bucks a pop, something not many people ever have the chance of seeing. Casa Oro tours does a solid job. Just take care, if you have any back problems - the truck road is exciting but not at all kind to those of us over 50!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about how realistic seeing the turtles are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Clean, good breakfast included, fast wifi, and GREAT surfing lessons (and transport). I took surfing lessons with Alfredo on playa Maderas, and it was the best lesson I've had. For $25 I got transport to the beach, a board, rashguard, and a 4.5-hour lesson! Alfredo stayed with us until we were too tired to surf, and has some great pointers. By the end of the lesson I could consistently get up on the board.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I would not recommend this place to anyone. Staff were not really bothered at all and did not tell us that the place is being renovated, which made for a horrible atmosphere while still charging high prices. There was nowhere to relax as all of the common areas were covered with furniture on top of furniture. Had to move the next morning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
We are very sorry for your inconvenience. In October it’s a very low season and hotels usually take this time to do some minor repairs, cleaning and painting. During the time you were staying at Casa Oro we were painting 2 dorm rooms and that area was closed to clients. Clients were directed to other areas where there was no work being done. Although our staff was instructed to inform all our guests it looks like by mistake you were not and we apologize. However we did leave some common space on the other side where the mural is and the large terrace upstairs on the roof top offers lots of chill space with hammocks, tables and chairs. Casa oro’s prices were also lower during that period so we do not understand why you say they were high. We charge $8 per dorm bed with a large breakfast included, that seems to be very much liked by our guests. We wish you could have come to reception and ask to speak with the manager and we could have had the opportunity to make your stay better. Have a nice and safe trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Only stayed for one night here, would've been more but unfortunately we woke to find hundreds of ants in our bed/hair/bedside cabinet/our bodies...

The room was nice enough, apart from the lack of outdoor window. A little overpriced compared to other accomodation in town.

We originally told the receptionist about the ants and she said she'd check in an hour! We persuaded her to come and look and she laughed and said they were only small... we asked to see the manager and we were offered a full refund.

The place seems like a decent backpacker spot, just a shame about the ants. We have given 3stars due to the full refund.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We are very sorry for what happened. Ants tend to be very fast where some food was probably left out even a tiny peace, or body cream or tooth paste can attract them easily, especially in tropical countries. When our receptionist went to see your room she saw only a few ants and thought your reaction was exaggerated. We are sorry for this. Nicaraguan people often think foreigners complain easily …. Nevertheless we did offer you a full refund for your discomfort and wished you could have been more grateful and understanding for receiving this refund knowing nature sometimes has its ways that are beyond human control even if we do the best cleaning we can. We wish you a very nice trip and as less as possible uncomfortable situations and lots of luck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Not the cheapest but really nice hostel. Clean rooms with private bathroom - I do not know about shared bathrooms and dorms, but my private one was great (but expensive)! Good place for a nice stay in San Juan! Diakachimba!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed at Casa Oro for a few days last May, and I liked it a lot. I stayed in a dorm downstairs, and that was fine. Good beds, and the dorm had its own bathroom, in addittion to the common ones in the hall. SJDS is quite a party town, and Casa Oro has it share of party-people, but there's not too much sound.

The common room in the hotel has a lot of hammocks and comfortable chairs, and its a good place to hang out.

Service at the hostel is good, and the breakfasts are good. They have two computers and some ipads upstairs, which is very handy. Wifi is not too good, though.

Other good things include shuttle service to the beach (approx 3usd for a round trip), and they can help with surf-instructors.

All in all, a good place.

Room Tip: The breakfast is right outside the dorms downstairs, which means a bit of noise in the mornings. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#18 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#15 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#20 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing