We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This place is perfectly located close to everything, 8$ dorms including a good breakfast that changes everyday, beds are good too, free wifi, nice open space rooftop area with hammocks to relax in the daytime and a bar at night, they also have the main shuttle service to playa Maderas which goes all day, good informations also on everything like transport etc. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belange99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    78
    35
    23
    33
See reviews for
6
53
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I think I spent 4 nights here. I met the best people and felt right at home. Breakfast is included and it is different each day, a solid, legit homemade breakfast. The location is great, chill roof top bar, fun but not crazy and the staff can arrange anything for you trip wise. I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riddletm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
We're so pleased we met all your needs! To provide a place that is both lively and comfortable is our aim, so it's great to read we accomplished this for your stay. Thanks for your positive feedback regarding our quality staff and our breakfast size and variety. We hope to welcome you again someday! Best wishes for your travels ~ Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The place is too expensive for average accommodation. The bathroom in the dorms is always dirty, the stuff was not nice and not helpful, the breakfast not really good either. The transportation to the beach is not comfortable. But, the surf lessons are really good and not expensive and the rooftop is very nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaD333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We’re glad you enjoyed the surf lesson and our relaxing rooftop. We’re sorry to hear of your more disappointing experiences. At $8 for a dorm bed, our rates are among the best in the region, especially with a cooked breakfast. We endeavour to keep the bathrooms presentable by cleaning the public bathrooms twice daily, however with so many guests coming and going from the beach it is sometimes difficult to maintain. We encourage guests to wash sand off outside and we’ll make sure this better promoted. The shuttle to Playa Maderas is rustic, with the dirt road particularly bumpy due to current pipeline work. Tourism is relatively new here and these are conditions that may be different from home. We appreciate your comments and will look into any possible issues. Kind regards and safe travels ~ Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My partner and i stayed at a private room with bathroom. The rooms are dark, old and very basic. Not worth for the price you pay. You can find better accommodation staying at the locals houses. The hostel was generally noisy at night with music blaring from reception and or the rooftop bar. Breakfast was not too bad but small quantities. You pay a deposit for the key, so make sure you get your money back if you havent lost yours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We’re sorry for your disappointing experience. Our private room rate is standard for hotels in the area. San Juan del Sur is known for its party atmosphere and being in the centre of town, Casa Oro is a convenient location for late nights. While we do not promote our place as a party hostel, young backpackers do stay here. We encourage guests to make reception, bar or security staff aware of any disturbances, especially if they are outside our bar close at 11pm; and reception close at 9.30pm. We appreciate your feedback, have noted your comments and are looking into any possible issues. Kind regards and safe travels ~ Casa Oro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I went with a friend and stayed at a private room with bathroom for one nigth (the next night we look for something better). To get to our room you had to pass through a garage area (or it looked like it), it was messy, room was not nice, the service was not good.

Pluses that I found here: the breakfast is very good, the buses to the beaches go from this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GissAroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast and shuttle services. We usually receive positive comments regarding our cleanliness, so we are looking into the matter. As a hostel we clean private rooms only upon check out, or as requested.

Did you share your disappointments with recepción? We might have been able to relocate you if we knew you weren't satisfied. The entrance to the room you are referring to is via our surf shop, not a garage. Although some garages do store surfboards – so we understand the confusion! Casa Oro is mostly a surf hostel with a large selection for our guests. We aim to keep the surf shop neat and tidy, which is sometimes difficult with 30 boards being used by hostel guests. Thanks again for the feedback. It assists in making us the best hostel we can be. Happy travels ~ Casa Oro Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

my girlfriend and I stayed at Casa Oro for 3 nights in a privada con bano and had an awesome time! the room was very clean, good mattress,ceiling fan and big bathroom. the hostel is ran by nice and friendly people, it's very well organized with its shuttle service to the beaches and to see sea turtles in the night. this last activity costs 28 bucks but it's totally worth it.
good roof top bar with a friendly and competent barman.
on the ground floor there's a cool common kitchen area where in the mornings they serve free breakfast..THE BEST!!
for me San Juan del Sur was great and staying at CasaOro made our time the best I had in Nicaragua.
friends who stayed in the dorms said the room and beds were good too

Room Tip: in Nicaragua look for a room with high ceiling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milkwasabadchoice19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I've been to San Juan del Sur more than one. I did try different hostels with different services, but my choice stopped on this one. First, for the price : the hostel offers a really great service for a cheap price, you can get a dorm bed for 8$/night WITH a breakfast included that changes everyday. Second, Casa Oro has different services : beach shuttles, fishing tours, excursions in the night to see the turtles, surf lessons and more for prices hard to beat. Third, the service you get there is professional and bilingual (English and Spanish). Fourth, it is really clean... staff people are cleaning the place everyday which isn't always the case in backpackers' places. Fifth, you get the chance to access internet because they do have computers and iPads. Sixth, you can get in the hostel at ANYTIME in the night without a key because there's a night guardian... this is really amazing because most of the hostels will give you only ONE key and if you are a group of 3-4 people, it's possible that you might not want to enter all at the same hour. And last thing : it is clearly in the CENTER of San Juan del Sur.

Room Tip: If you want it less noisy, I suggest the dorms upstairs or a private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danelialp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback. It’s heart-warming to have guests appreciate our efforts. Kind regards & safe travels – Casa Oro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#25 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
Casa Maderas Ecolodge
#1 of 7 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
47.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#19 of 74 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing