We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night guard refused to help when I got robbed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night guard refused to help when I got robbed.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Whilst the breakfast was nice and the atmosphere social, I am not in a position to leave a positive review of Casa Oro.

I had the unfortunate experience of having my phone and wallet stolen on the beach at night with a friend who was staying at another place. We came back to the hostel to use the wifi to cancel my phone account and credit cards. The night guard wouldnt call the police or let us use the hostel phone, and was clearly annoyed when we asked for his help. Halfway through making the phone calls, he kicked us out of the common area and made us sit on the curb, using the hostel wifi in the middle of the night simply because my friend was not staying there! Absoluetly ridiculous, especially considering that the bar is open to the public every sunday.

I hope that anyone considering staying here doesnt require assistance from the night staff because you sure wont be getting any here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georginak483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Owner at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your helpful feedback about your stay at Casa Oro. We are sorry to hear about your theft incident on the beach. As we have camera surveillance in casa oro including the reception area we have monitored what happened that night and are able to write back to you to explain our policies. We understand that you came in at casa oro around 3 am with your friend who is not a guest at casa oro. The guard let him inside although it was against hostel security policy to do so during that time of the night. Many incidents do happen late at night in San Juan del sur and we must have strict security policy for the protection of our guests. We apologize for the guard not calling the police, he could not explain to you in English that the police does not come until the next morning and even if we call they do not answer. This is unfortunately the level of service we get from the local police in this area. We also understand that you could not wait for the police until the next morning because you had to leave at 7am. We would have been happy to assist you at the police station in Spanish during working hours. The guard’s cell phone is only part of a ‘in house’ network and the other hostel phone allows only local calls. Nevertheless you and your friend were allowed to access the hostel internet wifi inside the reception and through our Ipad that we leave in the reception area, you made at least 3 calls that seemed successful according to the recordings we have watched and heard on our camera surveillance system (with microphone). Your friend also had a cell phone that you used. You both stayed inside the reception more than 1 hour and a half and were not doing any more calls when the manager asked the guard to tell your friend that he had to go because you were having too much personal intimacy in the reception, which is not a proper place to do so. We understand you are upset but we would have appreciated to be able to speak with you in the morning and assist you with the police report. Please understand that you, as a guest, was not kicked out, but the guard had to insist that your friend would leave the reception as a non-guest and after you had accessed internet for a while. You decided to stay outside with your friend on a voluntary basis although it was pasted 4:30 am. Regardless the unfortunate theft incident on the beach, we hope you had a safe trip to your next destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    82
    38
    24
    33
See reviews for
6
55
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here for just the one night and it was fine. I was on a tight budget so the room was a little pricey compared to other places but good for the town.

It's set around a really pretty courtyard with hammocks and soft seating to lounge around in. Simple but tasty breakfast is provided.

Bed had clean sheets and the dorm room and attached bathroom clean too. Better than many dorms I've stayed in.

Computers and ipads to use for free.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review to Casa Oro. We are glad to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay but our amenities as well. We're happy to hear that you were pleased overall. It's great to know that you found your room clean, quiet and comfortable. It's also wonderful to know that you enjoyed our Breakfast we provided
and our service for free use of iPads and Computer We hope that you'll stay with us again next time you're in San Juan del Sur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Had heard really good things about casa oro so was super disappointed with our experience. We stayed there 4 nights, our room was not cleaned once. The bin in the bathroom was overflowing, the bath may grotty and the curtain rail broke on the first night. No towels available and no locks on dorms.
Sleeping was ok, powerful fans did their job well. Best thing about casa oro was the surprisingly good breakfasts (decent meal size too) and the people I met there. Rooftop bar staff were lovely and well worth checking out even if you don't stay here. Receptionists and doormen though, boy oh boy. Act like you're the scum of the earth. I'm sorry I bothered you with my business? I know hostels and I'm ok with the variability so it really sucks to have had such a bad experience here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallivante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly D, Manager at Casa Oro Eco Hostel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are so sorry you were disappointed in some aspects of your stay.
According to your comment we understand that you were located in the large dorms. These dorms are the less expensive beds in the hostel and still include a good & decent size breakfast.These dorms are very popular and can be full very often, they are cleaned 2 times a day, but still can easily get dirty simply because of the number of people using the bathrooms, especially if you came during the extremely high season of Easter Holiday. When its full it is difficult to keep the dorms as clean as a private room. If you were in a private room, we provide a daily housekeeping on a request-basis as mentioned on a sign inside each room. We do not provide towels in the dorms as we want to keep our prices as low as possible for our travelers. This is a regular policy in many hostels throughout Central America. We do provide towels in our private rooms. As for the shower curtain rail, we are sorry it broke, this is unusual. But this could not prevent you from having a fresh shower because there is a glass shower door.
All our dorms have their security lockers located just outside each dorm, under the surveillance of our video cameras security system. And the doors of the large dorms do not lock because there would be too many keys and too many in and outs disturbing those who want to sleep. Casa oro 's policy and ways are very much like European youth hostels, this is why Europeans or people having traveled in Europe are not annoyed by any of these policies.
We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.
We are thankful you enjoyed the delicious breakfast and our Rooftopbar.
I was sorry to read that of your experience with the reception and doormen (security guard). We will make sure this does not happen again.
Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We did not stay here, so this review is entirely for Alfredo the surf instructor.

Alfredo was a fantastic teacher who has a way of making his explanations really stick with you. I've only been surfing a handful of times, but his explanations of how to stand up, posture, catching the right wave, etc. went miles beyond what I'd learned in the past. I was able to stand up on the very first wave I caught, and the other students stood up within the next 4 or 5 tries.

If I remember correctly, Alfredo just finished his masters certification training with the International Surf Association. This definitely shows in his teaching abilities. He was also very kind and very patient.

We payed $25 pp for about three to four hours with him, and an extra $5 for a roundtrip shuttle to Playa Maderas (about 20 min north of San Juan and a beach that is DEFINITELY worth your time).

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alohaqt44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights when there was a popular music festival on which we stumbled on by chance. San Juan Del Sur was a destination we wanted to go and the guide book had mentioned Casa Oro which is where we headed to and were not disappointed.

I'm not so sure about the staff being rude from previous comments as all the staff that we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. They accommodated us very well.

The place had a reasonable rate to stay for each night and it was a very chill hostel with a few hammocks and a lovely courtyard to relax in and it was easy to meet other travellers. The rooftop bar is a nice touch and they had happy hour prices which in Nicaragua is an excellent deal.

The hostel is a short walk from the beach and the rest of the town. It is a fairly small place.

The breakfast was cooked for you and probably one of the best french toast brekkies I've ever had. The breakfast changed on a daily basis, we were fortunate to have the typico breakfast also.

They had a lot of tours and a surf school but on this occasion we didn't take any of these offers up as we went to just hang out.

They also had a security guard at night to keep non guests out - on the weekend they give you a wristband to identify you

I would recommend staying here if you are in SJDS and would again if I get the chance to visit again one day.

Room Tip: The hostel work's on a walk in basis but if there are more than 6 of you in a group you can rese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitz_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I didn't stay at casa oro but spent about 1.5 weeks learning to surf with them. The surf teacher Alfredo was fantastic, explained everything really well and was very approachable and welcoming. I really felt like I advanced well in the 1.5 weeks and would definitely recommend the surf class here for anyone looking to learn how to surf in Central America.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank WrldTrv_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The beds were comfy and rooms air conditioned, the breakfast is limited and the trips are way expensive compared to other tour companies. Its in a perfect location and there is a roof top which was lovely to relax in. My main problem with this place is i feel its too expensive for what you get, also the staff are soooo rude and have no idea about hospitality. You'd think owning a hostel you'd talk to all your guests but I found them ignorant. The staff rolled their eyes when I talked at times, I just find that plain rude and you can't make business that way, people won't want to give to rude people.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu-Jelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
291 reviews
47.0 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 65 in San Juan del Sur
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Oro Eco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Oro Eco Hostel

Property: Casa Oro Eco Hostel
Address: Saliendo del Colonial 20 | Varas al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Oro Eco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Oro was the first hostel and surf school in San Juan del Sur. Before that it was an obligatory spot on the historic gold route through Central America. Today, Casa Oro is the first eco-hostel in San Juan del Sur, part of the Circulo Initiative, a family of for purpose businesses in pursuit of regeneration. Tourism growth and development often leave destructive side effects for cultures, communities and the environment. It doesn’t have to be like this though. We find inspiration in how nature works and use this as our compass for holistic creation. In everything we do, our aim is to leave places better than we found them. So far, it’s working. -- Just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach, Casa Oro offers a variety of budget-friendly accommodations designed with conscious backpackers in mind. We have both dorms and private rooms available. All of our dorm beds come equipped with privacy curtains for your convenience. The second and third floor boast a balcony that wraps around the entire building. A scrumptious breakfast is included with any stay along with free Wi-Fi, lockers (bring your own lock), free filtered water and access to a communal kitchen. Friendly vibes and hugs are also included at no extra charge. Our beach shuttles are conveniently located just outside the front door, surf school is downstairs and there’s even a RestoCafe/Bar, so all you’ve gotta do is roll out of bed and everything’s at your fingertips. We’ve also got donation-based yoga classes regularly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Oro Eco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Oro Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing