We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“real pasta and more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria

Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“real pasta and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Mauricio's has produced excellent Italian food for a number of years. They have expanded their facility but for the most part I have had them deliver. I was staying a ways out of town along the Chocolata but evening delivery of dinner for four within 20 minutes. The linguini and the penne pasta were done perfectly aldante. The pesto sauce is superior.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    31
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Me and my boyfriend craved pizza so we headed to Mauricio's.. The pizza was nothing above average. Lacked flavor, the sauce was bland and the cheese was halfway melted on top of a pepperoni pizza, which I have to add had about 6 pepperoni slices on it. I would've ordered pasta, but I had a bad experience one time I did chose to order it: Carbonara was so spicy in pepper, it was inedible.
Service is ok, although servers would stand near your table and you feel stared at. The owner, Mauricio does not even make the pizzas and never will he come to your table and greet you. He seems very unfriendly, at least from afar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Shrimp Pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here numerous times and the pasta is outstanding. My friends had the fish and they thought it was great. Very good and highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
“Best filete de pescado ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

I'm not a expert but the food at Mauricios blows you out of your socks , not only the pizzas wich are known way beyond town and country , the fish filete in balsamic vinagre or black pepper are realy something special , thanks for that wonderfull food Mauricio , see you soon again ,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 639Pizzalover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so good...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Ate here last night expecting good pizza based on the reviews. Perhaps it is one of the better pizza places in San Juan del Sur but this place did nothing but fill a void in my stomach. We got the pizza mixta (3 types of meat). The "sausage" was cut up hot dog, the "ham" was cheap deli ham, and the pepperoni was not great but the best of the three. Apparently there are two locations - this was the one by the church (right on the plaza).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Mauricio's San Juan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing