We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Gato Negro

El Gato Negro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: El Gato Negro is a Bookstore/Coffeehouse providing locals and travelers a comfortable place to enjoy whole foods, interesting conversation, amazing coffee, the best selection of books in Central America, and an ambiance which will make you forget that you have spent four hours with us.We source organic and whole foods locally and import what we cannot find here. Our friends are our bakers, yogurt makers, lettuce growers, bee keepers, coconut oil pressers...... We offer an experience unique in Central America.
Santa Rosa de Copan, Honduras
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Loved all the books!!! A bit pricey, and no book exchange opportunities, but it's a really cool place. Also they have all natural smoothies/juices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pirdapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    181
    74
    33
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fun place to speak English”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stopped in here because we had heard so much about it and had some kind
of cold fruit smoothie. It was a very energetic Saturday morning and lots of gringos milling about. They have one of the best collections of used books I have ever seen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bookwoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cool spot and good coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed very good latte here. I was pleasantly surprised by the decor- book store idea with nooks to seat around and outside patio. Very nice place to relax and maybe look through the books.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diadora15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Great coffee, amazing banana bread, wonderful muffins, books galore, very comfortable seating and fresh greens sold by the bag!!!! I love this place....yes the servers are a bit disinterested but in spite of the apathetic wait staff, the owners have created a comfortable, cozy, eclectic and healthy restaurant This is a must do. Relax and spend the morning here with a good book and a great cup of coffee.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amovablefeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were looking for something refreshing and healthy. El Gato Negro is all this and more. The owners wrote a manifesto in their menu explaining extensively their health and sustainability philosophy (and then some.) They have fresh juices (with and without dairy), local food, and lots of amazing books. Yummy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gato Negro also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to El Gato Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing