We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special.”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Central
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at The Irish House for our first 2 nights in San Juan del Sur. We had booked ahead of time because we were arriving on the weekend and we couldn't seem to find anything else online. We liked that the Hostel had really powerful AC (A nice treat for backpackers!). The rooms were also very secure. Our room was on the main floor with access to the street so having our own gate made us feel quite secure.
The problem with this location is that it's located on the loudest street in San Juan del Sur. We joked about space ships taking off during the night...it's that bad.
Compared to most of the other hostels in town it's quite expensive. Actually, this was the most we spent on a nights accommodation during our whole 2 month trip.
The rooms are clean and the location is convenient but The Irish House wouldn't be my first choice when staying in San Juan.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We had the downstairs front room, plenty of space. The noise of the street settled about 10pm. That beds were comfortable, the owner most helpful even helped arrange a taxi to the boarder for a decent price. We had to leave a day early, even though we had booked for two nights the owner was accommodating. This little place is handy to the beach and handy to a great little Spanish restaurant just a few door up in the same street. We had no complaints, it was somewhere to rest our heads at night and it was comfortable and secure with bars on the front door.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weazlegeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

There is just so much wrong with this horrible white house we are troubled as to were to start. located in the midst of bus, car and vendor routes to and from the beach during all hours of the day and night *seriously all hours, provides the traveler with NO good sleep. The house sits on top of an old drainage system that will provide you with terrible water smells and drainage from the sink, toilet ands showers. The Irish house has no amenities, provides rooms with broken fridges, toilets, laundry facilities, poor even dangerous cooking facilities and utensils. truly a real expensive place for bare bones facilities and SERVICE. Go to the dozen hostel places just in the area alone for a cheaper, cleaner and friendlier stay. Final it must be said that the owner of the Irish house, Roberto was the worst person that we have encountered in the more than 25 years of travelling. he lied to gain our trust and money, than deliberately began construction of his hotel and remove the pub, in order to cram as many new rooms for the new year rush. his construction was from 6am to 8pm every day including Sunday, his apology every time we complained was cold and calculated. every time it was one more day one more day...finally my pregnant wife, my 4 year old son and myself went and filed a complaint to the police. Roberto shut our water, electricity, air conditioning and toilets off purposely and told us to would be 3 minutes or all day, stop complaining and go out in the 40 degree temperatures and stop bothering him. The police forced this s.o.b. to pay us back our money and we quickly moved to a much better hotel down the street. By the way there are some interesting stories around town as to why people boycott the Irish House of horrors.

Room Tip: stay away from the Irish House, there is so much better at better rates in all areas of san juan del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irish_house2013, Propietario at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

from the first time you made your reservation we will inform you that the hotel was under renovation but you insisted on booking the apartment,
on basic services like electricity and drinking water is a community problem that happens a lot in all the hotels in town and we can not assure exact time return as basic services (we reserve tanks for water and power generators the which are for emergency only and not for air conditioners)
on the quality of the rooms is false what you argued in his critique to the discredit of our hotel and that no one else has complained about broken things and bad odors in the rooms.
there are all kinds of travelers and you really did not fit the normal parameters like everyone, it was a pleasure to return their money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed at the Irish House for a week during my first trip to Nicaragua and wow this place is great!! The staff and Roberto are extremely helpful, friendly, and treat you like family. The rooms are nice and clean and its in a great location just a block from the beach. Next time I come to Nicaragua, I will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed here in the summer, and it was perfect. Great location, great value, and the owners were very warm and gracious to us. We loved our trip and would go back! We also enjoyed the tavern, owned by the same couple-a warm and friendly place all around!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I am just reviewing the bar downstairs, not the rooms but if the rooms are anything like the bar then you are better off sleeping on the beach. I was in Nica with 2 Irishmen who wanted to check it out. It's a total dive which is not a big deal. I did have flees jump on me from the one sofa in the pub which make me wonder about the place upstairs.

This is just a warning review. Check this place out before you commit.

Definitely don't waste your time staying and drinking here. There are better places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimberlina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irish_house2013, Propietario at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

we apologize but the schedule of attention at the bar is starting from 5pm and maybe the staff did not inform them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at the Irish House for a week last January and were treated like family by Bob and his wife. They could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The location is central to SJDS with the Mercato just down the street. Our room was clean and comfortable and we always felt safe. We have and will continue to recommend the Irish House to those visiting SJDS.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Dolce Vita
Hotel La Dolce Vita
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
#14 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Beach Please Hotel
Beach Please Hotel
#34 of 53 in San Juan del Sur
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#22 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#29 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: | From the Market, 2 Blocks to the North, San Juan del Sur SJDS, Nicaragua (Formerly Irish House)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £30 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel central is located in the heart of San Juan del Sur in a very central area of town with many shops, bars and restorant close. in a friendly atmosphere Hotel central has a perfects balconys and terrace overlooking the sea where you could enjoy the sunset with a beer and of course the best of Nicaragua FLOWER CANE RUM. The hotel is Built 3 years ago and is in perfect condition both outside and inside. book your holiday with us and will have an excellent service from us which will help make your stay the best.hotel central has private rooms for 2, 3, 4 and 5 persons all with TVCable, wi fi in the room, private bathroom , balcony with nice view. (towels and bed linen provided and changed every 2 days)located in the town center just two blocks from the beach and close to bars and restorant. recidencial area and secure 24 hours.Facilities Bar Car Parking Lounge area Internet / Wi-Fi 24 hour reception Safety deposit Tours/Travel Desk Express check-in / out Late check-out Laundry servic ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Irish House Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing