We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed 5 days before check-in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Lodge

Aventura Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aventura Lodge
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Closed 5 days before check-in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The reviews for this hotel looked great so I booked it for 5 nights and paid the required deposit. About 4 days before our trip, the hotel contacted me and said they were closed due to legal reasons. They told me I could stay at their other property which was quite far from SJDS. I was able to get last minute reservationsat at another hotel in SJDS instead so I asked Aventura for a refund. Although it did end up finally going through, it took quite a few emails to get the deposit back. At one point I was getting ready to dispute the charge through Paypal or through my credit card when I didn't hear from the hotel for a period of 10 days.

I was glad we ended up at another hotel because once I got to SJDS I found that the hotel was much further from SJDS than the website made it look.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowkeytravler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Diriamba, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed the night here the day before my boyfriend competed in a mountain bike race. He needed a good rest, so we were delighted to find the Aventura Lodge just outside of busy, loud downtown. I tried to sleep one night in a hotel on the beachfront and was kept up all night by blasting cheesy music and the frat boy surfer scene.
Anyway, AL is quiet, beautiful and provides a great healthy breakfast on the patio.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

We have stayed in the San Juan del Sur area on various occasions. Our stay at Aventura Lodge was by far the best experience we've had there! The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The courtyard was small, but extremely attractive with beautiful plants and decor. The hotel was a short drive or taxi ride to the local beaches, and within walking distance of the town of San Juan. The thing that really sold us on Aventura Lodge, though, was the service! It was first rate, from the friendly owner to the Mario the very helpful guard. The owner was able to give us lots of tips (in English) about the local attractions and beaches and was always willing to answer any questions.
This would be an excellent place to stay with a group of friends or a large family, especially if it is your first time visiting San Juan.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandomanagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

We arrived in San Juan del Sur with no idea what to expect. We had picked up a leaflet at our previous location for Aventura Lodge, and thought we would go straight there. We were greeted by Mike, the owner, whose service was brilliant. It was clear that his aim was to provide us with a great time, and as he knew our backpacker budget was tight, he lowered the price for us.

We travelled in a 6, so we stayed in a gorgeous suite, equipped with kitchen, bathroom, 2 bedrooms, TV, DVDs and balcony with a hammock. The pool and garden are stunning, and there is a grill provided to cook on.

Aventura lodge is a 15 minute walk from the middle of San Juan del Sur, or a 3 minute cheap taxi drive which can be ordered through Mario, the guard.

We had an immensely enjoyable stay with Mike, and Mario provided excellent security at night.

I would strongly recommend staying here, the experience was unforgettable. Thank you Mike!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraFonsecaHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

My Wife and I loved the hotel and its ambiance. Edwin was a great host and always had a smile. The rooms were great and every morning we woke up feeling amazing. Its a short walk from San Juan Del Sur but if you want to get a taxi its not expensive at all. If you ever get hot there jump in the pool and get refreshed. The breakfast is wonderful as well. Fresh fruit and a little yogurt + Granola. All in all its a great atmosphere and if you want to visit San Juan Del Sur, Aventura is the place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TfausurfHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillooet, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2010

This place is pretty nice. It is about a comfortable 20 minute walk to the beach. It felt safe during the day to walk to and from town. At night the taxi ride is one dollar per person. The hotel has a nice little pool. The breakfast bar of toast and cereal and fruit salad is good and you can use the hotels fridge as well. Also there is a bar fridge which has cold beer and sodas and runs on an honesty system. The coffees pretty good to. The owner was not the greatest host in the world, but the front desk clerk is an absolute gem of an individual and certainly made us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed here for 10 days on our recent trip to Nicaragua. It was a fantastic oasis, and a great escape from the craziness of San Juan Del Sur. Very quiet, safe, and secure, we loved the atmosphere and the beautiful surroundings of the property. It's only a one minute cab ride or 5 minute walk into town. The thing we loved most was the english speaking host that arranged anything for us, he had all the local knowledge and could connect us with any activity and make any arrangements. We would highly recommend Aventura as a great place to stay if you're in San Juan Del Sur.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicaraguaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Lodge

Property: Aventura Lodge
Address: Las Delicias, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 74 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Lodge is a stunning property in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. A lush jungle garden is the setting for our intimate lodge. Our tropical canopy provides an oasis in which to relax, be it by the refreshing pool or swinging in a hammock. Aventura Lodge has 5 Jungle Suites, 1 Canopy Apartment and 4 Tree House beds. Wireless internet is available. Cable TV and air-conditioning feature in all suites and in the apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing