We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rest and relaxation at Aventura Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aventura Lodge

Aventura Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aventura Lodge
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rest and relaxation at Aventura Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

This hotel is competely charming and the hospitality is top-notch. Dan and Kate, who run the place, have created an ambience that makes you feel like you are a guest in their home. Because of the layout and size of the property, you can't help but interacting with guests and making new friends.

The grounds are really delightful, with gorgeous "jungle" landscaping. The pool is refreshing and painstakingly cleaned every day by Hector, the friendly and helpful security guard.

It is a bit of a walk to town (or a cheap taxi trip) but the benefit is that the Aventura Lodge is much quieter than hotels in the town centre. A great trade-off if you are there for rest and relaxation.

Dan and Kate also made arrangements for whatever recreation we were in the mood for - and it was no problem at all for us to make a decision at the last minute as to what we wanted to do.

I would definitely come back to this lodge.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njdjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
the Americas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

We enjoyed a few days here with Kate and Dan who run the lodge. Very helpful and friendly, the location is quiet but within walking distance of San Juan, for us it was a chance to get off the bike and chill.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gands2up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Wow ... our first night in Nicaragua was spent at Aventura Lodge in San Juan. It was so much fun! The rooms are lovely, the surroundings beautiful, but to top it off the staff are "The Best"! Kate and Dan, the managers, help you out with whatever it is you need, whether its a taxi, directions, a surf lesson, or just general knowledge of the town, they are really there for you, which is a breath of fresh air compared to some of the hostels we've embarked upon on our journey. There is a gorgeous bird called Rosita who will talk to you if you are feeling lonely, and the security guard is the sweetest!! There's a pool which is so refreshing we went swimming as soon as we woke up every morning. The breakfast is great too, really healthy and fresh. All in all, it was one of our favourite places to stay in the whole Central America experience. We would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaMonicaLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Stayed here with my boyfriend a few weeks ago. This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to be close to San Juan del Sur but want to escape the noise and heat of staying in the middle of town. The Adventura Lodge is a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of San Juan or you can take a taxi for just 20-30Cordoba. The rooms are beautifully decorated with air con, tv, hot shower and fridge. There is a lovely clean pool to cool off in. The place really feels like it is further out of town, they have kept the trees surrounding the lodge so it gives that feel of being in the jungle. There are plenty of hammocks to chill out in the back and we even saw a sloth in the trees. Our room was 50Dollars with breakfast, worth every penny. They also have a dorm. Dan and Kate who run the lodge were so helpful recommending restaurants in town, organising taxi's etc and if you want to surf they can organise the bus or taxi to pick you up on the way to the beach. There is also the benefit of 24hr security....There is a bbq area if you don't want to go into town in the evening and the supermarket is a short walk away.
we can't recommend this place highly enough if you want to be close to San Juan but not stuck in the middle of town...it was a little oasis and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ains09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

3 nights in beautiful San Juan del Sur, and 3 days chilling out by the pool in Aventura Lodge was a fantastic way to end our Latin American travels. The grounds and rooms in this hotel are lovely and the super-friendly staff organised our surf lessons and recommended the best restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#6 of 26 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#20 of 26 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Lodge

Property: Aventura Lodge
Address: Las Delicias, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 70 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aventura Lodge is a stunning property in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. A lush jungle garden is the setting for our intimate lodge. Our tropical canopy provides an oasis in which to relax, be it by the refreshing pool or swinging in a hammock. Aventura Lodge has 5 Jungle Suites, 1 Canopy Apartment and 4 Tree House beds. Wireless internet is available. Cable TV and air-conditioning feature in all suites and in the apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing