We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room”
Review of Hotel El Puerto

Hotel El Puerto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Puerto
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The hotel room was nice, great value, had wifi and the owner spoke good english. They said they didnt include breakfast but there was coffee and biscuits every morning. Only negative thing was, there was a rooster nearby and woke us up, but it was nothing to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Puerto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

This little spot is everything you need for your stay in San Juan del Sur. It is very well located (half a block to the beach, great restaurant choices and major banks), quiet, clean and affordable. We paid $20 for a large room with a private bathroom, good fan and very comfortable double bed. You can pay an extra $9 for air conditioning. It was a nice surprise to find fresh brewed coffee and biscuits first thing in the morning in the reception/lounge area.
Our room was on the top floor with a breezy balcony outside the room with great views of the hills surrounding the San Juan bay - a perfect spot to enjoy your morning coffee.
We had a lovely two nights at El Puerto and would recommend it to anyone looking for simple, private accommodation at a very fair price.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a nice view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lublooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

If you want: a very clean room with private bath room, comfortable bed, fresh brewed coffee in the morning, for a very good price, this is the place to stay, if you can live with a cold shower, (very few have hot water)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CincyIbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We have been staying with Getrud and Enrique for several years and have enjoyed the convenience, cleanliness and service of El Puerto. They are very near the beach and markets, banks, etc. They both have a great service to their guests and they always a smile! The lounge has a tv, WIFI throughout, beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and the breeze is great in their rooms. Thanks Getrud for having us all those years!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CynthiaHatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

El puerto was a great place to stay in SJDS. We first had a bad experience at a hotel triple the price, but were very happy after moving here for 3 nights. To me cleanliness is so important when staying at a hotel - where others have just vacated a room. This place is very clean, and nice cotton sheets and a fan and proper sized decent towels, it is all you need. Great location in town too with a patio for people watching, a bit stark but this place grows on you. A room is approx. $25 (i think $35 with ac). Contact info is Gertrud Goller & Enrique Alvarez email: hotel-el-puerto@gmx.net

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpytrvlr-yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

I've been to El Puerto already a few times and I guess it's a very good place to go if you are looking for a clean and quiet hotel in the bay area of San Juan, no fancy bar or swimming pool business. You'll get a strong coffee in the morning and the owner is very friendly. El Puerto is a very good price / quality option in a sometimes overpriced San Juan del Sur.
The rooms are spacious, have a fan or AC, a private bathroom, a nice balcony and you are as close to anything in San Juan as in other hotels too, as it is one of the first hotels you see as you come into San Juan by taxi or bus.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I arrived in SJDS off the bus looking for somewhere to stay from the Lonely Planet book, while getting my bearings an American couple asked if i needed some help, they didnt know my original place that I was looking for, they recomended El Peurto, about 3 mins walk from the bus drop off...I am glad i took their advice, I stopped here twice, very clean, safe, good price $23,free wifi & the morning coffee with biscuits great. (when i did find my original place, just to check it out...glad i hadnt found it the night before - horrible! - Lonely Planet getting it wrong!!!again)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Chilamate Off-Grid Guest Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Puerto

Address: Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing