We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet oasis in the heart of SJDS!”
Review of Hotel El Puerto

Hotel El Puerto
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Puerto
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quiet oasis in the heart of SJDS!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We turned up to San Juan without booking any accommodation. As we walked around, we we're starting to get a little disheartened - until we found El Puerto! It's tranquil and clean - and very comfortable! We loved our bright, airy room and the free coffee in the morning was greatly appreciated!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jessicajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
33
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed there three nights - it was really nice. The owner is really friendly and helpful. The double rooms all cost 25 Dollars. They are spacious and clean. Although the main road is just in front of the hotel it is really calm! I would recommend "El Puerto"!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you are a machine or something without feeling and you want just to check in and out. This is for you.

If you want have a good service or have some owner to talk sanity this is not.

Me and my couple were there for 1 day last weekend, we enter the room at 6pm. The other day we wanted to go to a beach, the surf bus come back at 1pm. We know the ckeck out was at 12 noon so we asked for late check out, the military word was "NO", and we asked for another solution so we can have our backpacks safe, he say again "NO", the owner start to tell stories why he cannot trust in us. We feel completely unconfortable, and like this man was insane. We have never been there and was a tough experience.

We make a check out at 9:30 am, and we brought all our things with us to the beach, we have a good time, but do not trust this hotel. The owner said that if we leave our things in the room after 12 he will throw them to the street, for not good reason.

Warning: Don't go there. Or be at your own risk

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We just walked in because other hostels were full and were positively surprised.
The room was really clean and the owner always ready to help with english or spanish. The hostel is located on a side street so you don't have to worry about the noises in the center of San Juan Del Sur. It's a nice way to spend some time sitting on the porch rocking chairs and watch local kids play football on the street and because San Juan Del Sur is so small it's still only couple of minutes walk from the mercado or the beach.
If you're looking for a more quiet hostel to relax after a day on the beach this is the place. Would definitely go back there if we return to San Juan Del Sur.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drknmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Nice porch with big rocking chairs to watch the street action. Beds had foot boards- not good if your tall. Close to market and beach. Very helpful hosts. I would return. Great restaurants very close by. Cheap town to visit..

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelertalltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Very minimal room. Very clean and safe location. It's not a five star hotel: no hot water, no room service, etc. We paid $20.00 a night and got a clean room. Great coffee in the morning with cookies. Close to the beach and restaurants. We love finding this type of hotel. Hotel owners are helpful and friendly. Would absolute recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikakevancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We loved it here. It felt safe (always someone there), was close to town, surfshops and beach without being noisy. The landlady spoke English, Spanish, German and French and was very helpful. Price for a dubble (20 $) was excellent value, we ended up staying for a month. They also offered supercheap laundry service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
738 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.0 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Maderas
Casa Maderas
#1 of 6 in Playa Maderas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Puerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Puerto

Property: Hotel El Puerto
Address: Town Center, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing