We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disapointment”
Review of Barrio Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have stayed in room number 7 at Hotel Azul a dozen times. 3 months ago I said things are slipping. Let me try it one more time.
But this trip was no different. There isn't enough water pressure in bath sink to clean off your razor or toothbrush. There isn't enough light in bath to see yourself in mirror to shave.
The key to terrace sliding door won't lock. The key to safe won't work.
At 2:30 in the morning a group of young drunks were yelling outside my door as well as downstairs. The garbage truck was blowing his horn on street below my bed at 6:45 in AM.
Johnny the manager was great as well as the rest of the staff.
Won't go back

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed with a friend for just one night in this centrally located hotel. The rooms are behind a cafe/restaurant but it was not as noisy as I feared even though i stayed a weekend night, since the bar closes fairly early. Super friendly reception staff and clean rooms, even if they were not anything fantastic they were solid quality for being in a small town like SJDS. Got good help from the reception to hire a car with driver and other arrangements. If i went back to SJDS there would be no need to look for another place, except if I came with my family as this is more of a place for solo travellers or couples that dont need candlelights for the night of their stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank urbanemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We recently spent 9 nights at this hotel and first off I would like to point out the good things which were the cleanliness of the rooms and the extremely pleasant and helpful staff. However, there are couple of things I would like to suggest to improve the experience. Because of the outdoor security lighting and the close proximity to the bar and restaurant they really should install blackout curtains such as used by airport hotels. There was no WIFI in the rooms forcing guests to sit out on the stairs or in the restaurant when they wanted connect making secure sessions even more problematic. And lastly the keypads on the room safes no longer function forcing you to carry the safe key when you are on a beach vacation.

We ate at the restaurant twice. The discount breakfast was an unpleasant experience with a surly waitress serving lousy food. All the other guests I talked to also disliked the discounted breakfast that the hotel tries to push on you when you arrive. You do not have to accept it. Our lunch experience was much more favorable with good food and pleasant wait staff. My biggest complaint with lunch is the french fries were so good that I wanted more.

I should mention there are two sets of stairs. The first one is a spiral staircase which is difficult with luggage but further along is a second set of non-spiral stairs.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have a balcony and better airflow through the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We weren't expecting much for the modest charges but we had a great experience, the staff is kind, helpful beyond measure and well trained. They even went with us to the spa across the street to get us settled! Id definitely stay again and the restaurant is really good and affordable, even by Costa Rican standards.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TicaChica54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Very welcoming staff. You do have to go through the dining/bar area to get to the reception and to your room but all is well accommodated. Drawback could be spiral stairs - inconvenient with baggage. Staff was alert to all requests, although you do have to request room cleaning and fresh towels - this is not done automatically. The restaurant is fabulous! Every meal we ordered was tasty and reasonably priced. The drinks were very good and the atmosphere was very relaxing. You could take your book and read for hours. The beach was in walking distance -just a short block away. Only drawback was it is not well insulated for noise. I experienced a lot of next room noise in my room but the others in my group did not. I would recommend it for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntomcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Does not stand out because part of and adjacent to a restaurant, a decent one at that, actually you walk thru part of the restaurant when you go to check in to the Hotel or go to your room. and all people very service minded in the restaurant and hotel especially Johnny at the hotel front desk,,, nothing excites him, calm, cool, helpful and very patient even while he was waiting on us a pushy gringo interrupts him and fires off a slew of questions but not a problem, he handled the situation very well… Many times embarrassed by the behavior of my countrymen….. The room for two, spotlessly clean, good Air Con., Hot water, hard to find in this town, good shower, good safe for valuables and personal items, good beds, good TV, One short block to the beach,,,All this for $46.00 a nite, double….This Hotel is a hidden gem, don't hesitate to use….

Room Tip: Noticed a few rooms facing the street a nice little balcony on second floor and can see the Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at Azul Pithaya in San Juan Del Sur for 3 nights. It was okay, very basic but a lot of money for the standard. Nothing wrong but it should be not more than $50/room. We had 2 rooms because the kids did not fit in our room. It added up to $200/night. The kids refused to stay in their room because it had ants everywhere including in the beds. The fixed it the day after and no more ants after that. The people were friendly. They offered a discount for that night but when I asked no one could authorize a partial refund. The location is great and the restaurant is very nice. You can find much better places for way less money. There is a brand new Hotel next to Hotel Estrella right on the beach road. The owners Gloria and Javier speak great english and were super helpful. About the same price but much higher standard. The units have a kitchen too. Everything was brand new. It didn't even have a name but they said it was going to be called Oceanview or something like that. I highly recommend it. You cant miss it. It is light yellow and right across the street from Restaurant Josselyn. The reception is inside the court yard.

Room Tip: Do not get a room towards the street because the street is noisy at night. Only 6 or 7 rooms at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieG20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#5 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
245 reviews
2 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#26 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#12 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#13 of 28 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
3.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
135 reviews
3 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Cafe Hotel

Address: Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £49 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrio Cafe Hotel, is a small hotel strategically located on the center of San Juan del sur. We are just one block away from the gorgeous horse shoe bay, surrounded by many local stores, bars, and restaurants. We also have for your service our beautiful Barrio Cafe restaurant where you can enjoy great food, drinks, and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Barrio Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing