We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice location and a good night's sleep”
Review of Barrio Cafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was eating breakfast in this hotel one morning, not thrilled with my current hostel, and I randomly asked the waiter how much it was for a private room. When I found out the price was reasonable, I immediately switched to this hotel and wasn't disappointed. The service was incredible - both in the restaurant and at the front desk. The women at the front desk actually spent about 30 minutes scanning some documents for me for free, going well beyond their job description. The air conditioning was strong, the water pressure in the shower was, too. And, like others have said, it's surprising quiet at night considering its location in the middle of town, just a block from the beach. I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorCalN8iv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Barrio Cafe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The customer service was really good. We had problems with the hot water in the shower and the wifi but we reported them and they were fixed promptly. It is only 2 blocks from the beach and had a great restaurant. I was concerned there would be a lot of noise in our room because it was close to the restaurant but it didn't bother us at all. It had all of the amenities: hot water, wifi in rooms, cable TV, and air conditioning for only $55. Since it wasn't the high season I decided not to make a reservation beforehand and we looked around a bit before choosing this hotel and it was a great decision. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmoraca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place was pretty nice. The air conditioning was especially nice after traveling two months without. It has breakfast in the hotel, which is also nice. It's a close walk to the beach and is in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Pros:
Amazing location, above average facilities for the area, very comfortable, I would recommend it.

Cons:
We had no wifi in our room.
They cleaned our room even thought we had left the "do not disturb" sign out (nothing was missing).

Room Tip: Rooms in the first floor are just in front of the bar/restaurant so it can be noisy. Room  #1 is in...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My gf and I stayed here for 5 nights in April. The reception staff were exceptionally friendly. It has a great location for the nightlife, but you could sleep in cause the rooms were away from the noise. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was worth it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seadonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Hotel Azul San Juan it's a great place that you have to visit. It's my second time that I had the pleasure to visit San Juan and stayed at this hotel. All the people there are friendly, the bedrooms are really clean, great service, fantastic food, it's near the bus station. I'm willing yo have the same chance to visit San Juan and stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My 13 year old son and I just spent 2 nights at his hotel. It was our 2nd time in San Juan del Sur, and our first time at this hotel. The hotel and the adjoining restaurant were both wonderful. The room was very comfortable, and the food and service were both fantastic! Wé'll be back in San Juan del Sur in September, and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4barkleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.6 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Resort Palermo
Hotel & Resort Palermo
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
320 reviews
4.9 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#23 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
292 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrio Cafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrio Cafe Hotel

Address: Avenida Mercado, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua (Formerly Hotel Azul Pitahaya)
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £49 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrio Cafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barrio Cafe Hotel, is a small hotel strategically located on the center of San Juan del sur. We are just one block away from the gorgeous horse shoe bay, surrounded by many local stores, bars, and restaurants. We also have for your service our beautiful Barrio Cafe restaurant where you can enjoy great food, drinks, and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barrio Cafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing