We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicos standard”
Review of Hostel Esperanza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Esperanza
Bratislava
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nicos standard”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Average Nicaraguan standard, dorm with bad light, ugly walls, dark, something like windows. I can get better bed in Europe for same money.

Free coffee all day, good staff, valuable help, clean enough. WC OK, shower very basic without any place to hang or put clothes. Kitchen large enough.

Advantage of location - seaside just across the street. Not bad, but next time I would try to test else one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddler_Hostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    46
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
5
42
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We have been 6 days at Esperanza, but initialy we wanted to stay just one night. The hostel is a very good spot for budget travelers that not need luxury conditions. When we arrive they were finishing new showers at the shared bathrooms and that helped a lot in our decision to stay longer. The garden was the second reason. This days the hostel was half full and we could relax at the hammocs under the mango's trees shade, we could read and take our time to do nothing. We felt like home. The staff is really helpfull if you need them and from the hostel they can arrange anything you want to do. It's not new but clean and sure. Fair value for money. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laviebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Ok, so the location is awesome, right across the street from the beach and it does have a large kitchen which we used and was fine. It also has a nice outdoor area with hammocks and bean bags etc. We stayed here because of the 98% review on Hostelworld, but are really stumped on how they got that.
The shared Showers were disgusting, mould all over the walls and curtains, you felt dirtier coming out than you did going in. All the walls are paper thin so you hear everything.
First we stayed in a private room with shared bath which was very run down and in need of some TLC. We then moved to the private room with private bath which was better although the toilet did not always work properly.
We paid $30 a night for the private room with bath which now we know we could have been in a cleaner, nicer place for the same price..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0nTheR0adAgain79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2010

The location is wonderful. It is located right on the beach. However, since they charge the same rate as other hostels in the area, I would stay anywhere else first. The rooms are small and seperated by plywood. The plywood is then covered by bed sheets. The shared bathrooms/showers are disgusting. I felt dirtier just walking into them. There was no toilet paper in either at 3 am when I woke up to use them, and the garbages were overflowing with soiled toilet paper. Just make sure you look at the place first, and then explore your options.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waju0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The managers were friendly, helpfull and social. We also stayed at Casa Oro for two nights, but preferred Esperanza. We paid $25 for a private room with bathroom. The kitchen was nice, big and relatively well equipped. We bought a large fish from the fish man (just across the road) and they let us cook it on the BBQ.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number1bunkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

After arriving in SJDS with no reservations and finding no availability at several other places, we stumbled upon Hostel Esperanza by chance and are now CONVINCED that it is the best place in town!! It was the only hotel or hostel in that part of town with an unobstructed view of the harbor. The others all looked out onto the row of beachside restaurants across the street. It doesn't get much better than lying in hammocks on the front porch and watching the sunset!

We were lucky enough to get the only double room with private bath, which is tucked away in the back corner of the courtyard and offers a sort of jungle atmosphere. Meanwhile the dorm room, which was spacious with numerous fans, allowed our two teenage boys to get the ultimate backpacker hostel experience! They were immediately immersed in a friendly, international social milieu and were able to experience the nightlife with newfound friends.

The proprietors, Betina and Ishmael, were extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. They interacted as peers to the twenty-something backpackers, but were also able to keep the partying and noise levels under control when necessary.

We all agreed that Hostel Esperanza was a great place to stay and provided a unique cultural experience as well.

Well done Betina and Ishmael!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1nevrknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

This is a great place to meet people . . . . . it was a really nice international crowd while I was there. Social but relaxing. The beachfront location doesn’t hurt either. I really enjoyed the garden, patio and big kitchen. For a hostel at this price, the rooms and beds were nice – and everything was clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
21.1 mi away
Casa Pochomil
Casa Pochomil
#2 of 4 in Pochomil
36 reviews
46.6 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#21 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.1 mi away
El Pacifico Hotel
El Pacifico Hotel
#11 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
78 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Montelimar
Barcelo Montelimar
#1 of 1 in San Rafael del Sur
1,802 reviews
46.8 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#20 of 67 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Esperanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Esperanza

Property: Hostel Esperanza
Address: Del BDF 1/2 c. al Sur | Frente al Malecón, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 67 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Esperanza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Esperanza Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing