We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually there are 2 hostels with the same name”
Review of Hostel Pachamama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Pachamama
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed a five nights in the realx one. the location is great. They cleaned our room each day without we asked it! very good value. a little bit noisy but not to much. nicely swimming pool. we searched a lot and this is the best value for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LitalShalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Pachamama
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

A good place to start to surf in Nicaragua. Fun parties all the time, surfboards and trips everyday, plus the idea of "morning" starts at 10am. The food is very good, the fish tacos are fantastic. Young people, a lot of drinking, drinking games (famous for the beer pong tournaments) and more party and drinking.

Room Tip: The prices of the private rooms are very good, totally worth it.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This review focus specifically on the party side of the hostel, it is great if you want a great party. Ask for the bucket it is only 300 cords (17 dollars) and you will get about 2 lt of any of the mixes; piña colada, daiquiri, margarita etc. The pool might be a little bit dirty nevertheless most of the people end inside of it. Ask for information about the sunday funday.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gustavo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The dorm room is infested with bed bugs. DO NOT STAY HERE. When we mentioned it to the staff they had no sensitivity about the matter. Bathroom and shower doors don't close. They say they offer free breakfast, but all they have is pancake batter which you need to prepare for yourself. A group of rude yuppie kids run the place. The only reason why I gave an overall rating a 3 is because of the other people staying there. It was a good group.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lokilove1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a party hostel, but if you are on your own, I felt people were quite cliquey and were reluctant to talk to you and it was difficult to meet new people. They have lots of games you can get involved in but if this isn't your sort of thing, you don't have much choice to not join in (I felt quite pressurised to join in to be accepted!). Not particularly relaxing! Sunday Funday was the reason I stayed here. It was good but crazy, and nice to meet people from other hostels (who were much friendlier). Be careful of the drinks!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123aliced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This us a party hostel, you can see that from when you walk in, so don't stay there if you're an early and light sleeper, the noise does travel and as its near the clubs, you can hear them too. The staff were very friendly, but there were clear cliques formed and so it didn't feel like an overly welcome place. But as its so busy, you will meet other lovely people. Its pretty hard to get a bed unless you go at about 9am and stay until someone checks out. The wifi is terrible, can't always connect or when you do, its too weak to even send whatsapp messages. Showers were good, but the doors don't close. Beds were made daily and mattresses were being steam cleaned when I arrived. Top bunks have no ladders and are horrible to get up to. Bottom bunks had curtains which was a nice touch. The lockers were a bit small, but secure. Breakfast is pancakes. Good location, 5 mins from the beach and the main Street in town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a good place for the pool parties on the Sunday and for meeting people but there are much better places to stay (such as Naked Tiger) for travellers. The staff were incredibly rude and unfriendly, the atmosphere was not at all what it was cracked up to be and generally wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
46.6 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hola Ola Hostel
Hola Ola Hostel
#7 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pacifico Hotel
El Pacifico Hotel
#12 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
Moke Huhu Guesthouse
#20 of 69 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
#15 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pachamama

Address: Frente a Plaza Cuba | Los Robles #13, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 69 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £16 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Pachamama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hostel that prides it self on quality customer service and a unique experience. Please join us at Hostel PachaMama for one of our many theme parties or an exciting daytime excursion! Whatever you decide you wont be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Pachamama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pachamama Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing