We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Hostel Pachamama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostel Pachamama
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I really liked it! I was staying at the small pacha (there are two and they are very close. You can also enter the big pacha where all the people hanging out) I paid 10$ for a bed in room of 4. There is a locker for the small bag, and it felt safe. I travel Alone and that was a great place to meet people. They change the sheets and clean the room every day! There is free coffee and pancakes in the morning (I didn't try). The people that works there very nice and speak English. And let's not forget that you get priority for the Sunday funday (it cost 10$).

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Yaelis105 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed at the quieter Pacha's for more than one week, 100m from the big party hostel.

Positives

Social: Great staff - most of whom I made friends with, perfect for meeting a range of people (obviously mostly party orientated), affiliated with Party Central (main Pacha's) so huge group of people to chat and hang out with. Mainly 21-30 year olds
Location : Close to everything you need - cafés, shops etc. close to other Pacha's so there's something in every night. You feel part of the party / social SJDS community here
Dorm: Locker under beds, cleaned daily, sheets changed daily. Cheap - $10/night
Pool : Loved loved loved it - smallish but clean and often no one in it
Sunday Funday : $10 tix if you stay at Pacha's and also ends here so that was convenient to go back, rest up, have a shower then hard back out again
Shuttle to Maderas beach

Negatives

Dorm : Got really really hot. But cooler than dorm in other PM
Noise : Difficult to sleep Fri & Sat nights

Loved it and have lots of find memories here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherlala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

You will read the same reviews over and over. Party nights, Open mike nights, drinking, no sleep etc, but what people miss is that these two hostels are both the same yet very different. Pacha 1 is 100 yards down the street and is the bigger of the two. This is the main base for drinking and party activities. Yes is has a pool and they fight to keep it clean but if you want a crystal clear serenity pool, so stay at a $200 a night hotel.

The 4 owners are some of the best, most polite and helpful hostel owners I have had the pleasure of meeting on my global travels. The mattresses used by the owners are anti dust mite so any rubbish re bed bugs is frankly rubbish. What travelers jump to is when they see tiny creepy crawly thing move on there bed and wake up with sand fly or ant bites from passing out on the floor the night before so lets clear that up now.

If you want a deep nights sleep then these places arent for you but, if you want to chill in the sun the next day and laze about in peace then this is the place.

Pacha Mama 2 or "the Surf one" offers surfboard hire and daily trips to other surf beaches on their $5 shuttle. Just the ride alone is worth going on. I see a lot pf people reviewing here that have not even stayed and just form an opinion based on a walk by and that is something that Trip Advisor needs to deal with.

Chris and Lyndsay two of the owners will look after you if ever you need them and they always have their eyes on everyone at all times to make sure you are okay. Drug use is stamped on but you will always get the idiots who try.

Both are based just seconds from SJDS Beach and are smack in the middle of town. Wifi is hard to get onto for some reason but once connected you are fine. A great place to stay if you want to party but not if you want to sleep.

I would give this one a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lazyblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I greatly enjoyed visiting PachaMama. It was definitely one of the most popular hang out spots in SJDS. One of the owners, Chris, was really nice and helpful about giving advice and information. Usually if I wasn't staying at my hotel I was at PachaMama. They have a second hostel down the street that is supposed to be much quieter.

Be forewarned, this is a party spot. If sleep and relaxing are what you are going for then you may want to look elsewhere, or see if you can get a room at their second location. If nightlife and shaking it until the sun comes up are what your after then look no further.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Travis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I was worried that I may not enjoy the place because I heard of its reputation as a party hostel and I'm not to big on partying. I actually really enjoyed it there. The vibe during the day is really chill, and you'll be fine if you have ear plugs at night. I really enjoyed Tuesday night open mic night. I had an awesome time hanging out with all the really chill people who stay there cause the hostel attracts people with a great vibe. Only problems were that the pool was always filthy and they said they had computers but didn't.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Travelled there the first time with a group of friends, but returned on my own months later. Can honestly say that i have made more genuine people at that hostel than i have met my whole life thus far. Awesome service, great owners, huge parties. Like i said don't miss out. But don't forget if your not the party type they have a more reserved hostel at the end of the street, same name, same staff.
Sunday Funday is a different story, be prepared to have the most fun you've ever had. 3 Great pools, one big party!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Mitchell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed a five nights in the realx one. the location is great. They cleaned our room each day without we asked it! very good value. a little bit noisy but not to much. nicely swimming pool. we searched a lot and this is the best value for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LitalShalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.3 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
165 reviews
46.6 mi away
Hostel Esperanza
Hostel Esperanza
#16 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
HC Blau Mar Hostel & Hotel
#16 of 55 in San Juan del Sur
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#31 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
43 reviews
0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#25 of 72 in San Juan del Sur
34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostal Villa Mar
Hostal Villa Mar
#1 of 1 in Playa Marsella
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Pachamama

Address: Frente a Plaza Cuba | Los Robles #13, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 72 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £20 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Pachamama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique hostel that prides it self on quality customer service and a unique experience. Please join us at Hostel PachaMama for one of our many theme parties or an exciting daytime excursion! Whatever you decide you wont be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostel Pachamama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Pachamama Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing