We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

London, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We did not have high expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised by the nice beach. We were there in the morning, so it was quite quiet...a few people swimming and sun bathing. We took off our shoes and walked in the surf, stopping on the way back to sample the local beer at a beach side restaurant. It was quite good and very reasonable at only $1.50 USD. The small town had some unexpected surprises...a cart pulled by two long horn oxen and two goats being reluctantly led by two boys on bicycles. Local flavour!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank W V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    223
    187
    57
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unimpressive Beach”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I really wanted to say something positive about the SJDS beach, but coming from Florida, it is difficult. The best thing about it is the view: of the ocean, fishing boats, etc. The sand is dark, coarse and extremely rocky in places. Also, dogs, including strays, roam freely, so watch your step! There is debris at the upper part of the beach. Restaurants border the beach, but after stepping over dog poop, I lost my appetite. On the weekend, busloads of locals arrive and the beach looks like a calm, gleeful refugee camp lined with colorful makeshift tents. Well, it is their country, not ours. I respect this. Apparently, the beach attracts many foreign surfer types who likely are not concerned about less-than-pristine beaches. The beach, like town, is rustic, which is actually part of its charm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ode2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not the best beach but good with the overall setting”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have been to much better beaches, but I think the beach was okay for being right in town. I enjoyed watching all the activity and it is really pretty clean for being a city beach.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank madtaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“beautiful, romantic but not the best”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The beach at San Juan del Sur is incredibly picturesque, just about post-card perfect, in fact. The long, wide crescent beach is flanked by a striking rock outcropping on the south, while the north end is dominated by a small mountain dotted with million-dollar homes and topped by a gigantic fiberglass statue of Jesus. The water is generally a beautiful blue and anchored fishing boats bob about, along with the now and then amazing yachts and sailboats. The occasional cruise ship and the gigantic, luxurious sailing cruiser that calls at the port add visual interest. The beach itself is generally abuzz with activity as water taxis load and discharge passengers and fishing panguas are launched into the surf with hopeful folks intent on sampling the local seafood. By North American standards, it is generally uncrowded--unless it's Easter or Christmas, when it's Coney Isand crazy and not my cup of tea. In fact, I avoid the whole town like the plague at those times. Prices double and triple, traffic is downright dangerous and the police, by necessity, are everywhere.
The beach's other attraction is that it's lined with restaurants and bars, any of which make a perfect spot to take in the incredible sunsets that seem to be a daily occurrence--and they range from grungy to elegeant. All feature excellent people watching opportunities, from the pick-up soccer games, to beach performers, runners, walkers, lovers, surfers and other assorted sinners.
It's a great time and very romantic and feels very secure, although it can feel sketchy at night if you wander too far afield and single woman are best advised to stay with company. As for the beach, beautiful, yes, but...I'm not that fond of the sand at SJDS, a bit gritty and dirty compared to some of the spectacular beaches north and south of town. Although the town is to be commended for its clean-up efforts, you'll see more trash here than elsewhere. The water can be a bit dingy at times, too, and you may as well resign yourself to being pestered by hawkers selling sunglasses, pottery, junk jewelry, cell phone accessories, honey packed into recycled rum bottles, clothing and dog knows what else. The best way to avoid them is to hang out somewhere like Iguana, where they're not allowed inside.
Any trip to Nicaragua should include the beach at SJDS. It's easy, though, even without a car, to visit some of the beaches north and south of town. I'd tell you my favorite, but then I'd have to kill you.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great beach for strolling or running”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A nice, wide expanse of beach with lots of great restaurants and bars facing the ocean; the perfect place for a happy hour sundowner. It is alkso wonderful for an early morning or late afternoon stroll or jog.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank skink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan del Sur Beach also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
Moyogalpa, Isla de Ometepe
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to San Juan del Sur Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing