We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Pelon is beautiful”
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Riverside, California
1 review
“Casa Pelon is beautiful”
Reviewed 14 April 2011

5 friends and I traveled throughout Nicaragua and of all the places we stayed, Casa Pelon was definitely the most beautiful and relaxing place. Marco and Wendy have an amazing property right on the water. They were extremely friendly, cooked breakfast for us every morning and even let us stock their fridge with our beers. On top of that, Marco's pork sausages really are to die for...best I've ever had! Casa Pelon is about 10 minutes driving from the downtown of San Juan del Sur which is nice because it's not too far if you want to shop and drink but it's still somewhat secluded if you want to relax. The beach in front of Casa Pelon is also very beautiful and you really have it all to yourself.

Room Tip: Email Marco...he's good about responding asap
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvrabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Mark and Wendy are amazing hosts! Even though Casa Pelon isn't located in the heart of downtown, it is situated by the water without any disturbances. A perfect place to relax!!! You won't be sorry if you choose to stay here.

Room Tip: I'd rather sleep on the hammock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchen051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Marco and Wendy were awesome! 5 friends and I stayed here and they were so hospitable! Everything from the sleeping arrangement to the food this, was a highlight of our trip. The sausage is AMAZING! We wanted to extend our stay just so we could experience the ribs! The beach is beautiful...it was like our own private beach. We were not sure what to expect and couldnt have asked for anything better. I will most def be making my way back there some day! One of the most relaxing places ever!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Leaving my fast paced world behind and ending up at Casa Pelon was totally relaxing. I f you want to do nothing but lay in a hamock or set on the beachits okay because no one is there to bother you.
The beach is not a private beach but there are so few people that come down you have it all to yourself.
Great Place!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Mark and wendy are great cooks and have a very nice near beach view location at playa Marsella. We were there in March and they catered to our Pura Vista VRBO rental as well has hosted us for a meal at casa pelon which was amazing. We didnt stay with them but the food was very high quality and delicious. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radridesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Casa Pelon is very relaxed and easy-going; it was like a house with friends. The rooms were very decent and clean, a share bathroom with hot water. The fact that we had such relaxing vacation was due to Mark (the gringo owner) and his Nicaraguan girlfriend Wendy, who took care of the great cooking. My 15 year old had a blast on the Ocean and he didn't want to go anywhere else, so we extended our stay. I'll definitely go back and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseJasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.3 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Property: Casa Pelon
Address: Meters East Of Playa Marsella 10, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing