We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can hear the waves from the hammock”
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can hear the waves from the hammock”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Casa Pelon is an intimate B&B on Playa Marsella which was almost private, a 20-30 minute walk to Playa Maderas which had more surfers, and not far from the pool at Mango Rosa Resort. Mark makes awesome ribs, bacon, sausage, and Wendy is an equally awesome cook.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntvtxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I think Casa Pelon's most undermentioned gold mine is Wendy. This precious nugget is an amazing chef and a sweetheart to boot! She works so hard to make everyone's stay a success! We had a really good time, and have recommended Casa Pelon to others that are headed that way very soon. :-) Casa Pelon is not for the quiet and demure. It is a fun place to be social with old friends and new.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brnagain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Mark & Wendy were great hosts with an interesting array of friends who stop by to say hi and have a chat. Only realized once I'd left that Pelon (owner) looks like Hulk Hogan with a shaved head. So not only did we stay with a celebrity but arguably the worlds greatest "smoker" If that is the correct term. anyway if Pelon starts exporting those ribs I'd have a regular order sent to Australia post haste.
Loved the dogs, extremely friendly & great fun at the beach, will fetch just about anything.
Pelon will help you getting in to town most days and collectivo is the cheapest way to return otherwise you pay a heavy gringo tax in taxi fares. Taxis are also non existent at night so pre arrange.
Enjoy the ribs!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SamAndRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jaun Del Sur
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2011

If you are looking for an enhanced Nica experience with simple yet thoughtful accommodation and a great view of Playa Marsella then Casa Pelon is for you. Prepare to be wowed by the American-Nicaraguan culinary duo, Mark and Wendy, with sumptuous Nica specialties and Euro-American gustatory flare. Lounge in one of their over-sized hammocks sipping a cold beer or just relax with an interesting read on their open air terraza. If you tire of the tropical beeze upon your shady perch, you are within only a minute of having warm beach sand between your toes. But before sauntering off be sure to sample Mark’s charcuterie (smoked cured meats) and you may find yourself on the terraza a bit longer gnoshing an order of smoked BBQ ribs, pancetta or pulled pork with home-made macaroni salad and hibiscus ice tea. Salud!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aloha-ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Located in easily the best spot right on the edge of Marsella beach, the amusingly named Casa Pelon has views to die for and a relaxed, laid back vibe.
The main living area is open to the elements on all sides, shrouded from the sweltering Nicaraguan sun by lush papaya and banana trees beyond which, views of the wide and sandy beach stretch far. What a view to sit infront of and enjoy your breakfast or many a cold Tona (the local beer) whilst lounging in a hammock!
Rooms are basic but well decorated in bright colours and are spotless with a shared bathroom that has the all important decent shower.
Mark and Wendy are very friendly, great hosts and extremely accommodating. My return flight to Managua meant I had to leave at 02:30am which they gallantly undertook despite the awful time!
Mark's pork ribs are the best Ive ever tried and he'll happily serve you up a plate before he he takes them to the local farmers market in San Juan every Saturday.
If you're looking for a relaxed escape where the emphasis is on good local food, and fab surfing and beaches then this is the place. The drive to the nearest town and all the main bars/restaurant/shops etc is not a mere 10 mins as a previous entry has suggested. The road has no tarmac and is therefore dusty and bumpy. The drive is more like 30mins, so certanly do-able but not walkable.
Can't recommend enough and I will certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffinOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I´m an American missionary in Costa Rica and needed a place to go for my visa run. I randomly found Casa Pelon on a google search and it was definitely worth it. The beach was very relaxing and private. Mark and Wendy were wonderful hosts and their staff (Chase and Christian!!!) were really fun to hang out with. The food was amazing. It was also within walking distance to Playa Madera where there is phenomenal surfing. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PianoJulie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2011

5 friends and I traveled throughout Nicaragua and of all the places we stayed, Casa Pelon was definitely the most beautiful and relaxing place. Marco and Wendy have an amazing property right on the water. They were extremely friendly, cooked breakfast for us every morning and even let us stock their fridge with our beers. On top of that, Marco's pork sausages really are to die for...best I've ever had! Casa Pelon is about 10 minutes driving from the downtown of San Juan del Sur which is nice because it's not too far if you want to shop and drink but it's still somewhat secluded if you want to relax. The beach in front of Casa Pelon is also very beautiful and you really have it all to yourself.

Room Tip: Email Marco...he's good about responding asap
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvrabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.3 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Property: Casa Pelon
Address: Meters East Of Playa Marsella 10, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing