We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party time at the chill get away”
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Party time at the chill get away”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Bathroom wasnt clean when we got there and wasnt cleaned over the 4 days that we stayed. Owner had guests over after a party, stayed up late being loud outside our room, and again in the morning. It's his house he can party if he wants to. there were several instances where he acted very unprofessional and should rethink his actions or rethink his business.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We were able to get a hold of Mark just 2 days before our arrival in Nicaragua and he had a ride already set up for us….Thank goodness, as this was our first time to this part of the world.
Upon arrival we were so surprised at how beautiful his place was and the Fantastic view of the ocean (just a few steps away)
Mark was a great host and made sure everyone had a wonderful breakfast. His homemade jerky, smoked bacon and shoulder roast were the best we've ever had.
The beds were comfortable and the hammocks were a breath of fresh air.
I can’t express enough good things about his place and hospitality. We will be spreading the word.
Marks' place is big slice of Heaven.
We wish him a full house all year around as I know he will have a full house the next time we visit.
.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed up the street from Casa Pelon at Mango Rosa where we met Mark. We became fast friends and he was generous enough to have us over for dinner on our last night in San Juan del Sur. He is sincere, attentive to his guests need and an excellent cook! What more could you ask for?!? As far as I'm concerned he smokes the best bacon in Nicaragua. The location is steps away from the beach and I love the lay-out of his house.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Mark was a great host and the place is very cozy and chill. You are steps away from the beach and a short taxi ride away from town. You can't beat the value. We got 2 double rooms for $70 a night and that was with breakfast. We are vegetarians and Mark catered to our needs. The rooms are small but enough room for us. Mark took us to a great pizza place down the road called Munchies Bluues Cafe and it was awesome and filled with locals. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, RI
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Casa Pelon is right on the beach and the swimming is great--it's not a surfing beach, so not too many people around. The hosts, Wendy and Mark, are very relaxed and generous. The actual rooms are small, but the open common area is stupendous, with hammocks and a perfect view. The food is wonderful, and the smoked meat is awesome. Easy walking distance to a few restaurants. Cabs into town are a little expensive, but Mark will gladly give you a ride if he is headed that way. As others have mentioned, maybe not the best choice for neat freaks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We enjoyed a 4 night stay here, but you can't be too particular. Don't come here if you are a near freak. The location is stupendous, just off the beach of Marsella. it is a $20 cab ride to San Juan Del Sur, so we didn't go there often. Marsella is nice with great sunsets, but all the action is on Madera beach just to the north. Madera cannot be reached along the beach, we tried, but you can walk to it from Madera using the interior roads, which are scenic. It is a strenuous 40? minute walk, so don't plan on carrying a surfboard. Madera has a couple decent places to eat with fun surfing, great volleyball and boogie boarding (and lots of beautiful young people from all over the world). The owner of Casa Pelon is great about giving free rides places if he is out and about. Casa Pelon is so laid back that they gave us the keys for everything and we did our own laundry and hung it up and dried it once while we were there. This is a good place for the Deadhead and "live and let live" crowd. We really enjoyed another couple that stayed a night while we were there and then ran into them again on the ferry to Ometepe. Make sure that you say the appropriate greeting to everyone that you meet on the road in Spanish as the friendly locals seem to really appreciate any attempt at carrying on social niceties.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darwin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This should be called B&B&D. I got breakfast and dinner at this nice little B&B. It has two guest rooms, so you won't be bothered with a lot of other guests. The rooms are enclosed but the common areas are mostly wall free, so it's like being outside all the time.
Pros: Wonderful hospitality, pick up and drop off. Willingness to take you to other places, like the store; Wendy is an amazing cook and Mark has some awesome BBQ; There is a truck that stopped by with a treasure trove of fruits and vegetables, comfortable bed with clean sheets and two pillows, hot water, and very quiet dogs. Surfing and fishing trips available and Frisbee golf. It’s also 30 paces to the beach that seemed pretty secluded.
Cons: No air conditioning, but there were screens on the windows in the bedroom and I never felt I needed air conditioning. Far from town, but if you are looking for quiet and relaxing, this is the place. There are a lot of wildlife noises. If you don't like that, either close the windows and turn on the fan or bring ear plugs. I found the sound of the waves and the crickets comforting, but there are bird noises that sound off a bit early. I closed the window and couldn't hear much after that.
There is a rainy season and a windy season, so call and find out when the best time to visit is. But if you’re looking to just kick back and relax from all the hustle and bustle of things, I think this place would be perfect any time of the year.

Room Tip: The are two adjoining rooms but they do lock. The bathroom is adjoined to one of the bedrooms, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yep2Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
105 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Property: Casa Pelon
Address: Meters East Of Playa Marsella 10, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing