We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house. Great food. Good times.”
Review of Casa Pelon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Pelon
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Casa Pelon of Playa Marcella is by far the nicest bed and breakfast I have seen in all my year of traveling. It was a pleasant and relaxing change of pace from staying in hostels most of my trip. Wake up to the sound of the waves just 100 meters form your bedroom door, a great outdoor patio/living room/kitchen, and real laid back vibes from the man himself, Mark 'Pelon'.
I spend a full week there, enjoying some of the best tacos, smoked meet, and by far the best mustard I will ever have. The house is beautiful and classic, decorated by a cool collection of art from the locals, including a small but neat collection of ancient Indigenous stones found in the mountains above. The night life around Marcella is relaxed, there is a great restaurant right on the beach front run by a really nice Nica family, and on rare occasion a live band rolls through for some evening entertainment. I highly recommend Casa Pelon for anyone looking for a more secluded, safe, and cleaner beach to hangout on. The prices are great, the serene beach is priceless, and transport into town is close, and easily accessible for anyone.
Hit this place up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackA3XR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

We had the pleasure to stay with Mark at Casa Pelon where we lounged around staring at the most beautiful view of Playa Marsella and listening to the pounding surf. Close to great bars and restaurants. Very nice breakfast in the morning and enjoyed the stories Mark had also.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totwanows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Bathroom wasnt clean when we got there and wasnt cleaned over the 4 days that we stayed. Owner had guests over after a party, stayed up late being loud outside our room, and again in the morning. It's his house he can party if he wants to. there were several instances where he acted very unprofessional and should rethink his actions or rethink his business.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We were able to get a hold of Mark just 2 days before our arrival in Nicaragua and he had a ride already set up for us….Thank goodness, as this was our first time to this part of the world.
Upon arrival we were so surprised at how beautiful his place was and the Fantastic view of the ocean (just a few steps away)
Mark was a great host and made sure everyone had a wonderful breakfast. His homemade jerky, smoked bacon and shoulder roast were the best we've ever had.
The beds were comfortable and the hammocks were a breath of fresh air.
I can’t express enough good things about his place and hospitality. We will be spreading the word.
Marks' place is big slice of Heaven.
We wish him a full house all year around as I know he will have a full house the next time we visit.
.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed up the street from Casa Pelon at Mango Rosa where we met Mark. We became fast friends and he was generous enough to have us over for dinner on our last night in San Juan del Sur. He is sincere, attentive to his guests need and an excellent cook! What more could you ask for?!? As far as I'm concerned he smokes the best bacon in Nicaragua. The location is steps away from the beach and I love the lay-out of his house.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Mark was a great host and the place is very cozy and chill. You are steps away from the beach and a short taxi ride away from town. You can't beat the value. We got 2 double rooms for $70 a night and that was with breakfast. We are vegetarians and Mark catered to our needs. The rooms are small but enough room for us. Mark took us to a great pizza place down the road called Munchies Bluues Cafe and it was awesome and filled with locals. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Casa Pelon is right on the beach and the swimming is great--it's not a surfing beach, so not too many people around. The hosts, Wendy and Mark, are very relaxed and generous. The actual rooms are small, but the open common area is stupendous, with hammocks and a perfect view. The food is wonderful, and the smoked meat is awesome. Easy walking distance to a few restaurants. Cabs into town are a little expensive, but Mark will gladly give you a ride if he is headed that way. As others have mentioned, maybe not the best choice for neat freaks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elenn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Bahia Hotel
Casa Bahia Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casa Del Soul
Casa Del Soul
#7 of 71 in San Juan del Sur
326 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
754 reviews
1.8 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Pelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pelon

Address: Meters East Of Playa Marsella 10, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on one of southwestern Nicaragua's most beautiful and tranquil beaches. Casa Pelon is located on Playa Marsella and is ten minuets from the fun town of San Juan del Sur and 5 minutes from the well-known surf break at Playa Maderas. We would be happy to arrange any transportation needs our guests may have. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing