We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little slice of Nica paradise, the real deal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Maderas Village
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I stayed here for several weeks, had some great times and met some awesome people. A stone's throw from an epic surf break and nestled in the jungle the guys have really built something special here. They are also fully integrated into the community and are doing really good things for the local area. It was so nice to be somewhere you could chat to the staff and get to know them and their families.

It's certainly not a resort but it's not a hostel either. It straddles the two perfectly providing an option for the traveller who appreciates good conversation, good food and good times in a beautiful setting. I'd been staying in San Juan and was glad to get away from the hectic hustle and bustle of the shops and bars to somewhere with a more relaxed beach vibe.

Wake up to the sound of the local howler monkeys and make the short walk down the hill to Playa Maderas to nab some uncrowded waves (this is one of the only accommodation options near to the beach) or get involved in a yoga session to stretch out those surfed out muscles. Most evenings are spent around the communal dinner table, drinking rum, playing guitar, swapping stories and generally making friends and having fun.

It's cliched but it's the sort of place you go for a few nights and end up staying for weeks, i certainly did and never regretted it for a second

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for The Maderas Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Maderas Beach is a perfect little pocket of paradise. I loved the decidedly untouristy vibe. And when visiting such place, it would be sacrilege to stay in a Mc-hotel. Dream Catcher stole my heart. It's everything at one: relaxing, but a party; fun but chill, tons of stuff to do, but nothing to be done....

I most appreciated the fact that everything was thought of for me. Meals are done for you. Want to go into town? The guys are the Dream Catcher will sort it out for you. Want to go surf? Stroll down the hill, come back when you're hungry.

I recharged my batteries down there, met incredible people, drank some rum and made some memories.

The food is fantastic (fresh, local, hearty), the rooms are basic but all i needed, the beach is breathtaking, the surf is fun. And, it's a bargain. I'll be back soon. I've sent several friends there, all have come back with amazing reviews, too.

Get down there.

Room Tip: Best bang for buck is sharing room w/ a friend
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank octobertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

With no reservations anywhere in Playa Maderas, my boyfriend and I luckily stumbled upon Dreamcatcher. Tucked away, this hotel not only provides great views, but also fantastic hosts, great food, and a prime location. We felt welcomed, enjoyed great conversation with other guests and the friendly owners, with an option for morning yoga on the upstairs deck. Definitely check this place out!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Aside from the value you're getting out of your trip, the Dreamcatcher house is just about the most relaxing time you can have. Between dual morning and evening surf sessions, there are plenty of books to read, naps to be had, and great friends to be made. Highly, highly recommend that if you're heading to San Juan Del Sur or Playa Maderas, look these folks up.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

the hosts are hot.
the waves are epic.
dreamcatcher is like adult summer camp, with an endless supply of 7 year rum and intellectual banter.

for somewhere you need little more than a hammock and a tona beer in hand, dreamcatcher makes sure you are always happy, never hungry, and live out your days in paradise enjoying the best this area has to offer.

i'd skip any other hotel or resort in the area (believe me I've been to all of them), for an authentic experience, with people who travel off the beaten path but also expect hidden luxury as well.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

If you're a surfer looking for something a little off the beaten path with a little more authenticity than a higher end surf camp or resort then the dreamcatcher house is perfect for you. located at the top of the hill, overlooking playa madera, the house is the perfect mix of a fun and chill. dickie, abe and all of their staff are super friendly and helpful and within minutes, you feel like you're living there and part of the family. like other surf houses in nicaragua and costa rica you surf, eat, and party with the other travelers and come away with not only a great experience but great friends. overall, if you're looking for an authentic surf experience with the locals do yourself a favor and stay at the dreamcatcher house.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bretmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The guyz at dreamcatch are great Dickie, Aeb, and Juan Carlos. Your right at playa mederas which is a really fun surf break, views from upstairs are awsome, and you have the best cooks in all of nica at your disposal. Can't wait to go back to nica and see the boyz again for some more rounds of flor 'd' and tonas. PEACE Dave Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d_stack010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan del Sur
0.2 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe
#15 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
19 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
0.5 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#3 of 3 in Playa Maderas
144 reviews
10.4 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maderas Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maderas Village

Address: Maderas Beach, San Juan del Sur 230492, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 68 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range: £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Maderas Beach, about 20 minutes outside of San Juan del Sur. We offer a three daily meals, either a la carte or as part of a pre-fixe menu. We are like a boutique hotel, but less pretentious. We love people who want a place to surf, read, debate, and do yoga daily; who want to lose themselves in a place, and find themselves in the people. We offer tailored packages for short-term guests and very reasonably priced rates for people planning to stay longer than 3 weeks. We are not in Lonely Planet or other guidebooks; we like having to be found. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Maderas Village Hotel San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing