We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A visit we will remember forever. Rejuvinating...”
The comfortable media room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The comfortable media room
Work from home in our office with a view and wifi Two identical master en suites with hot water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The comfortable media room
Work from home in our office with a view and wifi
Two identical master en suites with hot water
TV for watching movies!
Master queen suite with ocean view
High end linens and a funky space to rest your head
Bright colours fill our home- telescope not included
Slide open the walls to let the jungle sounds and sights in!
Incredible 20 foot ceilings soar above you
Indoor seating on our antique furniture for windy or rainy evenings
King master suite with sliding Japanese wall
Mosquito nets are decor only with our breezes!
Dusk at the home is simply beautiful
We make sure to light the house!
Welcome to Casa Selva!
Somewhere between Maderas and Matildas
Outdoor shower awaiting you!
A beautiful setting for a delicious dinner
Floating in the tree tops is our incredible deck
Seems the pool is in the treetop too!
Cool off in our shared horizon pool!
The beach at Matildas
Kitchen for creating
Cocktail hour - the best location in SJDS
Enjoy dinner under the stars
Sunset from the house- no filter!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luv2bike2
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A visit we will remember forever. Rejuvinating and spellbinding.”
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

So glad we chose Casa Selva for the Nicaraguan portion of our trip. Located in a jungle, surrounded by howler monkeys, minutes down a four-wheel drive road to a (virtually) private surfing beach with all the comforts of home and the amenities of a five star resort. Do connect with the owners prior to arrival and take them up on their helpful advice...how to shuttle from the Costa Rica border, who to rent a 4x4 from on SJDS (though you could equally forgo the 4x4 rental and use Iskra's shuttle on the days you want to go into SJDS - this would mean you would make a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach on foot, not a bad option for the adventurous) Gabby arranged massages for us, had someone stock our kitchen prior to our arrival, and offered someone to cook for us for $15/day (though we did not use the cook.) We felt absolutely safe and comfortable in what our kids affectionately called our 'tree house'...and the sunsets are amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, remote yet pristine location
Liked least: Rough road (15 minutes) to get there from SJDS
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C.
Reviewed 13 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jul 2011
Shelley, it was a pleasure having you and your son at Casa Selva. We felt like our home was a home during your stay! Thank-you for your emails and updates while you were there, and we truly hope to have you return again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VA
Reviewed 6 May 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Great open air house design and very comfortable.
Liked least: Monkeys are a pain at 5:30 in the morning.
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rcarkner
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haven on the Hill”
Reviewed 6 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Casa Selva is a haven on the hill. The home is so beautifully designed.Cool polished cement floors,beautiful wood accents and beams and no glass windows but mesh screens with shutters all thru the house. Air conditioning is not needed as by opening all these shutters you get an amazing breeze running thru the house and enables you to hear the outdoors. And boy do you want to hear the outdoors! The birds sing to you , the howler monkeys laugh at you and the crickets just happily chirp to you. We were blessed to see families of monkeys, complete with their tiny babies travelling on their backs, two sloths (one right behind our house), parakeets, vultures,iguanas, geckos, and some really cool bugs.No scorpions or tarantulas but I know they were out there .The security guards are so nice and Gabby (the concierge) was just a phone call away (with the cell supplied at the house). We ran out of propane one night at 8:00pm and in less than half an hour Gabby had one of the guards there changing the outside tank. The pool is pristine. Watching the red glow of the sun dip below the horizon from the pool was magic. Most times we had the pool all to ourselves. Very private and a few paces from the house. One evening we even had a vulture come to the edge of the pool for a drink. It was like he was saying, "You're in my house now.." and apparently if you want to see more monkeys at dusk/dawn, just splash....they like to watch humans swim. I guess we are as unique to them as they are to us. We also rented a must needed 4x4 Jeep , rented surf boards, took lessons and headed off every day to be a local. We are a family of 4 (kids 14,16) . We must have looked the part , in our rustic jeep, boards on top, bathing suits on. We even had a surfer dude come up to us in town to ask some advice about the waves as he was new in town. We have never been so sweaty, dusty, tired (from surfing , sun) and simplistic.....and never been happier. We met some amazing people; from the couple who we rented the jeep from (the wife gave us our surfing lessons) , to Gabby and her sweet daughter who showed us what tamarands were, to a neighbour in the Balcones,( who very hospitably invited us over one night for a BBQ on their huge beautiful deck while we sipped a cold one and watched the sun set) and finally, to every face that would smile at you if you tried your spanish..no matter how bad it was. Thank you Joel and Laura for generously sharing your home with us. Melanie and Randy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Reviewed 6 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario
Reviewed 11 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Mar 2011
Ladies,
It was a treat to assist you in your first off resort vacation, and we are thrilled it was everything you dreamed it to be! We look forward to having you return in the future. As for the early morning monkey wake-ups, they just don't seem to understand the art of sleeping in! Wonderful working with you both on making your honeymoon special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto Canada
Reviewed 27 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing