We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LATE NIGHT LIVE MUSIC!!!!”
Review of Black Whale Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Black Whale Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Same stree and in between Iguana and the Pier
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LATE NIGHT LIVE MUSIC!!!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I only went here at night. I ended up at this late night spot twice during my stay in San Juan. Its a great place to meet people and it is usually super packed full of travelers and locals alike. Make sure to go on one of their live music nights, those seem to be the BIG nights with fire dancers and TONS of sexy people.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onemindspinning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Big everything!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Big burgers etc, could share a meal for sure. By far the coldest beer in town, good view across the street from the beach. Music, games and a good place to be with friends and people watch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaynKj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Tasty food on beach road”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great value, nice outdoor setting and variety in menu. Had their schnitzel last year and now again, great both times

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sounds of the....”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

....well lots of sounds actually! Good tunes, attentive waiting staff at the tables and a generally good vibe!
One of fav drinking spots in SJDS.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fibenn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for drinks...”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I guess I didn't understand the system in this one.. I stepped in with a friend and my boyfriend and never did anyone asked us if we wanted to order something. Maybe you just had to go to the bar and get it yourself? I take it the place was crowded but after 20 minutes of sitting around listening to the music with no drinks we just decided to leave. We'll go in another time though and I'll post then.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Whale Bar & Grill also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing