We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming place to sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Sara House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mama Sara House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming place to sleep”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

While walking through the streets of San Juan del Sur looking for a place to sleep, and not wanting to take any of the sketchy looking men up on their offer for a cuarto privada.....a taxi driver named Goyo recommended Mama Sara House, he even led us to her doorstep! As soon as we walked in Mama Sara offered us each a glass of cold lemonade....mmmm it was perfect after our long day of travel. At $15 dollars a night for a private room I'd recommend this place to travellers who aren't looking for a wild party night....if you want to party but don't want to live in the party this is also a good place to sleep becaue the Casa Oro rooftop bar is just across the street!

Our first night there Mama Sara offered us rice pudding that she had made for everyone in the Hostel...it was delicious! She also introduced us to a national beverage called Chicha...it was good too! Mama Sara and her family welcome everyone into their home....they have character, they are fun, and while only Ramone, the son, speaks English, Mama Sara does not mind sitting with you and having a conversation....she helped me a great deal with my broken Spanish, which I am proud to report is not so broken any more!

I would recommend this establishment to anyone visiting San Juan del Sur.....it's not one of the "party" hostels, which is fine with me because that's not what I was looking for. It's an awesome cultural experience and I will always remember the kindness shown to me by the family. Muchas gracias Mama Sara y tu familia!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeaghanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
51
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

They clean the place constantly and there were NO BUGS. The rooms and everything were clean. The bathroom was clean. Mama sara and her husband are very kind. When we arrived we were served frescos which was like lemonade. In the am we were served watermelon and a banana. The only con was the room was so stuffy we could't sleep well even though we had a fan. So we decided to only stay for one night. It was $20 night. It is also by the park.

Pros: Random free drink and fruits, clean, nice owners, comfy bed, no bugs
Cons: Stuffy

Room Tip: try to get a room that has good ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalypso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Mama Sara house was perfect! Sara and her family are so welcoming and nice!! We stayed for 5nights!! She made us feel like home, and made us small local dishes! Jummy;) Will always remember her (and her little two babyparrots!) - always a big smile and a happy greet "HOOOLA CHIKAS!!!" mucho gracios!! See u soon! Hugs from two norwegian girls :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camillaandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Like everyone else, Mama Sara found us on the street riding her bicycle and reeled us in with her charm! The rooms are comfortable and the whole place is very clean. Mama Sara and her husband are too kind - bringing us fruit, lemonade and typical Nica meals throughout the day - and always greeting us so warmly when we come & go.
The place is quaint and it was so nice to get to know the other people staying there, having a few drinks on the balcony and cooking dinners together. The location is great - just around the corner from Casa Oro so you can catch their shuttles to the beaches and look into their tours. It's also about a block from the beach.
Overall we had a fantastic experience at Mama Sara's and would recommend it to anyone looking for hospitality and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Wa
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We have been travelling for the last 10 months through Europe & Central America - I have never felt more at home than what I have at Mama Sara House, a home away from home!

A good sized double bedroom with ceiling fan, sparkling clean shared bathroom facilities, a laundry area (we had such a fun time washing our clothes by hand, who would of thought!), a well stocked kitchen, a lounge & tv room (which we loved lounging around in!) and a balcony with rocking chairs that overlook the street. The place is kept immaculately clean and the family make you feel so very welcome, so friendly and always a smile!

PLUS, Mama Sara gave us a homemade treat each day of our stay, today we had banana chips, bbq'd lamb & salad with a refreshing lemon fresca!

Thank you Mama Sara ..... I think I might just stay one more day, eeeekk! x

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a great place to hang out in San Juan del Sur for a few days - great location, and Mama Sara is very kind and treats you as one of her own! Right across the street from Casa Oro, the main backpacker hangout where you can easily catch shuttles to the beaches and rent surfboards. There's a kitchen and laundry area as well, so you can save some money by doing things for yourself.

Room Tip: Rooms can get a bit warm so confirm that the fan is working well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorin73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My boyfriend and I have been travelling around South & Central America for nearly a year and have not stayed in such a hospitable place. Mama Sara and her husband are the best - not only is the location great, the room very comfortable, but the added extras - the delicious free dinners, free fruit in the morning and the hospitability of Sara and her husband is amazing. Sara seriously treats you as one of her own children. Fabulous, would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbradders_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.2 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#26 of 73 in San Juan del Sur
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Sara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Sara House

Property: Mama Sara House
Address: Calle Iglesia, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 73 Speciality Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing