We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”
Review of El Timon

El Timon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This is the largest and one of the oldest restaurants in San Juan del Sur. It is the most popular restaurant serving traditional Nicaraguan beach fare. Located right on the beach! Full service, full bar. Fabulous sunsets!
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was my favorite of the authentic/local Nica restaruants on the beach front road. The staff was very attentive / welcoming and the fish & mixed fish over rice was delicious. Garlicy (but I love garlic).

A few of the fried appetizers I wouldn't necessarily recomend though, but you can't go wrong with anything seafood here.

Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

655 - 659 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

We went Thursday night for the Folk Dance Show. We found the food medium, th service good, and the show spectacular. Make reservations for seats with the best view. We learned a lot of culture in just a few hours!

Thank Kianemikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Right on the beach, the views can't be beat, however, the food can. Wife ordered the shrimp w/ garlic and I the lobster w/ garlic. It came with white rice, potatoes or plantains. The food was okay, nothing spectacular. I ended up cutting up my lobster and mixing it with my garlic and rice to form a scampi, which made it better. Our service was a bit sub-par. My wife didn't get plantains she ordered, so we had to ask for them. And when we asked for the bill (in spanish), the server forgot and brought it 5 minutes later, but he was apologetic at least.

Thank FlexitarianCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmore P, Owner at El Timon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for visiting El Timon and sharing your observations. We are very sorry that your experience at our restaurant was not what you expected. We certainly strive to have high quality meals and service. We hope that you will visit us again when you return to San Juan del Sur so we can provide you with a perfect meal and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The positives were the location right on the beach and the food which was excellent. I had the breaded Mahi Mahi and it was delicious.

The negatives were the manager and the wait staff were rude and very impatient with us. I wanted time to look over the menu and the waiter stood over my shoulder waiting very impatiently for us to order. They were busy as usual but he pressed us to order quickly which really ticked me off.
The food made up for the service but we did not go back.

Thank markc826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmore P, Owner at El Timon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

We are extremely sorry that you feel our waiter service was not up to par. We pride ourselves in the extra weeks of training we give our waiter staff, considered to be one of the best in SJDS, so this review really surprised us. It is possible we were so busy and your waiter had many tables to attend and perhaps that is why he "waited" for you to give the order quickly. We are sorry for your inconvenience and believe this was a one-time unfortunate occurrence. We hope you will return to El Timon in the future to experience the great service we normally have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had been looking forward to dining at El Timon all week as we had read so many good reviews on TripAdvisor. We were very disappointd by the experience after all the hype. The setting was less than nice as they claimed all the tables were reserved yet we were ther over an hour and no one ever sat at the reserved tables. We sat down in the sand, which was a bit muddy and distracting as there was a vicious dog fight a feW feet from our table that the servers did nothing to address. The service was mediocre as was the food. Not horrible, just not nearly as great as Restaurante Vivian or Bambu Beach Grill where we had eaten previous nights. The only perk was the happy hour specials. The worst part of the experience was that when we asked them to call us a taxi after dinner the driver they called came in an illegal vehicle with tinted windows and he immediately hid his license plate so that we would hopefully not notice he wasn't a registered taxi. He tried to charge us double and had a drunk friend with him that kept trying to hustle us into the vehicle. Clearly we passed on that ride and were stuck trying to find our own taxi on the street. Disappointing El Timon :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MeEncantaElSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmore P, Owner at El Timon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

We are extremely concerned to hear of your less than happy experience here. It appears you came on a Thursday night, because you mention "reservations." This is the night we take reservations as we have our weekly Ballet Folklorico show, and our restaurant is totally full, sometimes overflowing. Many reservations are from our local foreign residents and we honor them as these people greatly support us. If tables were empty, it was most likely because many people come to dance to our marimba band after the show and may not have filled their table when you were there. We usually have no way of knowing "exactly" when people are going to arrive since time is perceived differently in Nicaragua. As far as the taxis go, we do not have the registered striped taxis of Managua. Our town is so small (3 x 3 blocks) that our taxis are not marked; they are privately owned so they do not look official. We are happy to call you a cab, but if a taxi driver shows up with a "drunk friend," that is out of our jurisdiction as there are no taxis that work for our restaurant. We only have a list of names to call. We are very sorry about your experience and hope that you will return to El Timon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Timon also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to El Timon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing